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ABOUT THIS GUIDE

This is a SUMMARY of the laws regard-
ing hunting and trapping. This guide is
intended solely for informational use. It

is not a reprint of any referenced statute
or regulation in its entirety and should

not be used as such. Questions about the
information contained in this guide should
be directed to the Kentucky Department of
Fish and Wildlife Resources (KDFWR) BE-
FORE engaging in the activities referenced.
Actual wording of any Kentucky Revised
Statute (KRS) or Kentucky Administra-
tive Regulation (KAR) can be viewed at
www.lrc.state.ky.us/kar/frntpage.htm.

OTHER GUIDES AVAILABLE

The KDFWR produces separate hunting
regulation booklets for spring turkey and
squirrel, waterfow! and other migratory
bird hunting. Full season information for
dove and early waterfowl hunting is avail-
able in mid-August. Regular waterfowl
season laws are available November 1 from
the KDFWR. Call 1-800-858-1549 week-
days, look for a copy of these regulation
guides where hunting licenses are sold, or
log on to faw.ky.gow.
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The KDFWR is funded through the sale
of hunting and fishing licenses and boat
registration fees. It receives no general
fund state tax dollars. The KDFWR
manages, regulates, enforces and
promotes responsible use of all fish and
wildlife species, their habitats, public
wildlife areas and waterways for the
benefit of those resources and for public
enjoyment. The KDFWR, an agency of
the Commerce Cabinet, supports an
annual economic impact to Kentucky of
$4.8 billion.

MESSAGE FROM THE COMMISSIONER

Last year, I asked
for your help as we
began to upgrade the
agency’s strategic plan
—aroad map to guide
our work. Some of you
expressed concerns
about Kentucky’s small
game populations and
hunting opportunities.
States throughout our
country struggle with
the same issues. Urban
sprawl, clean farming
and changing land use
patterns continue to
claim prime small game habitat.

Restoring habitat is far more difficult
than stocking animals, as we did suc-
cessfully with deer, turkey and elk. Those
restoration strategies frequently fail for
animals with life spans of less than a year.
Success for small game restoration will
take a long-term, habitat-focused effort of
our agency, landowners and hunters. Here
are some things you can do to help:

Prescribed burning: Fire can do won-
ders for wildlife habitat and help reduce
excessive fuel loads that can contribute
to catastrophic wildfire. Many states with
strong small game populations have suc-

cessful prescribed fire pro-
grams in conjunction with
their state forestry agency
and other partners.

Cost-share pro-
grams: | encourage every
landowner to take advan-
tage of funds available
from the Farm Bill and
other sources. We have
an active private lands
program whose mission
is to help you grow a
home for wildlife. Call us
at 1-800-858-1549 for de-
tails on how to get started.

Help from hunters: Hunters are a
strong and passionate grassroots voice. We
need every sportsman and sportswoman to
become active in the pursuit of conserva-
tion legislation and initiatives. If we all
pull together, we can make Kentucky a
model for fish and wildlife conservation.

I am committed to improving small
game hunting and to the future of our
hunting heritage. Kentucky has more
hunting opportunities now than at any
time in its history. I wish you many safe

and enjoyable days afield.

— Dr. Jonathan Gassett

BASIC RULES FOR HUNTING

1. You can NOT hunt or retrieve game on
someone else’s land without permission.

2. Unless you are license exempt, you must
buy and carry afield the right hunting
license and permits for the kind of
hunting you do.

3. You can only hunt when the season is
open for that species. Your hunting
equipment must be legal. You can take
no more game than the daily or season
bag limits allow.

4. Anyone hunting where and when a gun
deer or elk season is open must wear
hunter orange on the head, chest and

back, visible to others at all times.

5. All hunters born after January 1,1975
must pass a hunter education course
before hunting on any land besides
land they own, unless they have a val-
id temporary hunter education exemp-
tion permit. Kids do not have to take
the class until they are 12 years old, but
must always hunt with an adult.

All hunters should read the Gen-
eral Information/Telecheck section of
this guide, in addition to the section for
the game they are hunting, before going
afield. Public land hunters should also
read the Public Land Hunting section.

HUNTING ON PRIVATE LAND IS A PRIVILEGE.
ALWAYS GET PERMISSION AND THANK THE LANDOWNER.
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WHo WE ARE

The Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources
(KDFWR) is an agency of the Kentucky Commerce Cabinet. Our
nine-member commission is nominated by Kentucky sportsmen
and sportswomen and appointed by the governor. This commission
appoints the department’s commissioner.

We employ about 500 people full-time, including Conserva-
tion Officers, wildlife and fisheries biologists, conservation educa-
tors, and information technology, public relations, customer service
and administrative professionals.

Our Headquarters is located in Frankfort, but we work with
landowners, hunters, anglers, boaters and wildlife enthusiasts statewide.

Wuat WE Do

We conserve and enhance fish and wildlife resources
and provide opportunity for hunting, fishing, trapping,
boating and other wildlife-related activities.

Every year, we:

* Enforce hunting, fishing and boating laws across
Kentucky for resource protection and public safety.

* Manage about 1 million acres of public land
and water for the benefit of all fish and wild-

& Education

12% Admi
& Support

13% Informatns

life species.
* Stock more than 4 million fish in public waters.
* Build and maintain public boat ramps, shooting
ranges and bank fishing access areas.

17% Fisheries
26% Wildlife

How You HELP

'The KDFWR receives no money from the state’s
General Fund.

You provide our agency’s funding every time you:
* Buy a hunting or fishing license
* Buy a firearm, ammunition, or archery equipment
* Pay your boat registration fee
* Buy fuel for your boat

10% \Migcellaneous

Boating

59%
27% Federal Hunting
grants (based and fishing
on number of licenses

licenses sold)

FunDpING
SOURCES

* Assist more than 2,000 private landowners with

| FunpING USE |

fish and wildlife habitat improvement.
* Inform and educate more than 400,000 kids and
adults through education and outreach programs.
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NEW THIS YEAR

The items highlighted here are a
quick overview of the changes to this
year’s hunting seasons. Changes from
last season are printed in red in complete
detail throughout this guide to assist you
in noticing those changes.

'This guide is effective through the end
of February, 2008. See the 2008 Turkey &
Squirrel Hunting Guide, available in Janu-
ary, for all spring hunting regulations.

HUNTER EDUCATION

Kids aren't required to take a hunt-
er education course until they turn 12;
must be at least 9 years old before they
can take the test.

One-time $5 temporary hunter
education exemption permit available
online at fw.ky.gov. Allows hunters nor-
mally required to have hunter education
to hunt for one year from date of pur-
chase without completion of a hunter
education course, when accompanied by
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an adult hunter who meets the hunter
education requirement.

NEW PUBLIC LAND

Four new Wildlife Management
Areas: Doug Travis WMA (formerly
MeadWestvaco WMA), Howard WMA,
Knobs State Forest and WMA, and Mar-
tins Fork WIMA and State Natural Area.

ELK

Elk permit number increases to 300.

Changes to archery and crossbow
season dates.

Hunters must telecheck their elk
before removing the hide or head.

Department-issued hang tags required
in vehicle windows for quota elk hunters.

New Out-of-Zone permit required
for elk hunting outside restoration zone;
statewide bag limit is 1 elk, regardless of

permit type.

DEER & TURKEY
Martin, Jackson and Rockcastle
counties are now Zone 4 counties for deer

hunting. Hardin County is now Zone 1.

Hunters must telecheck their deer
before removing the hide or head.

Electronic calls and decoys are ille-
gal for deer hunting.

New fall turkey permit available
for both shotgun and archery/crossbow
hunting. Permit good for 4 turkeys total;
equipment restrictions and fall bag lim-
its remain the same.

SMALL GAME & FURBEARERS
Grouse season now opens Nov. 1.
Changes to legal methods of take

for small game.

Bobcat hunting season now opens
the third Saturday in November. The
season bag limit is now 5 bobcats; only 3
can be taken with a gun.

NEW FOR KIDS

Beginning with the 2008-09 li-
cense year, kids under 12 will be license
and permit exempt (except Elk Lottery
Application, Elk Quota Hunt Permit
and Out-of-Zone Elk Permit).

2007-08 KENTUCKY HUNTING SEASONS

Zone At-Large Quota Hunts

Limited Entry Area Quota Hunts

ELK

Antlered Antlerless Antlered Antlerless
Firearms Oct. 6-12, 2007 Dec. 8-21, 2007 Oct. 6-12, 2007 Dec. 8-14, 2007
Archer Oct. 6, 2007 - Oct. 13, 2007 -
y Jan. 21, 2008 Jan. 21, 2008
Crosshow Oct. 6-21 and Oct. 13-21 and
Nov. 10 - Dec. 31, 2007 Nov. 10 - Dec. 31, 2007

Hunters must follow deer season and equipment regulations to take elk from any county NOT included in the 16-county elk

restoration zone (Out of Zone), and must have an Out-of-Zone Elk Permit.




Statewide

Zone 1

Zone 2

Zone 3 Zone 4

Modern Gun Nov. 10-25, 2007 | Nov. 10-25, 2007 | Nov. 10-19, 2007 | Nov. 10-19, 2007
(either sex) (either sex) (either sex) (antlered only)
Sept. 1, 2007 - Jan. 21,
Archery 2008 (either sex)
Oct. 1-21 and
Crosshow Nov. 10 - Dec. 31, 2007
(either sex)
Oct. 20-21 and Oct. 20-21 and Oct. 20-21 and Oct. 20-21 (antlered
Muzzleloader Dec. 8-16, 2007 Dec. 8-16, 2007 Dec. 8-16, 2007 | only) and Dec. 8-16,
(either sex) (either sex) (either sex) 2007 (either sex)
Youth-only Oct. 13-14, 2007
Firearms (either sex)
Free Youth Dec. 29-30, 2007
Weekend* (either sex)

*During the Free Youth Deer Hunting Weekend ONLY, hunters ages 15 and under may hunt deer with a firearm without a license or deer
permit, if accompanied by an adult. (See pages 20-21 for county zones, harvest restrictions and hunter requirements for each zone.)

FALL TURKEY

SMALL GAME &

FURBEARERS

Shotgun

Archery

Crosshow

Oct. 27 - Nov. 2 and
Dec. 1-7, 2007

Sept. 1, 2007 - Jan. 21, 2008

Oct. 1-21 and
Nov. 10 - Dec. 31, 2007

All seasons are statewide unless otherwise indicated.

Hunting

Trapping

Aug. 18 - Nov. 9, Nov. 12,

Squirrel 2007 - Feb. 29, 2008 and
June 7 - 20, 2008
Sept. 1 - Nov. 7, 2007 and
Crow

Jan. 4 - Feb. 29, 2008

Wild Hog & Groundhog

year-round

Noon May 18 - Oct. 31, 2007

Silllfrog Noon May 16 - Oct. 31, 2008
Falconry Sept. 1, 2007 - Mar. 30, 2008
coyote ear-round Noon Nov. 12, 2007
y y - noon Feb. 29, 2008
Noon Nov. 17, 2007 - Noon Nov. 12, 2007
Bohcat

Jan. 31, 2008

-Jan. 31, 2008

Raccoon & Opossum

Nov. 1, 2007 - noon Feb. 29,
2008; hunting only at night
during Modern Gun Deer
Season.

Noon Nov. 12, 2007
- noon Feb. 29, 2008

Otter

Noon Nov. 12, 2007 - noon Feb. 29, 2008

Muskrat, Mink, Beaver,
Red Fox, Gray Fox,
Weasel & Striped Skunk

Noon Nov. 12, 2007 - noon Feb. 29, 2008

Free Youth Small Game
Hunting & Trapping
Week

Dec. 29, 2007 - Jan. 4, 2008

Rabhit & Quail

Nov. 12, 2007 - Feb. 10, 2008, in
the following counties: Allen, Ballard,
Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle,
Christian, Crittenden, Daviess, Fulton,
Graves, Hancock, Henderson, Hick-
man, Hopkins, Livingston, Logan,
Lyon, Marshall, McLean, McCracken,
Muhlenberg, Ohio, Simpson, Todd,
Trigg, Union, Warren and Webster.

Nov. 1-9 and Nov. 12, 2007 - Jan.
31, 2008 in all other counties.

Grouse

Nov. 1-9 and Nov. 12, 2007 - Feb.
29, 2008 in the following counties
only: Adair, Bath, Bell, Boyd, Brack-
en, Breathitt, Campbell, Carter, Clark,
Clay, Clinton, Cumberland, Elliott,
Estill, Fleming, Floyd, Garrard, Gree-
nup, Harlan, Harrison, Jackson, John-
son, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence,
Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Lincoln,
Madison, Magoffin, Martin, Mason,
McCreary, Menifee, Montgomery,
Morgan, Nicholas, Owsley, Pendleton,
Perry, Pike, Powell, Pulaski, Rob-
ertson, Rockcastle, Rowan, Russell,
Wayne, Whitley and Wolfe.

NOTE: Seasons on Wildlife Management Areas and other public hunting lands not managed by the KDFWR may be different from
those above. Please check individual area listings, beginning on page 48.
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LICENSES AND PERMITS

WHO NEEDS HUNTING LICENSES
AND PERMITS IN KENTUCKY?

If you take or attempt to take
game, you are considered a hunter and
therefore subject to licensing require-
ments unless specifically exempted by
law. (See page 58 for the complete
definition of ‘take’.)

Unless you fall into one of the cate-
gories listed below, you must obtain and
carry while in the field, proof that you've
met the license requirements for the
kind of hunting you're doing. This proof
can be either a paper license/permit, or
a license authorization number (if you
purchased a license by phone and have
not yet received your paper license/per-
mit in the mail.) If you can’t show you're
licensed properly while youre hunting,
you risk being issued a citation.

Each hunter must have his or her
own license or permit. Paper licenses
and permits must be signed and the
hunter information portion (signa-
ture, address, eye and hair color, sex,
height and weight) completed before
going afield.

Hunters who purchase licenses
and permits on the phone or in-
ternet must read the requirements
listed on page 9.

WHO DOESN’T NEED A HUNTING

LICENSE OR PERMIT?

In some cases, a resident hunter
may not be required to buy a hunting li-
cense, permits to hunt deer or turkey, or
a state waterfowl permit. Here are those
situations:

* Kentucky resident owners of farmlands,
their spouses and dependent children
hunting upon their own farmlands
during an open season;

* Tenants, their spouses and dependent
children hunting on farmlands where
they reside and work; and

* Kentucky residents on military fur-
lough of more than three days in
this state who carry identification
and papers that verify their furlough
status.

Hunters eligible to participate in
the Free Youth Hunting & Trapping
Week or Free Youth Deer Hunting
Weekend, and adults who accompany a
youth hunter but are not hunting them-
selves, are not required to have a license
or permit during these seasons.

Beginning with the 2008-09 license
year, all resident and nonresident kids un-
der the age of 12 will no longer have to buy
licenses or permits (except the Elk Lottery
Application, Elk Quota Hunt Permit and
Out-of-Zone Elk Permit).

Othen louss, sl apply

Residents exempt from buying
licenses and permits are required to
follow hunting season laws, bag lim-
its, comply with the hunter orange
clothing law, and follow hunter har-
vest recording, checking and tagging
requirements. Kentucky landowners,
their legal dependents and their
tenants, as described above, ARE
subject to the usual license require-
ments anytime they hunt somewhere
other than their own lands.

WHAT TYPE OF LICENSE OR
PERMIT DO I NEED?

Deer, elk and turkey
Both an annual hunting license
and an additional permit are required.

(See the Deer, Elk and Fall Turkey sec-

tions for details).

Waterfowl and other migratory hirds
In addition to a Kentucky hunting

license (annual or short-term), permits are

required for ages 16 and older as follows:

* Kentucky Migratory Bird Permit: re-
quired to hunt doves, snipe, woodcock,
moorhens, rails and gallinules.

* Kentucky Waterfowl Permit: required
to hunt ducks, geese, coots and mer-
gansers. This permit also covers the
species permitted by the Kentucky
Migratory Bird Permit.

* Federal Migratory Bird “Duck”
Stamp: required in addition to the
Kentucky Waterfowl Permit to hunt
ducks, geese, coots and mergansers.
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service require-

ment; available at post offices.

Q: Who needs a Federal
Migratory Bird “Duck’ Stamp?

7&: Hunters ages 16 and over
must get a federal duck stamp
(available from post offices) to
hunt ducks, geese, coots and
mergansers.

All other species

Only a hunting license (annual,
short-term, or a license that includes
the hunting privilege) is required for ev-
erything else, except that no license or
permit is needed to take exotic species as
noted in the Small Game & Furbearers
section of this guide.

See the chart on page 8 and text
on pages 10-11 for a full description
of what’s included in the Resident
Sportsman’s License, Youth Sports-
man’s License and Resident Senior/
Disabled License.

SHORT-TERM
HUNTING LICENSES

The following short-term licenses
are valid for all types of hunting except
deer, elk and turkey. (Hunting those
three species requires an annual resident
or nonresident hunting license along
with the appropriate permit.) Short-
term licenses are valid only for the 1- or
5-day period shown on the license.
* 1-Day Hunting License: available to

residents and nonresidents.

* 5-Day Hunting License: available

only to nonresidents.

HIP SURVEYS

When purchasing a Kentucky Wa-
terfowl Permit, Kentucky Migratory
Bird Permit, or any license that includes
those permits, hunters are required by
federal law to complete a harvest in-
formation program (HIP) survey at the
time of purchase. Your license retailer (or
phone operator) will ask you questions
to fill out this survey. If you purchase
your license online, you will be prompt-
ed to answer those questions at the end
of your purchase.



WHICH LICENSE OR PERMIT DO I NEED?

A nd over OR
KENTUCKY RESIDENTS WY RCR TR Ages 16-64 ges 6% :ah‘::d e
Youth Hunting License* Annual Hunting Licensef . .
LG + Youth Deer Permit* + Statewide Deer Permitt SR
Youth Hunting License* Annual Hunting Licensef . .
TG + Youth Turkey Permit* + Fall Turkey Permitt SEiePEEce
. Youth Hunting License* Annual Hunting Licensef . .
RERTHIS + Youth Turkey Permit* + Spring Turkey Permitt Sl
Small Game & Furbearers | Youth Hunting License* | Annualf or 1-Day Hunting License Senior/Disabled
Migratory Birds Annualt or 1-Day Hunting License
(dove, snipe, woodcock, Youth Hunting License* + Kentucky Migratory Bird or Senior/Disabled
moorhens, rails, gallinules) Kentucky Waterfowl Permitt
Waterfowl Annualt or 1-Day Hunting License . .
(ducks, geese, coots Youth Hunting License* + Kentucky Waterfowl Permitt sanelDlsasle == Festiel
Duck Stamp
and mergansers) + Federal Duck Stamp
. Annual Youth Annual or Landowner/Tenant Annual or Landowner/Tenant
Trapping . ) ) . ) .
Trapping License Trapping License Trapping License
*Included in Youth Sportsman’s License HIP survey required
tIncluded in Resident Sportsman’s License (also required for Resident Sportsman’s License)
NONRESIDENTS Ages 15 and under Ages 16 and over

(must buy nonresident licenses/permits)

Youth Hunting License*

Deer + Youth Deer Permit* Annual Hunting License + Statewide Deer Permit
Fall Turkey IO$EZt:u$utiESyLéZir£$ti Annual Hunting License + Fall Turkey Permit
Spring Turkey Ioigllt:uﬁutiﬂgyl_llceer:jie; Annual Hunting License + Spring Turkey Permit
Small Game & Furhearers Youth Hunting License* Annual, 1-Day or 5-Day Hunting License

Migratory Birds
(dove, snipe, woodcock, Youth Hunting License*
moorhens, rails, gallinules)

Annual, 1-Day or 5-Day Hunting License + Kentucky
Migratory Bird or Waterfowl Permit

Waterfowl Youth Hunting License* Annual, 1-Day or 5-Day Hunting License + Kentucky
(ducks, geese, coots and mergansers) E Waterfowl Permit + Federal Duck Stamp
Trapping Annual Trapping License Annual Trapping License
*Included in Youth Sportsman’s License |:| HIP survey required
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The tables above are a quick over-
view of licensing requirements for 71(&0
hunting in Kentucky for the 2007-08
license year. See the rest of this section
for exemptions and complete residency,
licensing and hunter education require-
ments. See individual species sections for
bag limits and other restrictions. (All elk
hunting requirements are explained in

the Elk section.)

Q: Who needs to fill out a harvest

. : >
Disabled individuals must show information program (HIP) survey?

V4
1 1
1 1
1 1
1 1
1 1
disability license authorization : ; :
card to purchase Senior/Dis- : 7‘; Al hun.ters purc.hasmg a state :
abled license. See page 11 for 1 Migratory Bird Permit, state Water- ]
i fowl Permit, Resident Sportsman’s 1
: License or Senior/Disabled License :
: must fill out a HIP survey. You will be :
1 asked survey questions when you buy 1
i these licenses and permits. 1
\

details.

The Federal Migratory Bird
“Duck” Stamp is available at
post offices.




A LICENSE AND PERMIT FEES
Annual Hunting (deer, elk or turkey) $20.00 $130.00
I Annual Fishing $20.00 $50.00
U Joint Hushand/Wife Annual Fishing $36.00 *
m 1-Day Fishing $7.00 $10.00
Nonresident 7-Day Fishing * $30.00
J Nonresident 15-Day Fishing * $40.00
u Trout Permit $10.00 $10.00
F 1-Day Hunting (not valid for deer, elk or turkey) $7.00 $10.00
5-Day Hunting (not valid for deer, elk or turkey) * $40.00
~~ Annual Youth Hunting (ages 15 and under only) $5.00 $5.00
Z Annual Comhination Hunting/Fishing $30.00 *
Senior/Disabled Comhination Hunting/Fishing $5.00 *
c Deer Permit (statewide) (two deer) $30.00 $60.00
| Youth (15 and under) Deer Permit (one deer) $10.00 $10.00
P Bonus Antlerless Deer Permit (two deer) $15.00 $15.00
< Bonus WMA Quota Hunt Deer Permit (two deer) $30.00 $30.00
Spring Turkey Permit (statewide) (two turkeys) $30.00 $60.00
E Youth (15 and under) Turkey Permit (one turkey, spring or fall) $10.00 $10.00
m Fall Turkey Permit (statewide)(four turkeys) $30.00 $60.00
Kentucky Waterfowl Permit $15.00 $15.00
c Migratory Bird Permit $10.00 $10.00
|.I- Annual Trapping $20.00 $130.00
Z Annual Landowner/Tenant Trapping $10.00 *
[ Annual Youth Trapping $5.00 *
Sportsman’s License* *
J (Includes combination hunting/fishing, statewide deer permit, all spring and $95.00 *
< fall turkey permits, state waterfowl permit and trout permit.)
Youth (15 and under) Sportsman’s License**
m (Includes youth hunting license, youth deer permit and youth turkey permit. $25.00 $25.00
m Fishing license, waterfow!| permit and trout permit not required for youth.)
Elk Lottery Application $10.00 $10.00
Z Elk Quota Hunt Permit (if drawn) $30.00 $365.00
m Out-of-Zone Elk Permit $30.00 $365.00
Peabhody WMA User Permit $15.00 $15.00
w Land Between the Lakes (LBL) User Permit $20.00 $20.00
e e e Ssematn
Federal Migratory Bird ““Duck’ Stamp (available at post offices) $15.00 $15.00

* Not available

** Peabody and LBL User Permits, Elk Lottery Application, Elk Quota Hunt Permit, Out-of-Zone Elk Permit and Federal Duck
Stamp not included.

Annual licenses and permits are valid from the date of purchase through the last day in February. New licenses are required
annually March 1. A 1- or 5-day hunting license is valid only for the period shown on the license.

Beginning with the 2008-09 license year, all resident and nonresident kids under the age of 12 will no longer have to purchase
8 licenses or permits (except the Elk Lottery Application, Elk Quota Hunt Permit and Out-of-Zone Elk Permit).




HOW TO BUY LICENSES AND PERMITS

GETTING A LICENSE IN PERSON
Kentucky hunting (and fishing)
licenses and permits can be purchased
from nearly 1,000 locations through-
out the Commonwealth. Most Wal-
mart, K-mart, county court clerk of-
fices and outdoor sporting goods stores
sell licenses. License vendor locations
are listed on the KDFWR website at
Jfw.ky.gov. Licenses and permits can also
be purchased TOLL-FREE at 1-877-
598-2401 by phone or over the internet

at fw.ky.gov.

GETTING A LICENSE BY PHONE

Kentucky hunting and fishing li-
censes can be purchased over the phone
24 hours a day. It is the caller’s respon-
sibility to know what type of license or
permit is needed before calling. Opera-
tors should NOT be relied upon to ex-
plain licensing requirements. If you are
unsure what license or permit you need,
refer to previous portions of this guide,
or contact the KDFWR Information
Center at 1-800-858-1549.

All Kentucky hunting and fish-

By phone:

Call toll-free 1-877-598-2401

Persons purchasing by phone:

1. Must use Visa, Mastercard,
Discover or e-check;

2. Will be charged a small fee;

3. Must provide their name, ad-
dress, date of birth and Social
Security number;

4. Will be issued a paper license/
permit by mail;

5. Will be issued an authoriza-
tion number which serves as
a license/permit until paper
license/permit is issued; and

6. Must have the authorization
number in addition to a picture
ID while hunting, if they have
not yet received their paper
license/permit in the mail.

ing licenses and permits, except a
Disabled Combination License and
Trapping License, can be purchased
over the phone.

/88/ Tternet:

Visit fw.ky.gov

Persons purchasing online:

1. Must use Visa, Mastercard or
Discover;

2. Must provide their name, ad-
dress, date of birth and Social
Security number;

3. Must print their own paper
license/permit at the end of their
purchase; and

4. Will not receive a paper license/
permit in the mail.

GETTING A LICENSE THROUGH
THE INTERNET

All Kentucky hunting and fishing li-
censes/permits, except a Joint Husband/
Wife Fishing License, can be purchased
through the secured KDFWR website.

Deer, elk and turkey hunters, and otter and
bobcat hunters/trappers should be abso-
|utely sure to read the portion of this guide
that outlines the requirements of record-
ing, checking and tagging these species.

WHITETAILS .
N

Do 11 ALL WITH THE
SPORTSMAN’s LICENSE!

* Spring & fall turkey permits
* Statewide deer, waterfowl
& trout permits

D 7,0 S
RKEYS AND BAS i

¢ Combination hunting/fishing license

ALL FOR $9§ - sAVE s50!

Available at license outlets, by phone or online
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LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

RESIDENT SPORTSMAN’S
LICENSE (SAVE $50!)

Residents who both hunt and fish
for several species may want to consider
the Resident Sportsman’s License. This
license includes a combination hunting
and fishing license, spring turkey permit
(two turkeys), fall turkey permit (four tur-
keys), statewide deer permit (two deer),
state waterfowl permit and trout permit.
Purchased separately, these items would
cost $50 more than buying the Sports-
man’s package deal. Peabody and LBL
user permits, trapping license, an Elk
Lottery Application, Elk Quota Hunt
Permit, Out-of-Zone Elk Permit and
bonus deer permits must be purchased
separately. Sportsman’s License holders
must answer harvest information pro-
gram (HIP) survey questions for water-
fowl and other migratory birds. A Federal
Duck Stamp (available at post offices) is
required for waterfowl hunting.

YOUTH HUNTER LICENSE
(RESIDENTS & NONRESIDENTS)

All hunters regardless of age are re-
quired to have a hunting license unless
eligible for a license exemption. Howev-
er, any resident or nonresident hunter 15
years old or younger is eligible to carry a
less expensive youth hunting license in-
stead of a regular-priced license.

A youth hunting license authorizes
the holder to hunt all small game spe-
cies and migratory bird species. Unless
exempt, youth hunters are required to

Persons who need a replacement license or per-

mit have two options:

1. Purchase the same type of license or permit
from any license vendor, ask them for a

purchase additional permits to hunt elk,
deer and turkey. Specific permit require-
ments for youth deer and turkey hunters
are found in the Deer and Fall Turkey
sections of this guide. Both a youth deer
and turkey permit are available at a re-
duced price. (How these permits may
be used is discussed in the sections on
youth deer and turkey hunting.) The
youth hunting licenses and permits are
valid for the entire license year, even if
the hunter turns 16 during the license
year after purchasing the license. After
a hunter turns 16 years old, he or she is
no longer eligible to buy a youth hunt-
ing license.

A Youth Sportsman’s License is
available to resident and nonresident
youth 15 and under, and includes a
youth hunting license, youth deer permit
and youth turkey permit.

Hunters 15 and younger are exempt
from purchasing a Kentucky waterfowl
or state migratory bird permit, and a fed-
eral migratory bird “duck” stamp.

A youth hunting license shall not
be issued without the written permis-
sion of a parent or guardian, or person
having custody of the youth hunter. A
parent, guardian or person having cus-
tody of the youth hunter shall sign the
youth hunter’s license to signify consent.
Persons under 10 years old who hunt
any species must be accompanied by an
adult. Persons 15 and under who hunt
turkey, elk or deer with a firearm must
be accompanied by an adult.

During the Free Youth
Hunting and Trapping Week
(Dec. 29, 2007 through Jan.
4, 2008), resident and non-
resident hunters 15 and un-
der may hunt or trap small
game and furbearers without
a license. All other regula-

hunting regulations.

Hunter education is not required
for youth to participate in the Free
Youth Deer Hunting Weekend, or
the Free Youth Hunting & Trapping
Week, but taking the course ahead of
time is strongly recommended.

Beginning with the 2008-09 li-
cense year, all resident and nonresident
kids under the age of 12 will no longer
have to buy licenses or permits (except
the Elk Lottery Application, Elk Quota
Hunt Permit and Out-of-Zone Elk
Permit).

-

Q: I’'m a nonresident but I
own land in Kentucky. Do I have
to huy nonresident licenses and
permits?

7&: Yes. All nonresidents must
purchase nonresident licenses and
permits.
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NONRESIDENT HUNTER LICENSE

Those who do not meet the defini-
tion of a Kentucky resident are required
to purchase nonresident licenses. A resi-
dent is: Any person who has established
permanent domicile and legal residence
and has resided in Kentucky for 30 days
prior to purchasing a license, full-time
students enrolled in an educational insti-
tution for at least a six-month term, and
military service personnel on permanent
assignment in Kentucky.

RESIDENT SENIOR

(65 AND OLDER) LICENSE
Kentucky residents 65 years of age

and older who present proof of age and

residency are eligible to purchase the

license refund form, fill it out and send it to:
KDFWR Licensing, #1 Sportsman’s Lane,
Frankfort, KY 40601. You will receive a
refund minus a $5 handling fee.

2. Send $5, your name, address, date of birth
and Social Security number, and which
license(s) or permits you lost to: KDFWR
Licensing, #1 Sportsman’s Lane, Frankfort,
KY 40601. The KDFWR will replace the
license/permit you identify as lost, once veri-
fication of original purchase occurs.

tions and limits apply, except
no license is required.

Youth hunters who
hunt deer or out-of-zone
elk with a firearm during
the Free Youth Deer Hunt-
ing Weekend (Dec. 29-30,
2007) are not required to
have a deer or out-of-zone
elk permit, but must be ac-
companied by an adult, and

follow all other deer/elk

Wasnin g,l

Persons convicted of providing
false information regarding
residency eligibility for purposes
of purchasing hunting and fishing
licenses and permits are subject
to fines up to $200 in addition to
loss of hunting/fishing privileges
for up to three years and seizure
of hunting/fishing equipment.

10



discounted $5 Senior/Disabled Com-
bination Hunting and Fishing License
(which includes all state-required permits
except Peabody and LBL user permits,
Elk Lottery Application, Elk Quota Hunt
Permit, Out-of-Zone Elk Permit and a
trapping license). Holders of a Senior/
Disabled Combination License must an-
swer harvest information program (HIP)
survey questions. Holders of this license
must also purchase a Federal Migratory
Bird “Duck” Stamp (available at post of-
fices) to hunt waterfowl. Seniors should
carry ID with proof of age/residency
while hunting or fishing. The minimum
value of the hunting/fishing privileges of
this special discounted license is $145.

TRAPPING LICENSE

A trapping license is required of all
resident and nonresident trappers, includ-
ing landowners/tenants unless otherwise
provided by law. A trapping license is not
included in any other combination license
package. A landowner/tenant trapping li-
cense is only valid for a landowner, tenant
or his/her dependents trapping on their
own property. Trapping licenses are avail-
able from license agents across the state
and online at fw.£y.gov.

Cowg prook

Holders of Senior/Disabled
Combination Licenses who qualify
for the license due to an eligible
disability must carry both the
license and authorization card
while hunting. Note that once

a person who qualifies for this
disability license reaches age 65,
he or she is considered a senior
for licensing purposes, and no
longer needs to follow the process
of obtaining a disability license
authorization card.

Q: How long is my disahility
authorization card valid?

card is good for 3 years (check the
expiration date on your card). Every
3 years, you must provide updated
paperwork (following the instructions

4

1

1

1

1

1

1

: 7&: The disability authorization
1

1

1

1

1

1

1

: to the right) and get a new card.

’

RESIDENT DISABILITY LICENSE

Who qualifies?

The following are eligible to purchase the discounted ($5) Senior/Dis-
abled Combhination Hunting and Fishing License (which includes the
same license and permits as the Resident Senior License described at left):
e Kentucky residents certified totally and permanently disabled by the

Federal Social Security Administration, a state Workers Compensation
Board, the Kentucky Teacher Retirement System or the United States

Railroad Retirement Board.

* Kentucky resident employees of the U.S. Office of Personnel Management,
declared totally and permanently disabled by a recognized authority.

e Kentucky resident veterans at least 50% disabled as the result of a

service-connected disability.

Persons with the disabilities listed above must first obtain a disability

authorization card to be able to purchase this special $5 license from a

license vendor or online at fuw.ky.gov.

To ohtain a disabhility license

authorization card:

If your disability is through the:

* Federal Social Security Administra-
tion: Contact your local Social Secu-
rity office and request a form showing
your name, address, Social Security
number and date of birth, which states
that you are disabled and drawing
benefits. Send form to KDFWR.

* Veteran’s Administration: Contact
your local VA office and request a letter
that verifies you are at least 50% dis-
abled as a result of a service-connected
disability. Send letter to KDFWR.

 State Worker’s Compensation
Board: Request an application from
the KDFWR, fill it out and send to the
State Worker’s Compensation Board.

¢ United States Railroad Retirement

Contacting ws

Except for those who

qualify for a Disability
License through Worker’s
Compensation, mail or fax
your disability certification to:

KDFWR Disability License
#1 Sportsman’s Lane
Frankfort, KY 40601
FAX: (502) 564-9368

You may also bring the
documentation in person to the
KDFWR office in Frankfort at
#1 Sportsman’s Lane during
business hours 8 a.m. to 4:30
p.m. Eastern Monday - Friday.

Board: Contact the Board and request a letter stating you are 100%
totally and permanently disabled. Send letter to KDFWR.

e Kentucky Teacher Retirement System: Contact the Teacher Retire-
ment System and request written documentation stating you are on
disability retirement. Send documentation to KDFWR.

¢ United States Office of Personnel Management: Contact the federal Of-
fice of Personnel Management and obtain certification of employment and
documentation of being 100% disabled. Send documentation to KDFWR.

Once the proper documentation is processed, applicants will receive
by mail an authorization card that allows the individual to purchase the
$5 discounted Senior/Disabled Combination Hunting & Fishing License
from ANY license vendor or online at fw.ky.gov.

The authorization card is not a license.

The authorization card must be presented to the license seller, or the
authorization number entered online, at the time of purchase. License ven-
dors cannot sell a disability license using an expired authorization card.

Senior/Disabled Combination Licenses are valid through the end of
February like any other license. If you lose your card, you may contact the
KDFWR at the above address for a replacement.

A Y
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RECORDING, CHECKING,
TAGGING AND TRANSPORTING

Harvested Deer, Elk, Turkey, Bohcat and Otter

All successful deer,
elk and turkey hunters,
and bobcatand otter hunt-
ers/trappers must record,
check, tag and transport
these species according to
the following regulations.

The purpose of the
recording, checking and
tagging requirements is to
identify who took what and how many,
and to ensure that all animals have been

checked in.

BASIC GUIDELINES

* You must have a completed hunter har-
vest log for each harvested deer, elk,
turkey, bobcat or otter with you any-
time you're in the field hunting or trap-
ping that species.

* You must be able to show you have the
correct licenses and permits for the
game you intend to take, unless you
are license/permit exempt.

* Meat processors and taxidermists are
prohibited by law from accepting any
part of an unchecked or untagged deer,
elk, turkey, bobcat or otter.

RECORDING

All  successful hunters/trappers
must write down harvest informa-
tion on a hunter harvest log as soon
as the animal is recovered and before
it is moved. Blank spaces to fill in the
required information are provided on
the back of any paper license or permit.
Otherwise, you may obtain a blank log
sheet from a license dealer, use the
example in this guide, or make one
yourself and complete it as explained
on page 13.

Log information should be written
in ink.

Although there are spaces to record
five animals on a pre-printed harvest
log, that doesnt necessarily mean you
can take five deer, elk, turkeys, bobcats
or otters. Season bag limits are in place
for each species.

“Telecheck number:

1-800-CHK-GAME
(1-800-245-4263)

Completing the hunter harvest log:

* If you have a paper license or permit,
simply fill in the blanks on the back as
indicated on page 13.

* ALL hunters not required to have a li-
cense/permit, or who have only a license
authorization number, must create their
own hunter harvest log and follow the
same requirements as noted on page 13
after taking these species.

CHECKING (TELECHECK)

All harvested animals must be tele-
checked through the toll-free, automat-
ed phone-in system by midnight on the
day the animal is recovered. Deer and
elk must be telechecked before remov-
ing the hide or head. Harvested animals
must be checked in before being trans-
ported out of Kentucky.

When you call, you will be asked a
short series of questions, including your
Social Security number and the code
number for the county where you took
the animal. The county code chart ap-
pears on page 14.

You can check multiple animals
during the same call. It takes about five
minutes each. Entering false informa-
tion is unlawful.

~
-

Q: Do I have to telecheck my
deer or elk hefore I remove the
hide or head, even if it’s before
midnight?

7&1 Yes. Telecheck before remov-
ing the hide/head, or before mid-
night, whichever comes first.

¢

CALLING TELECHECK

1. Call toll-free 1-800-245-

4263. It’s in service 24 hours
a day while seasons are open.

. Listen to each question care-

fully and provide the requested
information using the keypad
on any touch-tone phone. You
will be asked to indicate the
animal’s species and sex, type

of equipment used, whether the

land was private or public and
what type of license you used
(or if you are a landowner).

Sex of deer: Hunters who take
button bucks should check

the deer as “*male’”” and then
choose “'no visible antler’”
when prompted.

License: You will be given the
following choices: Statewide
License, $5 Senior/Disabled
License, Landowner, Deer
Control Tag, Trapping License,
Elk Permit or Out-of-Zone
Elk Permit. Youth hunters
who check deer taken during
the Free Youth Deer Hunting
Weekend, or license exempt
military personnel, should
select “Statewide License.”
Landowners who take animals
somewhere other than on
property they own must have
the proper license/permit and
answer accordingly.

. Once your harvest information
has been entered correctly, you

will be asked to hold while the
system submits your survey
information. Be prepared to
write down the confirmation
number given by the system on
the hunter harvest log for the
animal you are checking in.

S



e HOW TO FILL OUT THE
— = HUNTER HARVEST LOG

Hoeer Cruakey Ceocecat Commen Cewk

pate Ml-1& county Grant  sex F
[CONFIRMATION # 1234661890 | BEFQRE YOU MOVE THE ANIMAL FROM
Dveeh By Doacecat Dorer Cax THE SPOT IT WAS FOUND: M:
DATE Jd-Y4 county Addic  seExm Step 1: Mark the box for the appropriate spe- You will need
CONFIRMATION & J2 3451784 | cies and fill in the date, county and sex of the to have a pen
animal. (Hunters with licenses on orange paper with you in
D}‘"ﬂ(m Dleoacar Lotren [Kewk may need to write in “elk,” “bobcat,” or “otter.”) the field.
DATE 1@-13 cOUNTY Johnson sex Step 2: Put the harvest log back in your pocket.
CONFIRMATION # L3458
WHEN YOU CALL
Cloeen O urkey Plecscat Cloter Cewx It the W TO CHECK IN THE
DATE _1-40 COUNTY_Keaox  sex M. W ' ANIMAL:
(23457893 Animals must be checked b .
Keliahiio s midnight on the same day rizcovered. Step 3: Write the .
Ooeer Oturkey Ososcat Bommer Dex You must telecheck your deer or elk Telecheck confirmation
DATE _2-18 COUNTY "I'rjsa SEX AL before removing the hide or head. number on the harvest
If you give the carcass to anybody log, and keep the log
else before it’s processed, you must information in your
first attach a completed carcass tag possession whenever you
to the animal before it leaves your are in the field during the
possession. deer, elk, turkey, bobcat or
otter season.
S

SAMPLE HARVEST LOG & CARCASS TAGS

Date, County & Sex must be filled in balore carcass

is mowed, TELECHECK 1-800-245-4263
Harvest logs are not to be used as carcass tags.

N
CARCASS TAG

Ooeer O urkey Cececat Cotrer ek
DATE _____ COUNTY ______ SEX___
CONFIRMATION #

Ooeer Curkey Cleoecar Clorrer Cewk
DATE COUNTY — BEX___
COMFIRMATION #

Name:

Telecheck Confirmation Number: Coeer Curkey Clacecat Cotrer Cew

I
I
I
| Phone Number:
I
I
I
I
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DATE ____COUNTY _______ SEX___
1-800-245-4263  (Animal must be checked in, and the confirmation number COMFIRMATION #
(toll-free) filled in above before carcass leaves hunter’s possession.)
Cloeer Clvuakey Clececar Clotrer Cew
GO (e SEX
CARCASS TAG Kl b

Name:

Ooeer Cluskey Clececar Clorrer Cewx
DATE

Phone Number:

Telecheck Confirmation Number:

1-800-245-4263  (Animal must be checked in, and the confirmation number
(toll-free) filled in above before carcass leaves hunter’s possession.)
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bear a carcass tag stating otherwise.
An individual in possession of an un-
tagged animal must have a fully com-
pleted hunter harvest log as described
on page 13 for each animal.

If an animal leaves the possession
of the person who harvested it, that
hunter must first make and attach a
carcass tag to the animal that clearly
includes the following information:

1. Name of the person who took the
animal(s).

hanging unattended in a deer camp
or elsewhere. Hunters must also
telecheck the animal first, and
write the confirmation number on
the carcass tag as proof of doing
so. The easiest item to use as a
carcass tag is an index card. The
carcass tag must remain attached
until processing begins or the
hunter returns to take possession of
the carcass.

I
001 | Adair 025 | Clark 049 | Harrison 073 | McCracken 097 | Perry
I-lJ 002 | Allen 026 | Clay 050 | Hart 074 | McCreary 098 | Pike
I 003 | Anderson 027 | Clinton 051 | Henderson 075 | McLean 099 | Powell
U 004 | Ballard 028 | Crittenden 052 | Henry 076 | Madison 100 | Pulaski
005 | Barren 029 | Cumberland 053 | Hickman 077 | Magoffin 101 | Robertson
m 006 | Bath 030 | Daviess 054 | Hopkins 078 | Marion 102 | Rockcastle
J 007 | Bell 031 | Edmonson 055 | Jackson 079 | Marshall 103 | Rowan
u 008 | Boone 032 | Elliott 056 | Jefferson 080 | Martin 104 | Russell
F 009 | Bourbon 033 | Estill 057 | Jessamine 081 | Mason 105 | Scott
010 | Boyd 034 | Fayette 058 | Johnson 082 | Meade 106 | Shelby
\ 011 | Boyle 035 | Fleming 059 | Kenton 083 | Menifee 107 | Simpson
Z 012 | Bracken 036 | Floyd 060 | Knott 084 | Mercer 108 | Spencer
c 013 | Breathitt 037 | Franklin 061 | Knox 085 | Metcalfe 109 | Taylor
| | 014 | Breckinridge 038 | Fulton 062 | Larue 086 | Monroe 110 | Todd
I 015 | Bullitt 039 | Gallatin 063 | Laurel 087 | Montgomery 111 | Trigg
< 016 | Butler 040 | Garrard 064 | Lawrence 088 | Morgan 112 | Trimble
017 | Caldwell 041 | Grant 065 | Lee 089 | Muhlenberg 113 | Union
E 018 | Calloway 042 | Graves 066 | Leslie 090 | Nelson 114 | Warren
m 019 | Campbell 043 | Grayson 067 | Letcher 091 | Nicholas 115 | Washington
020 | Carlisle 044 | Green 068 | Lewis 092 | Ohio 116 | Wayne
c 021 | Carroll 045 | Greenup 069 | Lincoln 093 | Oldham 117 | Webster
m 022 | Carter 046 | Hancock 070 | Livingston 094 | Owen 118 | Whitley
Z 023 | Casey 047 | Hardin 071 | Logan 095 | Owsley 119 | Wolfe
H 024 | Christian 048 | Harlan 072 | Lyon 096 | Pendleton 120 | Woodford
J TAGGING 2. Phone number of the person who CITES Tagging for Bohcat & Otter
< Placing a carcass tag on harvest- took the animal(s); and Hunters or trappers who intend to sell
ed deer, elk, turkey, bobcat or otteris 3. Telecheck confirmation number for  the raw fur of a bobcat or otter must call
m only required when the carcass leaves each animal. 1-800-858-1549 or go online to fw.4y.gov,
the possession of the hunter who provide their Telecheck confirmation
m took the animal. If you take a deer, for number and request a CITES tag. This
example, and it never leaves your pos- ‘ 0‘8/ @gé(yw 8,% leaure tag shall be attached per the instructions
Z session, you are not required to put a included with the mailed tag, and remain
carcass tag on the animal. Harvested Carcas.s tags must be placed o with the pelt until it is processed. Posses-
m animals in a hunter’s possession are Fhe animal befo_re t.he hunter gives sion of an unused bobcat or otter CITES
assumed to be his or hers, unless they 60, o [eies it i Sime 1 tag is prohibited, unless authorized by the
w else, or leaves a deer, for example,

KDFWR. A CITES tag may substitute
for a hand-made carcass tag. The process
of selling furs is described in the Small

Game & Furbearers section.

TRANSPORTING

Hunters bringing any deer or elk, or
parts of deer or elk, into Kentucky shall
have proof that the animal was legally
harvested elsewhere and shall do so in
compliance with the carcass importa-
tion laws outlined on page 26.



OTHER HUNTING REGULATIONS

LANDOWNER PERMISSION
REQUIRED FOR HUNTING,
TRAPPING & FISHING

A person SHALL NOT ENTER
upon the lands of another to hunt, trap
or fish, WITHOUT the oral or writ-
ten PERMISSION of the landowner,
tenant or person who has authority to
grant permission. Those who fail to ob-
tain permission are subject to arrest and
prosecution. Railroad tracks and rights
of way are privately owned property and
permission to hunt, trap or fish must be
obtained prior to entry.

4

Q: Can I retrieve game from
another person’s land without
permission?

7&1 No. You MUST have permis-
sion to enter private property.
Landowners are under no obliga-
tion to allow hunters to retrieve
game from their land. Think about
where you hunt - if you take a shot
near a property line, you may not
be able to retrieve your game.

| T L

HUNTER EDUCATION LAW
& REQUIREMENTS FOR
ADULTS HUNTING WITH KIDS

Kentucky’s Hunter Education Law
states that all hunters, if required to pur-
chase a Kentucky hunting license and born
on or after January 1, 1975, must carry a
valid hunter education course completion
card while hunting. However, a one-time
temporary hunter education exemption
permit is available online at fw.4y.gov. This
$5 permit allows hunting without a hunter
education card for one year from the date
of purchase. After it expires, the hunter
is no longer exempt and must success-
tully complete a hunter education course.
(Landowners are only license exempt on
their own property. When hunting else-
where, they must be licensed and comply
with the hunter education law.)

A bowhunter not in possession of a
firearm while hunting may carry a valid
National Bowhunter Education Pro-
gram course completion card instead of
the hunter education card.

The hunter education law applies

to all types of hunting. Hunter educa-
tion cards obtained from other states are
valid in Kentucky. Hunter education cards
and temporary hunter education exemp-
tion permits are not required when buy-
ing a license or permits, but must be in
the hunter’s possession while hunting.
Course schedule information is available at
fw.ky.gov or by calling 1-800-858-1549.

Children under 12 years old are
exempt from this law, and cannot take
the hunter education test until they
turn 9 years old. BUT hunters under 12
years old and those who have temporary
hunter education exemption permits
must be accompanied by an adult at least
18 years old, who meets the hunter edu-
cation requirement. The adult shall be in
a position to take immediate control of
the child or exempted hunter’s bow or
firearm at all times while hunting. One
adult shall not accompany more than
two children at the same time.

Replacement hunter education
cards can be obtained by mailing $5,
name, current address, date of birth and
phone number to the KDFWR Hunter
Education Program at the address on
the front of this guide.

Adults must accompany hunt-
ers ages 15 and under who deer, elk or
turkey hunt with a gun. The adult shall
remain in a position to take immediate
control of the youth’s firearm.

Q: I got invited hunting this
weekend. I am required to have

a hunter education card, but I
don’t have one yet. Can I still go?

7&: Yes. Go online to fw.ky.gov and
get a temporary hunter education

exemption permit. This one-time,
$5 permit lets you hunt for one year
without a hunter education card.

HUNTER ORANGE CLOTHING LAW

Hunter orange garments must be
worn as the outer coverings and must
be worn at all times while in the field
hunting. Garments can be of mesh type
material, as long as openings in the mesh
weave are no wider than one-quarter inch

Kentucky’s Hunter Orange Clothing
Law requires ALL HUNTERS

and persons accompanying them,
hunting for any species during the
modern gun, muzzle-loading, and
youth firearms deer seasons or a
firearms elk season to wear solid,
unbroken hunter orange color
visible from all sides on the head,
back and chest.

by any measurement. Garments may dis-

play a small portion of another color.
The following are examples of

common Hunter Orange Clothing

Law violations:

* Wearing camouflage-patterned hunter
orange garments without additional
solid hunter orange clothing on the
head, back and chest.

* Wearing hunter orange clothing while
walking to a stand and taking it off
when you get there.

* Hunting squirrel, rabbit or quail when
and where a firearms deer or elk season
is also open without wearing hunter
orange clothing.

* Hunting during a muzzle-loading deer
season without wearing hunter orange.

In other words, if you're hunting

anything in a place where and when a

gun of any kind can be used for tak-

ing deer or elk, you have to comply
with the hunter orange clothing law.

The only exceptions are when hunting

waterfowl during a gun deer season, or

when hunting game that can legally be
hunted at night (like opossum or rac-
coon, for example).

SHOOTING HOURS

Shooting hours for all species listed
in this guide, except raccoons, opossums
and frogs, are during daylight hours only.
Daylight hours are one-half hour before
sunrise to one-half hour after sunset.
However, hunters may be in the field or
stands before and after shooting hours.

Raccoons and opossums may be
taken day or night, except during modern
gun deer season when raccoon and opos-
sum hunting is permitted only at night.
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HUNTING METHOD EXEMPTIONS

The Kentucky Department of Fish
and Wildlife Resources grants exemp-
tions to hunters with certain physi-
cal disabilities to hunt with a crossbow
during archery-only periods of deer, elk
and turkey seasons, or use a stationary
vehicle as a hunting platform.

However, persons with qualifying
physical disabilities must first have an
exemption form completed and signed
by a licensed physician certifying why
the exemption is necessary. Forms are
available from the department and on-
line at fw.ky.gov. Persons who obtain a
hunting method exemption are still re-
quired to have the appropriate hunting
license and permits. Persons granted a
hunting method exemption must also
carry the signed exemption form along
with their hunting license and permits
while in the field.

PROHIBITED HUNTING METHODS

* No person shall discharge any firearm,
bow and arrow, crossbow or other
similar device, upon, over or across any
public roadway. Hunting is prohibited
in highway or interstate medians and
rights of way.

* No person shall take or attempt to take
wildlife from an automobile, or other

vehicle, except as prescribed by regula-
tion. Hunting from boats is permitted
for small game.

A person shall NOT pursue, chase or
take a deer, elk, bear, or turkey during
the spring turkey season, with the aid of
dogs; while on horseback; or when the
deer or elk is swimming. Dogs may be
used to locate and flush turkeys during
the fall turkey seasons only.

It is illegal to feed bears directly, indi-
rectly or incidentally for any reason.
No person shall take wildlife with the
aid of fire, smoke, explosives or gas.
Baiting is prohibited on all WMAs,
Daniel Boone National Forest, Jef-
terson National Forest and state parks
open to hunting.

Deer and elk hunters shall not use
electronic decoys.

No person shall take a turkey when the
turkey is roosting. (A roost is the place
where a turkey spends the night.)

A person hunting wild turkeys
SHALL NOT use live or electronic
turkeys as decoys or take a turkey by
the aid of baiting, hunt on a baited
area while bait is present, or hunt on
a baited area for 30 days after all bait
has been removed. (A baited area is
any place where feed, grains or other
substances capable of luring wild tur-

keys have been placed.) Turkeys can't
be hunted over any private land area
baited for deer. An area where grains
or other feeds exist as the result of
legitimate agricultural practices, or as
the result of growing or manipulating
a crop for wildlife management is legal
for hunting.

FEEDING OF WILDLIFE

It is illegal to feed wildlife with
grain, seed or manufactured animal feed
outside the curtilage of the home (the
area immediately surrounding a home or
group of homes) from March 1 through
July 31. This regulation does not apply
to normal agricultural practices or food
plots, or municipal areas not open to le-
gal hunting or trapping.

SPOTLIGHTING

No person may deliberately cast the
rays of a spotlight or other artificial light
into any field, pasture, woodlands or
forest, whether public or private, where
wildlife or domestic livestock may rea-
sonably be expected to be located. Shin-
ing artificial lights into private residences
or other structures is also prohibited. This
does not apply to: the rays of headlights
of vehicles engaged in a normal course
of travel; lights being used in legitimate
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agricultural activities; to anyone involved
in activities legitimate to his or her busi-
ness or occupation; circumstances in-
cluding lawful hunting activities; or any
landowner, his or her immediate family
or any paid employee while working on
his or her land at that time. No per-
son shall take wildlife, except raccoons,
opossums, fishes and frogs, using lights
or other means designed to blind wild-
life or make wildlife visible at night.

GAME CALLING DEVICES
& RESTRICTIONS
* Hand or mouth-operated calls may be
used in hunting all species.
Mechanical and electronic (digitally
reproduced or tape-recorded sound)
calls or attracting devices may only be
used to take groundhogs, coyotes, wild
hogs, English sparrows and starlings
during daylight hours year-round.

* A hunter may use electronic calls or at-
tracting devices for furbearers during
the furbearer season.

* Mechanical and electronic calls may be

used to take crows only during crow

season.

Deer and elk hunters shall not use

electronic calls.

* Turkey hunters shall not use or possess
electronic or digital calling devices.

TREE STANDS

The construction and use of tree
stands on private lands is regulated by
the landowner, not the KDFWR.

The use of nails, spikes, screws,
wire, or tree climbers is prohibited
for attaching a tree stand or climb-
ing a tree on: all KDFWR-owned or
managed WMAs, state parks open to
hunting, Daniel Boone National Forest,
Clark’s River National Wildlife Refuge,
Jefferson National Forest, Reelfoot Na-
tional Wildlife Refuge, Ohio River Is-
lands National Wildlife Refuge, Land
Between the Lakes, Big South Fork Na-
tional River and Recreation Area, Fort
Knox, Fort Campbell, Blue Grass Army
Depot and Wendell H. Ford Regional
Training Center.

Portable stands and tree climbers
that do not injure trees may be used on
the above areas, but must be marked with
the owner’s name and address. Portable
stands and tree climbers may be placed
in trees no earlier than two weeks before
the opening of the season and must be

removed within one week after the sea-
son closes on the area. Use of existing
permanent tree stands is prohibited. On
state parks open to hunting, tree stands
must not be left unattended for more
than twenty-four (24) hours.

POSSESSION OF
PROTECTED WILDLIFE

Possession  of protected wildlife
except during an open season is illegal
without a permit. All permits must be
obtained prior to taking or holding pro-
tected wildlife. Wildlife acquired prior
to obtaining the proper permits may be
confiscated and the holder fined. The
KDFWR strongly urges people not to
take animals from the wild and attempt
to make them pets. A person must not
hold wildlife in captivity that was not
legally taken or obtained. Persons trans-
porting live deer or other types of cer-
vids (members of the deer family) with-
out proper documentation or permits, or
holding live deer captive in unpermitted
facilities or pens are subject to severe
fines and may have their animals confis-
cated or destroyed.

DOG TRAINING
& HUNTING WITH DOGS

Hunters may run or train dogs for
small game and furbearers year-round
as long as game is taken only during
an open hunting season. Some WMAs
have special restrictions on using dogs,
so check ahead of time. All members of
the party (unless license-exempt) must
have a valid hunting license to pursue
small game or furbearer species, even
when training dogs without taking game.
Dogs may not be used to chase, molest
or hunt deer, elk, bears or turkeys, except:
Dogs are permitted for locating and
flushing turkeys during the FALL tur-
key season only, and dogs ON LEASH
are permitted for tracking and locating
wounded deer. Except during the season,
raccoon and opossum hunters must not
carry firearms, tree climbers, squealers
or devices capable of killing, injuring or
forcing raccoons or opossums from trees
or dens. Squealers may be used during
permitted field trials only.

FIRE HAZARD SEASONS

Oct. 1 - Dec. 15 and Feb. 15 - April 30
are fire hazard seasons in Kentucky. Dur-
ing these periods, it is illegal to start any

fires within 150 feet of any woodland or
brushland except between the hours of
6:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. local time. Will-
ful, malicious or wanton setting of forest
fires at any time is a felony punishable
by fines from $1,000 to $10,000 and im-
prisonment of up to five years. For infor-
mation on specific county burning bans
or restrictions, call the Kentucky Divi-
sion of Forestry at (502) 564-4496.

’ A Y

FEDERAL WILDLIFE LAW

(Summary Only) Lacey Act Amend-
ments of 1981, 16 USC 3371 3378

1

]

1

1

1
Prohihited Acts: It is unlawful :
for any person to import, export, |
transport, sell, receive, acquire or |
purchase in interstate or foreign 1
commerce; any fish, wildlife or 1
plant taken, possessed, trans- :
ported, or sold in violation of any
law or regulation of any state, or
in violation of any foreign law. 1
Criminal Penalties: 1
e Felony: Fine of $20,000 and/or |
imprisonment of up to 5 years. 1

* Misdemeanor: Fine of $10,000 :
and/or imprisonment of up to I

1 year. 1
Rewards: Furnished to individu- |
als providing information that 1
leads to an arrest or criminal 1
conviction for violations of above. :
1

1

1

1

1

1

1

1

1

1

1

1

1

1

1

1

1

]

1

1

1

1

1

1

1

]

MIGRATORY BIRD &
WATERFOWL HUNTING
SEASONS

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife
Service (USFWS) governs migra-
tory bird and waterfow! hunting.
Season dates for these species
are finalized by the USFWS in
August, which is too late to be in-
cluded in this guide. However, the
first portion of the Kentucky dove
season usually opens September 1
each year and runs through late
October. Hunters should consult
the 2007-08 Early and Late Sea-
son Migratory Bird and Water-
fowl Hunting guides for complete
details on migratory bird and
waterfowl hunting in Kentucky,
or check the KDFWR website at
fw.ky.gov a few days before the
§ season is expected to open.
\ ’
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SOME BASICS

If you plan to hunt deer on private
or public land in Kentucky:

1. Check whether you need a
license and deer permit. Most
people will need both. The dif-
ferent types of deer permits are
explained in this section.

2. Determine which zone the
county you plan to hunt has
been assigned to. There are
four (4) zones, and the hunting
restrictions are different for
each zone. Zone restrictions
dictate when a particular season
is open, what the bag limits are,
and when hunting is restricted
to antlered deer only.

. Record your kill on your harvest
log, telecheck the animal, and
tag it if necessary. An ethical
hunter makes every effort to
retrieve his or her deer. Those
who fail to check retrieved deer
are violating the law.

4. Make sure the hunting equip-

ment you use is legal for deer,

and that you comply with the
hunter education and hunter
orange clothing laws.

5. Lastly, and perhaps most

importantly, be sure you have

received permission from the
landowner of the property
where you hunt. Trespassing is
more detrimental to the hunt-
ing sports than any other activ-
ity, so please -- ASK FIRST!

S O N M R N M O M M M M M M M R M M R M R M M R M M M M M M M M M O e E e Em
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TYPES OF DEER PERMITS

STATEWIDE DEER PERMIT

* Alllicense-required deer hunters must buy
and carry proof of purchasing a statewide
deer permit while deer hunting.

* This permit allows hunters to take two
deer as follows: One with visible ant-
ler and one without visible antler, OR
both may be without visible antler. It
doesn’t matter if hunters take an ant-
lered or antlerless deer first. Antlered
deer should be recorded on the back
of this permit (not a bonus antlerless-
only permit).

* Only one (1) statewide deer permit is
valid per hunter per season.

BONUS ANTLERLESS-ONLY

DEER PERMIT

* Hunters who want to take more than
the two deer allowed by the statewide
deer permit must carry proof of pur-
chasing a bonus antlerless-only per-
mit. (The deer season limit is more
than two animals).

* A bonus antlerless-only permit allows
a hunter to take up to two (2) antler-
less deer, as outlined by zone harvest
restrictions and bag limits.

* A bonus antlerless permit is not valid
unless the hunter has first purchased
a statewide hunting license and state-
wide deer permit and is able to show
proof of that in the field. A hunter
shall not take more deer than allowed
by the permits he or she possesses.

A statewide or bonus antlerless-
only deer permit may be used on private
lands and wildlife management areas.

BONUS WMA QUOTA HUNT PERMIT
* Hunters participating in any quota deer
hunt on a WMA or State Park, the
Grayson Lake WMA Open Youth Hunt
(Nov. 3-4) or the West KY WMA Open
Gun Hunt (Dec. 1-2), are eligible to use
a Bonus WMA Quota Hunt Permit
during those hunts if they so choose.
A Bonus WMA Quota Hunt Permit
authorizes the quota hunter to take up
to two (2) deer, one of which may be
antlered IF allowed during that partic-
ular Quota Hunt. The hunter must be
able to show proof of having also pur-
chased a statewide hunting license and
statewide deer permit for the Bonus
WMA Quota Hunt Permit to be valid.
* Deer taken on a Bonus WMA Quota

Hunt Permit do not count toward the

statewide antlered deer limit, or the

antlerless deer zone limit.

No bonus antlered deer permits

are available for private land hunting.

ONE-DEER PERMIT OPTION FOR
YOUTH HUNTERS

In addition to the above-noted per-
mit options, license-required resident and
nonresident youth hunters ages 15 and
under also have the choice to buy and use
up to two (2) youth statewide deer per-
mits per license year. A youth statewide
deer permit allows the holder to take one
(1) deer, and is valid for either sex deer
when zone restrictions allow.

Youth hunters must follow all other
deer hunting laws, harvest restrictions
and bag limits.
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DEER HUNTING
ZONES & SEASONS

I Zone 1

Henderson

S
Fi

[ ]Zone2

wﬁ‘é
v

SEASON DATES

[ ]Zone4

D Zone change

Statewide

Zone 1 Zone 2

Zone 3 Zone 4

Nov. 10-25, 2007 | Nov. 10-25, 2007

Nov. 10-19, 2007 | Nov. 10-19, 2007

(either sex)

Modern|Gun (either sex) (either sex) (either sex) (antlered only)
Sept. 1, 2007 - Jan. 21,
Archery 2008 (either sex)
Oct. 1-21 and
Crosshow Nov. 10 - Dec. 31, 2007

Muzzleloader

Oct. 20-21 and
Dec. 8-16, 2007
(either sex)

Oct. 20-21 and
Dec. 8-16, 2007
(either sex)

Oct. 20-21 and
Dec. 8-16, 2007
(either sex)

Oct. 20-21 (antlered
only) and Dec. 8-16,
2007 (either sex)

Youth-only Oct. 13-14, 2007
Firearms (either sex)

Free Youth Dec. 29-30, 2007
Weekend* (either sex)

*During the Free Youth Deer Hunting Weekend ONLY, hunters ages 15 and under may hunt deer with a firearm without a license or
deer permit, if accompanied by an adult.

rity number.

Q: Can I take a deer for
someone else?

7&: No. Hunters must claim any
deer they take as their own. They

must use their own license/permit
and harvest log, and telecheck the
deer using their own Social Secu-

BAG LIMITS

Bag limits and harvest restrictions
apply to all hunters. There is no daily
bag limit on deer.

See the “Restrictions By Zone”
box for information on equipment and
permit requirements.

Those who shoot more deer than
the season individual hunter bag limit

allows, or more deer than they have pur-
chased permits to take, are violating the
law. Landowners, dependents and ten-
ants are prohibited from taking deer, (or
turkeys, elk, bobcats or otters) they don't
claim and check in as their own.

A hunter must abide by all license
and permit use requirements, season
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: RESTRICTIONS BY ZONE : Im
1 1
I ZONE 1 ZONE 3 1 m
I« A hunter may take an unlimited number of antlerless * A hunter may take no more than four (4) deer total 1 z
: deer. Two (2) deer may be taken using the statewide and combined in Zones 2, 3, and 4. All four may :
I permit and unlimited antlerless deer may be taken be taken with archery or crossbow equipment. In "
| using bonus antlerless-only permits (good for two (2) addition to the statewide permit, an archery or I :
1 antlerless deer each). crosshow hunter may use one (1) bonus antlerless- 1
1 * A hunter is limited to ONE (1) deer with visible antlers only permit (good for two (2) antlerless deer). 1 c
I (excluding button bucks) per license year statewide, * A hunter may take no more than two (2) deer witha 1
I except additional antlered deer may be taken on WMA firearm and must use the statewide permit only. 1 Z
I or State Park quota hunts or federal areas. * A hunter is limited to ONE (1) deer with visible antlers ! q
: * Hunters shall abide by the equipment restrictions in (excluding button bucks) per license year statewide, :
I place for each season. except additional antlered deer may be taken on WMA I |
I or State Park quota hunts or federal areas. I Z
1 ZONE 2 * Hunters shall abide by the equipment restrictions in
1 * A hunter may take no more than four (4) deer total place for each season. 1 m
I and combined in Zones 2, 3 and 4. Two (2) deer may 1
I be taken using the statewide permit and up to two (2) ZONE 4 1
1 more antleress deer may be taken using one bonus * A hunter may take no more than four (4) deer total 1
: antlerless-only deer permit. and combined in Zones 2, 3 and 4. All four may :
' A hunter is limited to ONE (1) deer with visible antlers be taken with archery or crossbow equipment. In I
1 (excluding button bucks) per license year statewide, addition to the statewide permit, an archery or I
1 except additional antlered deer may be taken on WIMA crosshbow hunter may use one (1) bonus antlerless- 1
1 or State Park quota hunts or federal areas. only permit (good for two (2) antlerless deer). 1
I« Hunters shall abide by the equipment restrictions in e A hunter may take no more than two (2) deer witha |
I place for each season. firearm and must use the statewide permit only. 1
I * A hunter is limited to ONE (1) deer with visible !
: @oﬂ/%/ antlers (excluding button bucks) per license year :
I d Loc é statewide, except additional antlered deer may be I
I Hunters who purchase licenses/permits by phone or internet taken on WMA or State Park quota hunts or federal |
1 must carry while hunting: the authorization number and a areas. 1
1 picture ID (for phone purchases, if paper license/permit not * Hunters shall not take antlerless deer during seasons |
1 yet received in the mail), or computer print-out for internet open to antlered deer hunting only. 1
1 purchases. All paper licenses/permits must be signed and * Hunters shall abide by the equipment restrictions in 1
: all information completed before hunting. place for each season. :

\ 14

on Land Between the Lakes, Reel- ,~"7""""""""""77~777777°77 N
foot National Wildlife Refuge, Ft. Q Can I take two deer from
Campbell and Ft. Knox Military Res- priv;nte land in a Zone 2 county
ervations, Wendell H. Ford Regional and later take three more deer ’
Training Center and Blue Grass from another private farm in a
Army Depot as determined by the Zone 3 county?

governing agency for each area.

dates, equipment and harvest restric-
tions in effect for the location where
they hunt and time when they hunt.

ANTLERED DEER LIMIT
From Sep. 1, 2007 through Jan. 21,
2008 (deer season), a person may take
no more than one (1) deer with visible
antler (excluding button bucks) in Ken-
tucky, except:
1. If a hunter possesses a Bonus WMA
Quota Hunt Permit, a bonus antlered

ANTLERLESS DEER LIMIT 7&: No. If you hunt private lands

1.In Zone 1 counties, there is no season
limit on antlerless deer.
2.1In Zone 2, 3 and 4 counties, the com-

Zone 2, 3, or 4 county, the season
bag limit is four deer total per
hunter. Even if you hunt in more

2.

deer may be taken during a WMA
or State Park Quota Hunt, and the
Grayson Lake Open Youth Hunt or
West KY WMA Open Gun Hunt,
if the limits and restrictions for each
hunt allow.

Bonus antlered deer may be taken

bined season limit is four (4) per
hunter. Hunters may choose to take
up to one (1) antlered deer and three
(3) antlerless deer, OR take up to four
(4) antlerless deer total.

than one of these zones, four deer
is all you can legally take. (This
four deer combined bag limit does
not apply to deer taken in Zone 1.)

1
1
]
1
1
1
1
1
]
]
1
]
1
1
anywhere that is specified as a :
1
]
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
]
]
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HUNTING EQUIPMENT RESTRICTIONS

Kentucky’s Hunter Orange Clothing
Law requires ALL HUNTERS

and persons accompanying them,
hunting for any species during the
modern gun, muzzle-loading, and
youth firearms deer seasons or a
firearms elk season to wear solid,
unbroken hunter orange color
visible from all sides on the head,
back and chest.

Note: A conceal/carry permit does
NOT allow you to carry a modern firearm
while deer hunting during archery-only,

crossbow-only or muzzle-loading seasons.

MODERN GUN SEASON

During a county’s modern gun deer
season, modern firearms, muzzle-loading
firearms, archery and crossbow equip-
ment may be used, as long as they meet
the requirements for that equipment and
are used as described for deer hunting.

The hunter orange clothing law

MODERN FIREARM
EQUIPMENT RESTRICTIONS

Legal

Hunters may use the following:

* Any caliber centerfire rifle or
centerfire handgun. (See Defini-
tions.)

e Shotguns up to and including
10-gauge used with slug am-
munition. (Most common legal
shotgun sizes include .410-, 28-,
20-, 16-, 12- and 10-gauge.)

A deer hunter shall not use or

possess while deer hunting:

* Firearms able to hold more
than a total of 11 rounds (10 in
magazine and one in chamber)

e A fully-automatic firearm (ca-
pable of firing more than one
round with one trigger pull)

* Rimfire ammunition

* A shotshell containing larger
than number two (2) size shot

* Full metal jacketed or tracer

|
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
I Tllegal
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1 bullet ammunition.

\---------------_I

applies to ALL HUNTERS as stated
above.

Persons ages 15 and under who
hunt deer, elk or turkey with a firearm
must be accompanied by an adult who
shall remain able and in a position to
take immediate control of the youth’s
firearm at all times.

ARCHERY SEASON

During portions of the deer season
when only archery equipment can be
used, deer hunters shall not carry fire-
arms or crossbows while hunting. Hunt-
ers using archery equipment during a
deer firearms season must follow all fire-
arm season restrictions, zone guidelines
and hunting requirements in effect dur-
ing firearms seasons.

All hunters must comply with the
hunter orange clothing law as stated above.
'The law does not require hunters to wear
hunter orange when or where firearms are

prohibited for deer or elk hunting.

’ A Y

ARCHERY EQUIPMENT
RESTRICTIONS

Legal

Hunters may use the following:

* |ongbows, recurves and com-
pound bows

* Broadheads at least 7/8" wide

* Any draw weight (no minimum)

Illegal

A deer hunter shall not use or

possess while deer hunting:

* A broadhead smaller than 7/8"
wide

* A barbed broadhead

e A chemically-treated arrow

* An arrow with a chemical
attachment

\ /

CROSSBOW SEASON

Crossbows may be used from Octo-
ber 1-21 and November 10 — December
31,2007. Hunters using crossbows dur-
ing a firearms deer season must follow all
firearm season restrictions, zone guide-
lines and hunting requirements in effect
during firearms seasons.

All hunters must comply with the
hunter orange clothing law as stated above.
'The law does not require hunters to wear

hunter orange when or where firearms are

prohibited for deer or elk hunting.

s N
CROSSBOW EQUIPMENT
RESTRICTIONS

Legal

Hunters may use the following:

* Crosshow arrows (bolts) fitted
with broadheads at least 7/8”" wide

e Any draw weight (no minimum)

Illegal

A deer hunter shall not use or

possess while deer hunting:

* A crossbow without a working
safety device

* A broadhead smaller than 7/8"
wide

* A barbed broadhead

* A chemically-treated arrow

* An arrow with a chemical
attachment

\ /’

MUZZLE-LOADING SEASON

Muzzleloaders, archery and cross-
bow equipment can be used during this
season. ALL HUNTERS must comply
with the hunter orange clothing law as
stated above. Persons ages 15 and under
hunting deer with a muzzleloader must
be accompanied by an adult who shall
remain able and in a position to take im-
mediate control of the youth’s muzzle-
loader at all times.

MUZZLE-LOADING
EQUIPMENT RESTRICTIONS

| 1
1 1
1 1
I' Hunters may use the following: 1
: * Muzzle-loading rifles or hand- :
| guns of any caliber I
1 * Muzzle-loading shotguns no 1
1 larger than 10-gauge used with
1 slugs only 1
I o A muzzle-loading firearm that |
I can be fired more than once 1
I pefore reloading, as long as it 1
: meets the definition of a muzzle- :
y loading firearm 1
1 ° In-line muzzle-loading firearms
1 * Telescopic sights (scopes) 1
1 1
1 ]
1 1
| 1

Illegal
* No modern (breech-loading) fire-
arms of any kind are permitted.



YOUTH DEER HUNTING

In addition to the regular firearms,
archery and crossbow seasons, there are
two more deer hunting opportunities for
youth hunters.

OCTOBER YOUTH-ONLY
FIREARMS SEASON

On the second weekend of Octo-
ber, (Oct. 13-14, 2007), resident and

nonresident youth ages 15 and under,
who are accompanied by an adult, may

hunt deer with a firearm statewide. Dur-
ing the October youth hunt weekend,
the appropriate hunting license and deer
permits are required, and all other bag
limit, zone restrictions and hunter re-
quirements apply.

FREE YOUTH DEER HUNTING
WEEKEND

On the first weekend following
Christmas, (Dec. 29-30, 2007), resident

and nonresident youth ages 15 and un-

der, who are accompanied by an adult,
are eligible to participate in the Free

Youth Deer Hunting Weekend. Youth
hunters may hunt deer with a firearm
without having a hunting license or deer
permit. However, deer season bag lim-
its, zone restrictions, harvest recording,
checking requirements and equipment
restrictions remain in effect.

Please read the portion of this guide
regarding filling out the hunter harvest
log, checking and tagging.

DURING BOTH PERIODS:

Persons ages 15 and under hunt-
ing deer with a firearm must be accom-
panied by an adult who shall be able
and in a position to take immediate
control of the youth hunter’s firearm at
all times.

Adults accompanying youth deer

For over 50 years,

reaclers 11ave trustecl us

for Kentucley outdoor

news and information.

Subscribe today and

let us be your llelping‘

hand in the field or on

’clle water.

Kentucky
AHELD”Y

hunters during either of these periods
must NOT carry firearms. Adults accom-
panying youth hunters are not required to
possess a hunting license or deer permit if
the adult is not deer hunting. Remember,
the hunter orange clothing law applies to
those accompanying a youth deer hunter,
as well as the youth.

EQUIPMENT RESTRICTIONS
Same as permitted during the
Modern Gun Deer Season.

Want to know 1
more? Purchase |
the Kentucky 1
Afield “Deer ]
1
1
1
1
)

Processing”
DVD at
kyafield.com.
\ ’
B -’

mmmmmmm o

| This is a (circ/e one):

I New Su]oscription

: Renewal

I

1 Enclosed is (circ/e one):

1 $10 for one year
: $18 for two years
|

Last name

Address

City

1

1

1

1

1

1

1

1

1

1

1

1

I

" First name |
1

1

1

1

1

I

1

1

1
State Zip 1
1

Sul)scription includes 4 issues and a |
calendar per year. Allow up to 12 weeks |
for delivery. Orders must be prepaid. |
Make checks payal’)le to Kentucéy A][ie/(j |
Magazine, and mail them to: Kentuc]ey |
Afield Magazine, #1 Sportsman’s Lane, |
l‘ranle{ort KY 40601. 1
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DONATING DEER TO KENTUCKY
HUNTERS FOR THE HUNGRY

HERE’S HOW YOU CAN HELP:

* If you wish to donate a deer, please
take it to one of our cooperating
processors.

* All money for processing is provided

by donated funds.

KENTUCKY

HUNGRY

Targeting Hunger

* Processors may be too swamped
to receive your deer during gun
season, so you may want to call your
processor in advance during gun
season to make sure the processor will

accept your deer.

* KHFH pays the processor an agreed
fee to process each deer. Under no
circumstances should the hunter
be required to pay any part of the

processing fee.

* Off-peak seasons like archery and
muzzle-loading seasons are the best
times to donate.

* Processors cannot accept deer that
have not been cleanly field-dressed,
well cared for and in good condition.

* Processors are vital to the program. Be
sure to show them your gratitude.

* Donations to the program, in the
form of checks, can be mailed to
Kentucky Hunters for the Hungry,
P.O.Box 176, Williamstown, KY
41097, or you can make a donation
through the county clerk’s office when
you renew your vehicle registration
each year.

KENTUCKY HUNTERS FOR THE HUNGRY PROCESSORS

Fairplay Meat Processing

Adair (Restrictions: 20 deer only) (270) 384-4024 | 275 Jacksmith Rd., Fairplay
And Burkhead & Darnell Meat Packers (502) 8393052 1270 Fox Creek Rd., Lawrenceburg

nderson (Restrictions: 10 deer only) ) (Mailing address: 169 Clay Lick Rd., Salvisa)
Boone Harmon Brothers Meats (859) 567-1212 | 425 Ambrose Rd., Warsaw

Opell’s Meat Processing
Boyd White’s Custom Meats
(Restrictions: Pre-skinned deer only)

(606) 928-5094
(606) 325-1188

22515 Bear Creek Rd., Catlettsburg
2004 Sixth St., Ashland

Meyer’s General Store

Bracken (Will also donate deer not picked up) (606) 747-5527 | 7595 Lenoxburg/Willow Rd., Foster
Bullitt Kromenacker Deer Processing (502) 239-1897 | 668 Dawson Hill Rd., Jeffersontown
Campbhell Stacey’s Custom Processing (859) 635-3354 | 9100 Licking Pike, Alexandria
Carroll Wilson Farms Processing (502) 686-0017 | 595 Jackson Ridge Rd., Worthville
Casey Central Kentucky Custom Meats (606) 787-4851 | 6256 Hwy. 1859, Liberty
Carter Stinne.tt’_s I\/It'aats (606) 474-6787 | 2785 State Hwy. 1444, Grayson
(Restrictions: 10 deer only) /
Christian Livingston’s Meat Locker (270) 269-2333 | 8485 Greenville Rd., Hopkinsville
Clark Chandler’s Deer Processing (859) 745-4065 | 1489 Pilot View Rd., Winchester
Clay H & M Butchering (606) 598-8332 | 553 Bowling Branch Rd., Manchester
Crittenden | Family Butcher Shop (270) 965-3191 | 346 Rooster Ln., Marion




Estill Arvin’s Slaughterhouse (606) 723-3525 | 2355 Crooked Creek Rd, Irvine

Fayette Wilson’s Grocery (859) 266-4531 | 1010 Cramer Ave., Lexington

Floyd P&H Packing (606) 358-9801 | 1293 Salyers Branc_h Rd., Hueyville
Slone Meat Co. (606) 886-2889 | P0O. Box 72, Blue River

Grant Fair’s Custom Meat Processing (859) 824-4160 | 6855 Stewardsville Rd., Williamstown
T&K Custom Processing (859) 824-9528 | 1300 Shiloh Rd., Corinth

Graves Cates Slaughterhouse (270) 382-2568 | 7276 St. Rt. 381, Sidelia
Dowdy’s Taxidermy and Deer Processing | (270) 376-5270 | 1461 Baltimore Church Rd., Mayfield

Grayson Ray’s Meat Processing (270) 879-8792 | 181 Ray Rd., Caneyville

Greenup Deer Processing (606) 473-0306 | 9178 State Route 1, Argalite

Harrison Caw .l\/lz?at F.’ackers (859) 234-4121 | 318 West Pearl St., Cynthiana
(Restrictions: 10 deer only) !

Jefferson Mike’s Custom Taxidermy (502) 448-1309 | 4102 Cane Run Rd., Louisville
Answorth Animal Art (859) 359-4868 | 11172 Taylor Mill Rd., Independence

Kenton FFH Processing (859) 356-6020 | 9158 Porter Rd., Ryland Heights
Glier’s Specialty Haus (859) 291-1800 | 533 West 11th St., Covington

Knox Allen Campbell Meat Co. (606) 528-5733 | 6070 N. U.S. Hwy. 25 E, Gray

Marshall Lynn Rudd Processing (270) 898-6296 | 10027 Hwy. 62 E, Calvert City

McCreary Perkins Meat Processing (606) 354-3362 | 503 Leamon-Richmond Rd., Pine Knot

Meade Webb’s Butcher Block (270) 496-4124 | 1910 Rhodelia Rd., Payneville

Menifee Center’s Processing (606) 768-3302 | 871 Dog Trot Rd., Frenchburg

Mercer Mark’s Meats (859) 734-4154 | 1025 Mackville Rd., Harrodsburg

Montgomery | Rebel Acres Processing (859) 744-6966 | 692 White Turley Rd., Mt. Sterling

Nelson Boone’s Butcher Block (502) 348-3668 | 100 Old Bloomfield Pike, Bardstown

Ohio Barnes Deer Processing (270) 274-3065 | 282 Knob Hill Dr., Beaver Dam

Oldham Crestwood IGA (502) 241-9461 | Paul Crask, 952 Woodland Ridge, La Grange

Owen Sid’s Taxidermy (502) 484-3721 | 321 South Main, Owenton

Perry Bubby Combs BP Mart (606) 439-4612 | PO. Box 97, Rt 476, Bulan

Rowan Lisa’s Country Store (606) 783-0195 | 6140 U.S. Hwy. 60 E, Morehead

Scott Hi-View Meats (502) 857-2198 | 6325 Cincinnati Rd., Sadieville

Shelby B&N Food Market (502) 747-8860 | 5945 Elmburg Rd., Bagdad

Spencer F;;sﬂc??cqigi::idle(l)’rEZe%o“ﬁli/a)lt Processing (502) 477-8961 | 2787 Plum Ridge Rd., Taylorsville

Taylor McFarland Custom Meat Processing (270) 465-7627 | 2424 0ld Lebanon Rd., Campbellsville

Trigy Eric Hampton (270) 522-6922 | 735 Delmont Church Rd., Cadiz

Union Jim David Meats (270) 822-4866 | 350 T. Frank Wathen Rd., Uniontown

Webster Yoder’s Custom Butchering (270) 884-3007 | 2810 U.S. Hwy. 41 S, Sebree

Wolfe Halsey’s Meat Processing (606) 668-7313 | 67 Miller Ridge, Pine Ridge

Woodford Moore’s Meat Processing (859) 873-7004 | 380 Crossfield Dr., Versailles
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ABOUT CHRONIC WASTING DISEASE

Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD)
has NOT been found in Kentucky.
However, it has been found in 14 states
and 2 Canadian Provinces. The KDFWR
encourages all hunters to learn the facts
about this disease and take all necessary
precautions when hunting.

WHAT IS CHRONIC WASTING
DISEASE?

Chronic Wasting Disease is a fa-
tal, neurological disease, characterized
by spongy degeneration of the brain.
It affects white-tailed deer, mule deer,
elk, and has recently been confirmed
in moose. CWD belongs to a group of
diseases called Transmissible Spongi-
form Encephalopathies (TSE), which
includes Scrapie in sheep and goats,
Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy
(commonly known as “mad cow” dis-
ease) in cattle, and Creutzfeldt-Jakob
Disease (C]JD) in humans. There is cur-
rently no treatment or vaccine available.
It is suspected that the agent responsible
for causing TSEs is an abnormal protein

called a prion.

WHAT ARE THE SYMPTOMS?
Animals can be infected with CWD
for months or years before outward signs
are evident. However, in the terminal
stages of infection, deer and elk will show
signs of progressive weight loss, excessive
salivation and urination, increased water
intake, and depression. Other noticeable
changes include decreased interaction
with other animals, listlessness, lower-
ing of the head, blank facial expression,
and repetitive walking in set patterns. In
elk, hyper-excitability and nervousness
may be observed. NOTE: These signs are
symptomatic of other more commonly
seen diseases, such as meningeal worm
infections (“brainworm”) in elk and epi-
zootic hemorrhagic disease (EHD or
“bluetongue”) in white-tailed deer.

HOW IS IT TRANSMITTED?
Although the exact method of
transmission is unknown, evidence sug-
gests that CWD is transmitted through
direct animal-to-animal contact (saliva or
blood) and indirectly through environ-
mental contamination (infected carcass-

es). There is evidence that CWD prions
can survive in the environment even after
infected animals have been removed.

CAN IT BE PASSED TO HUMANS
OR LIVESTOCK?

There is no evidence to suggest
that CWD can infect humans, domestic
livestock, or any other animals outside of
the deer family. However, it is suggested
by public health officials that exposure
be avoided while potential health risks
continue to be evaluated.

WHERE HAS CWD BEEN FOUND?

CWD has NOT been detected in
Kentucky. CWD has been found in the
tollowing 14 states and 2 Canadian Prov-
inces: Colorado, Illinois, Kansas, Minne-
sota, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico,
New York, Oklahoma, South Dakota,
Utah, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyo-
ming, Alberta, and Saskatchewan.

IS IT SAFE TO HUNT DEER AND
ELK IN KENTUCKY?

Absolutely. Hunting deer and elk in
Kentucky remain safe activities. How-
ever, certain precautions should always be
taken when handling any animal carcass,
such as wearing latex gloves and not using
household utensils to field dress animals.
If you see an animal that appears sick or is
acting strangely, note the animal’s location

and contact the KDFWR immediately.

WHAT IS THE KDFWR DOING TO
PROTECT KENTUCKY’S DEER
AND ELK HERDS FROM CWD?

We have an intensive statewide
surveillance program, which includes
two types of surveillance approaches: a)
active surveillance of hunter-harvested
deer and elk, and b) targeted surveillance
of roadkills and any deer or elk display-
ing symptoms of disease. Since 2002, the
KDFWR has tested over 12,500 deer
and elk for CWD, all results so far prov-
ing negative. In addition to annual sur-
veillance, regulations ban hunters from
importing brain and spinal tissue from
deer or elk taken in states or provinces
where CWD has been found. Also, im-
portation of live cervids into Kentucky
is strictly prohibited. Our best defense

against CWD is prevention. These mea-
sures will reduce the likelihood of CWD
entering Kentucky. With the help of
hunters, the KDFWR strives to manage
the state’s deer and elk herds at optimal
population levels, decreasing the rate of
transmission of all diseases.

CAN I BRING MEAT AND
ANTLERS FROM ANOTHER STATE
BACK TO KENTUCKY?

Aslong as no part of the brain or spi-
nal column is brought back from a state
or province where CWD has been found
(which includes two of our bordering
states: Illinois and West Virginia). Al-
lowed parts from CWD-infected states
and provinces include: Quarters or other
portions of meat with no part of spinal
column or head attached, boned-out
meat, antlers, antlers attached to a clean
skull plate, a clean skull, clean teeth, hides,
and finished taxidermy products.

OTHER GUIDELINES

Additionally, we encourage hunters
to follow a few common-sense guide-
lines wherever they hunt:
* Know the CWD status of the state in
which you are hunting. If you are un-
sure, contact that state’s fish and wild-
life agency.
Do not harvest any animal that ap-
pears sick or is acting strangely. Note
the animal’s location and contact the
local fish and wildlife department.
* Do not use household utensils for field

dressing or processing wild game.

* Wear latex or rubber gloves when han-
dling any animal carcass.
Bone out meat. Don’t saw through
bone.
Avoid consuming parts where prions
are concentrated: the brain, spinal
cord, lymph glands, tonsils, eyes, and
spleen. (Normal field dressing, along
with boning out the meat, will remove
most, if not all, of these parts. Removal
of fatty tissue will remove remaining
lymph glands.)
Prions are very resistant to disinfec-
tion and sterilization. The best recom-
mendation at this time is to disinfect
butchering equipment with a 50/50
solution of chlorine bleach and water.



246 3/8
Dan U. Miller

Pennyrile State Forest
Non-typical, Gun

KENTUCKY’S
TROPHY BUCKS

Hunters interested in being recognized for
taking a trophy whitetail in Kentucky this sea-
son are encouraged to notify the KDFWR of any
buck taken in Kentucky that officially scores 160
or higher typical, or 185 or higher non-typical in
the Boone & Crockett scoring system. Call the
KDFWR toll-free at 1-800-858-1549 to find a
scorer nearby or to report an official score. Com-
pleted, official score sheets may be sent to the ad-
dress below. Please indicate the method used to
take the trophy buck.

Trophies taken this season will be published
in the next season’s guide. A good, sharp photo of
one of the bucks may also be printed. Submissions
may be sent to: Hunting Guide, #1 Sportsman’s
Lane, Frankfort, KY 40601. Please send a COPY
of your photos and score sheets, as they will not
be returned.

BOONE & CROCKETT TROPHY DEER LIST

Reported from the 2006 season

:m Hunter County Method
246 3/8 | Dan U. Miller Christian Gun
O 202 1/8 | Rick E. Gosser Pulaski Gun
§ 199 2/8 | Dallas Stacy Lawrence Gun
E 197 3/8 | William Bart Bertram | Cumberland | Gun
EI 192 4/8 | Paul Campbell Warren Bow
= 185 5/8 | Matthew Jones Grant Muzzleloader
185 2/8 | Tony Moore Crittenden Bow
180 6/8 | Larry Walters Pike Gun
176 5/8 | Donald Pedigo Madison Gun
176 0/8 | Hulen L. Sanders Grayson Gun
175 1/8 | David Workman Bracken Muzzleloader
170 5/8 | David L. Stevens Lyon Muzzleloader
170 2/8 | Dale May Lewis Gun
169 5/8 | Eddie Manning Pendleton Gun
169 4/8 | Randy Green Christian Bow
168 0/8 | Darrell Armstrong Lewis Gun
167 4/8 | Brad Biddle Bourbon Gun
167 1/8 | Ron Welch Mason Bow
167 1/8 | Mike Riley Logan Bow
165 7/8 | Sam Cox Fayette Gun
165 7/8 | Floyd Bolander Lewis Found
165 3/8 | Brandon Bruin Pendleton Gun
:t' 165 3/8 | Rick L. Pelphrey Trimble Muzzleloader
E 165 1/8 | Charles Taylor Bell Gun
t 165 1/8 | John Wilcox Grayson Gun
165 0/8 | Bobby Thacker Pike Gun
164 7/8 | Mark Thomas Madison | Butler Gun
164 1/8 | Jason Little Bath Gun
163 7/8 | Michael Adams Casey Gun
163 6/8 | Jeff Rich Garrard Gun
163 6/8 | Robert T. Cole Todd Gun
162 6/8 | Danny Sowards Morgan Gun
162 2/8 | Mike Grooms Bourbon Gun
162 2/8 | Bobby Smith Hancock Gun
162 1/8 | Brian Cooper Lewis Muzzleloader
161 7/8 | Donald W. Sullivan Edmonson Gun
161 4/8 | Robert N. Brown Union Gun
160 1/8 | Kenneth Mills Knox Gun
160 1/8 | James G. Klump MclLean Gun
160 0/8 | Bo Hester Hopkins Gun

This list includes deer scored and reported to the KDFWR by May 1.
It is possible unreported bucks taken last year in Kentucky may have

scored 160 typical or 185 non-typical or higher.
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ELK

ELK HUNTING

DATES, RESTRICTIONS AND HOW TO APPLY

Zone At-Large Quota Hunts

Limited Entry Area Quota Hunts

Antlered Antlerless Antlered Antlerless
Firearms Oct. 6-12, 2007 Dec. 8-21, 2007 Oct. 6-12, 2007 Dec. 8-14, 2007
Archer Oct. 6, 2007 - Oct. 13, 2007 -
y Jan. 21, 2008 Jan. 21, 2008
Crosshow Oct. 6-21 and Oct. 13-21 and
Nov. 10 - Dec. 31, 2007 | Nov. 10 - Dec. 31, 2007

Zone At-Large: Only hunters with Zone At-Large quota hunt permits may hunt elk in this area.

Limited Entry Areas: Only hunters with Limited Entry Area quota hunt permits may hunt elk. Not open to Zone At-Large hunters.
Qut-of-Zone: Hunters must follow deer season and equipment regulations to take elk from any county NOT included in the 16-
county elk restoration zone, and must have an Out-of-Zone Elk Permit.

SOME BASICS

For the 2007-08 hunting
season, 300 elk permits will be
awarded. Permits are awarded by
random drawing to those hunters
who apply through the purchase
of a $10 Elk Lottery Application
by July 31, 2007. Beginning in
2008, the application deadline
will be April 30.

Hunting is by permit only,
in both limited entry areas and
on lands within the restoration
zone at-large, that are not part
of a limited entry area. (Limit-
ed entry areas are large blocks
of both public and private lands
established to manage for high-
quality elk.)

\-----------_I

BAG LIMIT

The season bag limit on elk is one
per hunter per season, regardless of
permit type. (Hunters may not take an
elk during a quota elk hunt and also
take an elk out-of-zone during the
same season.)

A legal bull must have at least 4
antler points on one side. (See the
Definitions & Index section for

definitions of antlered and antlerless
elk legal for harvest.)

HUNTER ORANGE REQUIREMENT
Drawn elk hunters and their assis-
tants, or any other person hunting public
or private lands in the elk restoration zone
during firearms elk seasons, must comply
with the hunter orange clothing law.

HOW TO APPLY
& PERMIT REQUIREMENTS
FOR DRAWN HUNTERS

To apply, you must purchase an Elk
Lottery Application before midnight
July 31, 2007. (For 2008 quota hunts,
the deadline is midnight April 30,2008.)
An individual hunter may apply only one
time. Those who apply will not be able
to specify which sex they want to hunt,
or if they want to hunt a limited entry
area or in the Zone At-Large. Hunt-
ers who apply should understand they
may be drawn for either sex, a limited
entry area permit OR a Zone At-Large

permit. Anyone hunting on private land
is responsible for obtaining landowner

permission to hunt.
Kids 15 years old or younger at the

time of application are automatically en-
tered into a special youth quota elk hunt
drawing when they purchase an Elk Lot-
tery Application. Two (2) tags are drawn



Q: How do I apply for a quota
elk hunt?

A: 1. Purchase an Elk Lottery
Application before July 31,
2007. The deadline will be April
30 beginning in 2008. (Available
wherever licenses are sold, online
and by phone.)

2. Check fw.ky.gow or call
1-800-858-1549 after August 20,
2007 (late May, in 2008), to see if
you were drawn.

3. If you are drawn, you will
get a notification letter by mail,
along with information about
where to hunt and who to contact.

N o e e e e e e e e e e e e e e = P
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(one antlered and one antlerless), valid for
use in the elk restoration zone at-large.
'The application process, fee and deadline
are the same as for the regular elk quota
hunts. Those not drawn for the special
youth tags are automatically entered into
the regular elk quota hunt drawing.
Residents and nonresidents are
eligible to apply. Resident hunters
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Be one of the lucky people

selected to hunt Kentucky’s Elk.

it's only*10
Anply Today!

drawn for a quota elk permit are re-
quired to pay a $30 elk hunting fee in
addition to having an annual hunting
license. Non-residents that are drawn
are required to pay a $365 fee and have
an annual Kentucky nonresident hunt-
ing license prior to the hunt. Hunt fees
must be remitted to the KDFWR prior
to the hunt period and before the permit
is issued.

(Additional elk permits are awarded
annually to conservation organizations
that agree to auction the permits to raise
money for elk management.)

CHECKING REQUIREMENT

All elk taken within the restoration
zone must be telechecked, and those
taken on limited entry areas must also be

checked on site by KDFWR personnel.

OTHER REQUIREMENTS

All quota elk hunters must dis-
play a department-issued hang tag in
their vehicles while hunting. The Ken-
tucky hunter education law applies to
elk hunters. Drawn limited entry area
elk hunters are permitted two assistants
during their hunt.

Take a shot at the largest elk herd

in the Eastern u.S.

EQUIPMENT RESTRICTIONS

Hunters may use equipment legal
for deer hunting, with the follow-
ing additional restrictions:

* Handguns must have a barrel
length of at least 6 inches, a
bore diameter of .270 caliber
or greater, and when fired, the
bullet must produce at least
550 ft/lbs of energy at 100
yards.

A person shall not use or possess

while elk hunting:

* A modern firearm of less than
.270 caliber

* A muzzle-loading firearm of
less than .50 caliber

* A shotgun of less than 20-
gauge

* A shotgun shell containing
more than one (1) projectile

* Any arrow without a broadhead
point

INILNAH N13
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WHERE TO HUNT ELK

ZONE-AT-LARGE QUOTA HUNTS

'The following public lands are open
to Zone At-Large firearm and archery
quota elk hunts.

WMAs

Ataya (except portions in Begley
Limited Entry Area), Beaver Creek
(portions in McCreary County), Paints-
ville Lake (portions in Johnson County),
Robinson Forest outlying areas (except
portions in Starfire Limited Entry area),
and all of Big South Fork NRRA, Buck-
horn Lake, Burchell-Beech Creek, Carr
Creek Lake, Cranks Creek, Dewey Lake,
Fishtrap Lake, Hensley-Pine Mountain,
Howard, Kentucky Ridge Forest, Mar-
tins Fork Lake, Martins Fork WMA
and State Natural Area, Redbird, Shil-
lalah and Stone Mountain WMAs.

Other Public Areas

Jefferson National Forest, Kentucky
Ridge State Forest, Kentenia State For-
est, and portions of the Daniel Boone
National Forest not inside the Begley
WMA Limited Entry Area.

Anyone hunting where and when
an open firearm quota elk hunt is going
on must comply with the hunter orange
clothing law.

LIMITED ENTRY AREAS

Begley WMA/Daniel Boone National
Forest Limited Entry Area

Starting at the intersection of
Kentucky Route 2058 and Route 421
near Helton/Manchester, the boundary
proceeds south along Route 421 to the
intersection of Route 421 and Route
221. The boundary then proceeds west
along Route 221 to the intersection of
Route 221 and Route 66. The boundary
then goes north following Route 66 to
the intersection of Route 66 and Route
1850, then east along Route 1850 to the
intersection of Route 1850 and Route
1780 at Warbranch. The boundary then
proceeds south on Route 1780 to the
intersection of Route 2058 near Spruce
Pine, then east on Route 2058 back to
Route 421 at Helton, completing the
boundary.

Starfire Limited Entry Area
Starting at the intersection of Route
1098 and Route 80 near Softshell, the

boundary proceeds west along Route
1098 to the junction of Route 1098 and
Route 15. The boundary then proceeds
south along Route 15 to the junction
of Route 15 and Route 476 near Lost
Creek. The boundary then turns east
along Route 476 to the intersection of
Route 476 and Route 80, then east on
Route 80 to Route 1098 at Softshell,
completing the boundary.

ELK HUNTING OUTSIDE THE
RESTORATION AREA

Kentucky has established a 16-
county restoration zone where elk may
only be taken by hunters who have been
drawn for a quota hunt permit as previ-
ously described.

The elk restoration zone includes
the following 16 counties: Bell, Brea-
thitt, Clay, Floyd, Harlan, Johnson,
Knott, Knox, Leslie, Letcher, Magof-

fin, Martin, McCreary, Perry, Pike and
Whitley.

However, elk may be taken from
any county outside the restoration
zone by hunters who possess an Out-
of-Zone Elk Permit. Out-of Zone
hunters must also be legal deer hunt-
ers, and must follow deer season and

-

Q: What do I have to do to
hunt elk outside the 16-county
restoration zone?

7‘<: 1. You must have an Out-of-
Zone Elk Permit.
2. You must also be a legal
deer hunter.
3. You must follow deer
season and equipment
regulations.

e ——————




equipment regulations.

Elk taken in counties OTHER
THAN THE 16 COUNTIES LIST-
ED ABOVE do not count toward the
deer season limit. The season bag limit
on elk is one per hunter per season, re-

gardless of permit type. (Hunters may
not take an elk during a quota elk hunt
and also take an elk out-of-zone during
the same season.)

Elk taken out-of-zone must be
telechecked. Hunters must call 1-800-

245-4263 and report the kill. (See the
General Information/Telecheck section
for details.) Hunters who fail to properly
report harvested elk taken in counties
outside the restoration zone are subject
to severe fines and other penalties.

IS IT A DEER OR AN ELK?

Kentucky began restoring free-ranging
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elk in 1997, and the herd now numbers Coloring: Tails: long Coloring:
about 6,500 elk inside the 16-county elk black legs and tail with white throat
restoration zone. Limited hunting began in black neck white patch, legs
2001. This year, 300 permits will be issued Tails: underside same color

by random drawing. short tail

Doreer Lawns vs. elk calves

Deer often give birth to twins. Elk
usually give birth to a single calf.

At birth, a whitetail deer fawn usually
weighs seven to eight pounds. An elk
calf can weigh up to 45 pounds.

m ‘N'(';
ELK CALF

Don’t always depend on size to differentiate between
deer and elk. A 5- to 6-month-old elk calf is about the

same size as an adult whitetail doe.

Both whitetail fawns and elk calves
are spotted for the first few months of
life, and are born in May and June.

Antlers: sweep back

Rump:
tan rum . .
e P Coloring: Antlers: Tails: long
P black legs and curve forward tail with
black neck . i
_ Coloring: Wh(;te ”
Tails: legs same underside
short tail

color as body

Coloring:
white throat
patch

Size: 4-5
feet at the

Size: 3-3.5

feet at the
shoulders shoulders (i
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SEASON DATES & RESTRICTIONS

Shotgun Archery

Crosshow

FALL TURKEY

Oct. 27 - Nov. 2 and
Dec. 1-7, 2007

Sept. 1, 2007 - Jan

. 21,2008

Oct. 1-21 and
Nov. 10 - Dec. 31, 2007

BAG LIMITS
Four (4) birds total:

* No more than two (2) birds may be
taken during archery and crossbow
seasons.

* No more than two (2) birds may be
taken during shotgun season, regard-
less of weapon.

* No more than one (1) bird may have
a beard length of three (3) inches or
longer.

* No more than one (1) bird may be
taken per day.

PERMIT REQUIREMENTS

Unless exempt, all fall turkey
hunters must carry a Fall Turkey Per-
mit or have been issued an authoriza-

Q: My child has a Youth
Turkey Permit, but didn’t take a
hird during the spring season. Is
the permit still good for the fall
seasons?

7&: Yes. Youth turkey permits are
valid for an entire license year.

tion number for a Fall Turkey Permit
before hunting. The Fall Turkey Permit
is valid for fall archery, crossbow and
shotgun turkey seasons. The permit is
good for a total of four turkeys, follow-
ing fall turkey bag limits and equip-
ment restrictions.

Youth 15 and under are eligible to
purchase a Youth Turkey Permit, which
is valid during any turkey season for one
turkey. Youth hunters must abide by sea-
son bag limits and harvest restrictions but
can use the youth permit throughout the
license year. The Youth Sportsman’s Li-
cense includes one Youth Turkey Permit.

~
-

Q: What’s included in the new
Fall Turkey Permit?

7&: The new Fall Turkey Permit
allows hunters to take all four birds
allowed during fall turkey seasons

on one permit instead of two. Bag
limits have not changed; you are still
allowed two birds during fall archery
or crosshow seasons, and two birds
during fall shotgun seasons.

Hunters Note:

A person may assist or call turkeys for
another legal hunter. The assistant/caller
does not have to possess a hunting license
or turkey permit, BUT shall not carry any
type of hunting equipment. Only hunters
with a valid license and permit who have
not taken the season bag limit can carry a
shotgun, archery or crossbow equipment
when turkey hunting.

EQUIPMENT RESTRICTIONS

Turkey hunters may not use fire-
arms during archery or crossbow-
only seasons.

On some WMAEs, special equip-
ment restrictions apply, as noted in
the Public Land Hunting section of
this guide.

Q: Can I use archery or cross-
how equipment during shotgun
seasons?

7&2 Yes. However, hunters may only
take two birds during the shotgun
seasons, regardless of weapon.



For information about registering your turkey with the official NWTF records system,

Q%Afbb 80{/./1/ W}uﬁ/l log on to www.nwtf.org or contact National Wild Turkey Federation, Attn: Wild Tur-

key Records, PO. Box 530, Edgefield, SC 29824-0530, telephone: (803) 637-3106.

4 SN 2 S HARVEST RECORDING
FIREARMS/AMMUNITION ARCHERY & CROSSBOW & TAGGING REQUIREMENTS
RESTRICTIONS EQUIPMENT RESTRICTIONS The process and requirements for

recording, checking and tagging har-

vested turkeys is the same as for deer.

Please refer to the General Informa-

tion/Telecheck section for that infor-

mation and an explanation of how to
fill in the hunter harvest log, and car-

Legal

* Longbows, recurve bows,
compound bows and
crossbows (during crossbow
season)

* Broadheads at least 7/8"" wide

* Any draw weight (no minimum)

Legal

Hunters may use the following:

* Modern (breech-loading) and
muzzle-loading shotguns no
larger than 10-gauge and no
smaller than 20-gauge are the
only firearms that can be used or
possessed when hunting turkeys.

* Shotguns used to hunt turkeys

|
1
1
|
1
1
1
1
1
1
1 cass tag when necessary.
1

1

: must be plugged to hold a

1

|

1

1

1

1

1

1

1

1

1

1

|

1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
Illegal 1 POSSESSION/RELEASE
Turkey hunters shall not use or carry: 1 OF LIVE TURKEYS
* Barbed broadheads 1 Because of potential disease prob-
* Broadheads smaller than 7/8” 1 lems and genetic pollution, it is illegal
wide : to possess live wild turkeys. For the
e Arrows with chemical j same reasons, domestic or pen-raised
treatments or attachments 1 turkeys should not be released into the
containing chemicals 1 wild. Due to the potential for spread of
e A crosshow without a working I disease, it is recommended that turkeys
safety device I not be artificially fed. Providing stand-
1 ing corn, wheat or clover patches is a
: much better alternative. See the General
1
1

maximum of three shells (two in
magazine and one in chamber).

Illegal

Turkey hunters shall not use or carry:

e A rifle or handgun

* A shotgun larger than 10-gauge
or smaller than 20-gauge

* Shot larger than number 4
(Shot sizes 4, 5 and 6 are most
effective for turkeys.) these requirements is prohibited Information/Telecheck section of this

* Shotgun slugs for use when turkey hunting. guide for regulations on feeding wildlife
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Raise money for your
conservation project

with a Commission Conservation Permit!

Any incorporated nonprofit wildlife
conservation organization or club can apply
for a Commission Conservation Permit
(Special Permit) in writing by submitting

a conservation project proposal. Awarded
permits can then be sold to raise money for
the project.

The Commission may award up to ten quota
elk hunting permits, ten deer permits, ten
turkey, ten waterfowl and ten trout hunting/
fishing permits each year. Applicants may
apply for one special permit per species.

For application details, visit fw.ky.gov and click on
“Commissioner’s Office.” The deadline is May 1.
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SEASON DATES & RESTRICTIONS

SMALL GAME &

FURBEARERS

All seasons are statewide unless otherwise indicated.

Hunting

Trapping

Rabhit & Quail

Aug. 18 - Nov. 9, Nov. 12,

Squirrel 2007 - Feb. 29, 2008 and
June 7 - 20, 2008
Crow Sept. 1 - Nov. 7, 2007 and

Jan. 4 - Feb. 29, 2008

Wild Hog & Groundhoy

year-round

Nov. 12, 2007 - Feb. 10, 2008, in
the following counties: Allen, Ballard,
Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle,
Christian, Crittenden, Daviess, Fulton,
Graves, Hancock, Henderson, Hick-
man, Hopkins, Livingston, Logan,
Lyon, Marshall, McLean, McCracken,
Muhlenberg, Ohio, Simpson, Todd,
Trigg, Union, Warren and Webster.

Nov. 1-9 and Nov. 12, 2007 - Jan.
31, 2008 in all other counties.

Grouse

Jan. 31, 2008

Bullfro Noon May 18 - Oct. 31, 2007

9 Noon May 16 - Oct. 31, 2008

Falconry Sept. 1, 2007 - Mar. 30, 2008
Coyote ear-round Noon Nov. 12, 2007
y y - noon Feb. 29, 2008
Bohcat Noon Nov. 17, 2007 - Noon Nov. 12, 2007

- Jan. 31, 2008

Raccoon & Opossum

Nov. 1, 2007 - noon Feb. 29,
2008; hunting only at night
during Modern Gun Deer
Season.

Noon Nov. 12, 2007
- noon Feb. 29, 2008

Otter

Noon Nov. 12, 2007 - noon Feb. 29, 2008

Muskrat, Mink, Beaver,
Red Fox, Gray Fox,
Weasel & Striped Skunk

Noon Nov. 12, 2007 - noon Feb. 29, 2008

Free Youth Small Game
Hunting & Trapping
Week

Dec. 29, 2007 - Jan. 4, 2008

Nov. 1-9 and Nov. 12, 2007 - Feb.
29, 2008 in the following counties
only: Adair, Bath, Bell, Boyd, Brack-
en, Breathitt, Campbell, Carter, Clark,
Clay, Clinton, Cumberland, Elliott,
Estill, Fleming, Floyd, Garrard, Gree-
nup, Harlan, Harrison, Jackson, John-
son, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence,
Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Lincoln,
Madison, Magoffin, Martin, Mason,
McCreary, Menifee, Montgomery,
Morgan, Nicholas, Owsley, Pendleton,
Perry, Pike, Powell, Pulaski, Rob-
ertson, Rockcastle, Rowan, Russell,

Wayne, Whitley and Wolfe.




SOME BASICS

Season dates and limits for
the various small game and fur-
bearer species that can be hunted
or trapped in Kentucky are listed in
this section.

ALL hunters are required to
abide by the hunter orange clothing
law when it applies. Be sure you are
aware of ALL deer or elk firearms
hunting season dates. During periods
when multiple hunting seasons are
open at the same time, hunters must
abide by the equipment restrictions
in effect for the type of hunting they
engage in.

FREE YOUTH HUNTING
& TRAPPING WEEK
For one week beginning the

Rabhit & Quail Seasons

Nov. 12, 2007 - Feb. 10, 2008
in shaded counties.

Nov. 1-9 and Nov. 12, 2007 -
Jan. 31, 2008 in all other
counties.

Grouse Season

Nov. 1-9 and Nov. 12, 2007 -

Feb. 29, 2008 in the shaded
counties only.

Grouse hunting is also allowed on
Pennyrile-Tradewater WMA and Ft.
Knox during the month of December,
except during quota deer hunts.

Saturday after Christmas Day, youth
hunters and trappers ages 15 and
under are permitted to hunt and trap
small game and furbearers without

a hunting or trapping license. (Since
youth hunters are also permitted to
hunt deer with a firearm on the Satur-
day and Sunday following Christmas
Day, the hunter orange clothing law
applies these two days for ALL hunt-
ers.) Statewide equipment require-
ments and bag limits for small game
and furbearer hunting and trapping
remain in effect. Hunter education

is not required for license-exempt
hunters; however, it is strongly recom-
mended. Adults accompanying youth
hunters/trappers during the Free Youth
Hunting & Trapping Week do not have

The following animals are con-
sidered small game: squirrels, rabbits,
northern bobwhite (quail) and grouse.
However, these species may have differ-
ent hunting seasons as listed in the sea-
son dates table.

EQUIPMENT RESTRICTIONS

See box at right. Also, on some
WMAs, special equipment restric-
tions apply, as noted in the Public Land
Hunting section of this guide.

BAG LIMITS

* Squirrel: Daily limit is 6; possession
limit is 12.

* Rabbit: Daily limit is 4; possession
limit is 8.

* Quail: Daily limit is 8; possession limit
is 16.

* Grouse: Daily limit is 4; possession
limit is 8.

4 AY

Q: Can I use a centerfire gun
to take small game?

legal for small game hunting. You
must use only the equipment listed
under “‘Legal” at right.

|
1
1
1
1
: 7&: No. Centerfire guns are not
1
1
1
1
1

to have a hunting/trapping license if
the adult is not hunting/trapping.

Chleck Gunst!

Hunters who intend to hunt on

a Wildlife Management Area
(WMA), or any other public
hunting area, should ALWAYS
CHECK the season dates and
special requirements for the area
they intend to hunt. Season dates
on public land may not he the
same as the statewide seasons.
See the Public Land Hunting
section for individual area listings.

SMALL GAME
EQUIPMENT RESTRICTIONS

Legal

Hunters shall use any of the
following to take small game:
* Rimfire gun

* Shotguns no larger than 10-gauge
* Muzzle-loading gun

e .22 caliber handgun

* Bow and arrow

* Crosshow

e .22 caliber or larger airgun
* Dogs

e Falconry

Shotguns used to hunt small

game must be plugged to hold a
maximum of three shells (two in
magazine and one in chamber).

Illegal

Small game hunters shall not possess:

* A shotshell containing larger
than number 2 size shot

* Single-projectile shotgun
ammunition, except during the
modern gun deer season as a
legal deer hunter

Hunting these species with
slingshots is prohibited.
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RESTRICTIONS FOR FURBEARER SEASONS

The following animals are consid-
ered furbearers: mink, muskrat, beaver,
raccoon, opossum, gray fox, red fox, wea-
sel, river otter, bobcat, coyote and striped
skunk. However, these species may have
different hunting or trapping seasons as
listed in the season dates table.

EQUIPMENT RESTRICTIONS

See box below. Also, on some
WMAs, special equipment restric-
tions apply, as noted in the Public Land
Hunting section of this guide.

FURBEARER EQUIPMENT
RESTRICTIONS

Legal

Furbearer hunters may use the

following to take furbearers:

* Muzzle-loading or modern rifles
or handguns of any caliber

¢ Shotguns no larger than 10-gauge

e Archery or crossbow equipment

* Dogs

e Falconry

Shotguns used to hunt furbearers
must be plugged to hold a
maximum of three shells (two in
magazine and one in chamber).

Illegal

The following is prohibited:

* Hunting these species with
slingshots

* Using or carrying buckshot
when hunting these species

RIVER OTTER
Otters may be taken statewide and
the season limit is six (6) otters per person.

BOBCAT HUNTING & TRAPPING
Bobcats may be taken statewide

and the season limit is five (5) bobcats

per person. Only three (3) may be taken

with a gun.

Legal Taking Methods

Bobcats and otters may be taken
by hunting during daylight hours or
by trapping. The appropriate hunting
or trapping license is required. Hunters
may use hand- or mouth-operated calls,
electronic calls, or attracting devices.
Harvested bobcats and otters must be

telechecked by calling 1-800-245-4263
by midnight of the day the animal is re-
covered. (This is the same checking sys-
tem as for deer, elk and turkeys).

A hunter or trapper who wants to
have a bobcat or otter mounted shall pro-
vide his or her Telecheck confirmation
number to the taxidermist. Taxidermists
cannot legally accept an unchecked otter
or bobcat for mounting.

Hunters or trappers who intend
to sell the raw fur of an otter or bobcat
must call 1-800-858-1549 or go online
to fw.ky.gov, provide their Telecheck
confirmation number and request a
CITES tag. The CITES tag shall be at-
tached to and remain with the pelt until
it is processed. Possession of an unused
bobcat or otter CITES tag is prohib-
ited, unless expressly authorized by the
KDFWR.

Bobcat hunting and trapping is also
permitted at Land Between the Lakes
(LBL) National Recreation Area. (See
page 57 for contact information.)

RACCOON & OPOSSUM
HUNTING SEASON

During modern gun deer season
raccoon and opossum hunters may not
hunt during daylight hours or carry
guns other than .22-caliber rimfire while
hunting at night. Night hunting on Fri-
day, Nov. 9 shall conclude by %2-hour be-
fore sunrise on Saturday, Nov. 10, 2007,
which is when shooting hours for mod-
ern gun deer season open. No bag limit.

RACCOON & OPOSSUM
TRAPPING SEASON

No bag limit. Raccoons and opos-
sums may not be taken with the aid of
lights from a boat except by trapping.

MINK, MUSKRAT, BEAVER,
RED FOX, GRAY FOX, WEASEL
& STRIPED SKUNK

These species may be taken by
hunting or trapping during this season.
No bag limits.

COYOTE HUNTING

The hunting season on coyotes is
open statewide and year-round with no
bag limit. The appropriate hunting li-

cense is required, unless exempt.

COYOTE TRAPPING SEASON

Trapping coyotes is permitted only
during the furbearer season. The appro-
priate trapping license is required, un-
less exempt.

-

Q: Can I hunt coyotes at night?

can be taken at night are raccoons
and opossums.

’
[}
1
1
1
] 7£<: No. The only furbearers that
:
[}
\

~

BUYING AND SELLING
FURS & HIDES

There is no time restriction on the
holding of raw furs of furbearers by a
trapper or hunter after the close of fur-
bearer season. Raw furs (including hides
from legally harvested deer) may be sold
only to licensed taxidermists, licensed
fur buyers or licensed fur processors.
Wildlife carcasses (except certain species
produced by licensed propagators) may
not be bought or sold. Inedible parts of
wildlife (including the hooves or other
inedible parts of legally taken deer) and
wildlife mounts may be sold to or pur-
chased from licensed taxidermists only.

Spotted skunks are protected year-
round and may not be taken or possessed.

LEGAL TRAPPING EQUIPMENT
& RUNNING THE TRAP LINE

The following equipment is per-
mitted for dry-land sets: Deadfalls,
wire cages or box traps, foothold traps
with a maximum inside jaw spread of
six (6) inches measured perpendicular
to the hinges, body-gripping traps with
a maximum inside jaw spread of seven
and one-half (7.5) inches measured par-
allel with the trigger, and non-locking
snares.

Trappers may use lights from boats
or vehicles. All traps must bear a metal tag
giving the name and address of the trap-
per. Any trap found without a tag can be
immediately confiscated by the KDFWR
without a court order. Landowner per-
mission is required for trapping.

All traps must be visited at least once
every 24 hours and all animals removed.
Traps set on land must be at least 10 feet
apart and not set in trails/paths commonly
used by humans or domestic animals.



FALCONRY SEASON

The limit for this hunting method
is two (2) of any small game or furbearer
species per falconer per day, except dur-
ing the regular hunting season when the
limits are the same as for other methods.
Falconers must possess a falconry per-
mit, as well as a valid Kentucky hunting

license, and obey all applicable state and
federal laws.

CROW SEASON

'There is no daily or possession limit
on Crows.

Crows observed committing or
about to commit acts of depredation
may be taken year-round; however, per-
sons attempting to take depredating
crows shall not use blinds, decoys, calls
or other lures to attract birds into shoot-
ing range during the closed season.

BULLFROG SEASON

The daily limit (noon to noon) is
15; possession limit is 30.

If frogs are taken by gun or bow
and arrow, a hunting license is required.

Apother
great

fishing trip

is_just a
click away.

/ﬂa?';; Mﬁ,é/ Wm

If taken by pole and line, a fishing license
is required. If frogs are taken by gig or by
hand, either a hunting or fishing license
is valid. It is illegal to possess a gig on a
stream or lake, or in a boat, from No-
vember 1 through January 31.

WILD HOG & GROUNDHOG
HUNTING

'The hunting season on wild hogs and
groundhogs is open statewide and
year-round with no bag limit. The
appropriate hunting license is required,
unless exempt. Hog hunters in the

Big South Fork National River and
Recreation Area must have a permit.

EXOTIC SPECIES OPEN TO
YEAR-ROUND HUNTING

(Including  English  sparrows,
starlings, Eurasian collared doves and
NON-native cervid and NON-domes-
ticated bovid species)

Except as stated here, no person shall
take any other wildlife species except dur-
ing an open season for that species.

Persons may hunt exotic wildlife

(except pheasants released during KD-
FWR pheasant quota hunts), including
English sparrows, starlings, Eurasian
collared doves, free-ranging NON-na-
tive cervid species (except for fallow deer
on Land Between the Lakes National
Recreation Area) or NON-domesti-
cated bovid species without a hunting
license year-round. NON-native cer-
vids include any deer species EXCEPT
whitetails and elk. NON-domesticated
bovids include any type of NON-do-
mesticated sheep, antelope, goat, buftalo
or other exotic hoofed species. There is
no bag limit or checking requirement on
these species.

All birds of prey, songbirds, spotted
skunks, black bears and threatened or
endangered species are strictly protected
at all times under state and federal laws.

All species of mice, moles, rats,
shrews and terrestrial invertebrates (ex-
cept threatened or endangered species)
are unprotected species and may be taken
year-round without a hunting license.

Did you know you can buy your Kentucky
fishing license online? Just go to fw.ky.gov'!
You can also get one at your local license

vendor or by calling |-877-598-240..
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CALLING ALL HUNTERS & TRAPPERS!

HOW SMALL GAME HUNTERS
CAN HELP

To effectively manage Kentucky’s
wildlife, the KDFWR conducts a vari-
ety of surveys with hunters and trappers
about their pursuits and observations of
wildlife. You can greatly assist this effort
by participating in these surveys. The
samples and information you provide are
essential for determining the size, trends
and health of game populations. Survey
forms are available from the KDFWR.

Small game hunters can help gather
information about various types of wild-
life using the report forms on our web-
site at _fw.ky.gov/smallgamelogs.asp. All
hunting log cooperators will receive an
annual report and FREE hunting cap.
Another way small game hunters can
help is by obtaining pre-addressed sur-
vey envelopes and sending in one wing

from each bobwhite quail and one wing
and rump feathers from each grouse they
take. Pre-addressed wing envelopes are
available from Conservation Officers or
by calling 1-800-858-1549. Please fol-
low the directions closely on the enve-
lopes because they differ between quail
and grouse.

HOW FURBEARER HUNTERS
& TRAPPERS CAN HELP

The KDFWR is working in coop-
eration with the U.S. Department of
Agriculture (USDA) to stop the west-
ward spread of raccoon rabies into Ken-
tucky. The KDFWR is asking hunters
and trappers to donate heads (skinned
or not) of raccoons, foxes, coyotes, and

skunks taken in the following counties:
Bell, Boyd, Bracken, Carter, Clay, EI-

Hunting logs help us monitor

population trends for rabbit,

quail, grouse, and squirrels.

Your input is important!

o to fw.ky.gov/smallgamelogs.asp
or call 1-800-858-1549 to get a

survey and instructions.

liott, Fleming, Floyd, Greenup, Har-
lan, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Lawrence,
Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Martin, Ma-
son, McCreary, Morgan, Perry, Pike,
Robertson, and Whitley.

To donate a head for testing, please
place it in a sealed plastic bag and label
it with the following: your name, address,
phone number, species of animal, sex and
age if known, county of kill, date col-
lected, and a brief description of the spe-
cific location where it was collected (farm
name, creek name, address, intersection,
GPS location, etc.). Keep the head frozen
and call 1-800-852-0942, extension 469
to arrange for the heads to be picked up.
The KDFWR thanks you for doing your
part to maintain the health of Kentucky’s
furbearer populations!
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QUOTA HUNTS FOR DEER

1-877-598-2401

During the month of September
only, hunters may call toll-free

to apply for Deer, Pheasant

& Waterfowl Quota Hunts.
Applications for all three types of
quota hunts can be made at the
same time. Hunters should tell the
operator they want to apply for a
Kentucky quota hunt when calling.

GENERAL INFORMATION

Any resident or nonresident hunt-
er may apply for a Deer Quota Hunt.
Only the person(s) successfully drawn
for quota hunts may hunt. SUBSTI-
TUTIONS ARE NOT ALLOWED.
Before you apply, it is best to review
the Hunt Choices chart and Special
Instructions for Quota Deer Hunts for
hunt dates and other important details
about particular hunts.

Any legal deer hunting equipment

is permitted during a quota hunt unless
otherwise stated in the Special Instruc-
tions section. During hunts where fire-
arms are permitted, hunters must comply
with Kentucky’s Hunter Orange Cloth-
ing law.

Hunters may take two deer on quota
hunts, only one of which may be antlered,
unless otherwise stated under the Special
Instructions for Quota Deer Hunts.

On hunts where an antler spread
limit is in effect, hunters who take bucks
under the 15-inch minimum outside
spread limit will be ineligible to apply for
a quota hunt the following season, and
are subject to citation and having their
deer confiscated. (See graphic on page
41.) Harvested deer must be recorded
and reported for each hunt as noted in
the Special Instructions section.

Statewide licensing requirements
apply to quota hunters. A hunter who
has a Bonus WMA Quota Hunt Deer
Permit does not have to count deer taken
on a quota hunt as part of his or her sea-
son limit. A Bonus WMA Quota Hunt
Deer Permit is only valid if a statewide
deer permit has already been pur-
chased, and when used during a WMA
or State Park Quota Hunt, or during
the West Kentucky WMA Open Gun

Hunt or Grayson Lake WMA Open
Youth Deer Hunt.

During all quota hunts, the West
Kentucky WMA Open Gun Deer
Hunt (Dec. 1-2), and the Grayson Lake
WMA Open Youth Deer Hunt (Nov.
3-4), only persons participating in these
hunts will be allowed to enter a WMA,
except to use established public roads
or areas designated open by signs. Wa-
terfowl hunting may be posted open on
some areas.

Hunters are required to get per-
mission from private landowners before
crossing private property to access any
quota hunt area or to retrieve downed
deer from private property. Quota hunt-
ers are expected to abide by the General
User Guidelines for WMAs provided in
this guide. Respect the property rights
of adjacent landowners and do not tres-
pass. Scouting and set-up of portable
tree stands is permitted prior to hunts
any time these areas are open. Portable
tree stands and climbing devices that do
not injure trees may be used. On state
park lands, firearms or bows may not be
carried afield while scouting or setting
up tree stands before the hunt.

The KDFWR handles the appli-

cation and random drawing selection
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only for the WMAs it owns or operates.
Drawings for quota hunts on areas not
owned or operated by the department are
conducted by the governing agencies of
those lands. To apply for hunts on these
areas, contact them directly. Numbers for
other hunting areas are provided at the
end of the Public Land Hunting section
of this guide.

Owners of private inholdings (pri-
vate property completely surrounded by
WMA lands) or their guests may travel
within the owner’s lands, but may not en-
ter the WMA except as described above.

Hunt area maps and quota hunt in-
formation will be available when hunt-
ers check in for quota hunts. Maps and
information about WMA quota hunts
are also available in advance through
the KDFWR website at fw.ky.gov or by
calling 1-800-858-1549. Check station
locations are shown on these maps. Spe-
cific requirements for those drawn for
quota hunts appear later under Special
Instructions for Quota Deer Hunts.

MOBILITY-IMPAIRED
QUOTA HUNTS

Persons with one of the following
physical conditions are eligible to apply
for a mobility-impaired quota hunt at

Green River Lake WMA, Jenny Wiley

State Resort Park, Taylorsville Lake

State Park or Zilpo-Twin Knobs Camp-

ground. At check in, drawn hunters

must show a WMA Mobility-Impaired

Access Permit, available in advance of

the hunt date from the KDFWR.

* Has permanent paralysis of at least one
(1) leg;

* Has at least one (1) foot amputated;

* Is permanently confined to a wheel-
chair or must use crutches or a walker
as a means of support to pursue daily
activities;

* Is restricted by a lung disease to such
an extent that the person’s forced re-
spiratory expiratory volume for one (1)
second, when measured by spirometry,
is less than one (1) liter, or the arterial
oxygen tension is less than sixty (60)
mm/Hg on room air at rest;

* Requires portable oxygen;

* Has a cardiac condition to the extent
that the person’s functional limitations
are classified in severity as Class 3 or
Class 4 according to standards set by
the American Heart Association; or

* Has a diagnosed disease which creates
severe mobility impairment.

APPLICATION DIRECTIONS

Hunters may call and apply one
time for a quota deer hunt. Applicants
will be given the option to pick a first
and second hunt choice, but may be
drawn to participate in only one quota
hunt. The non-refundable fee is $3 per
hunter to apply. Each hunter that applies
correctly, but isn'’t selected, will receive a
preference point that increases the odds
of being drawn next year (assuming the
hunter applies the following year). Un-
selected hunters who do not apply the
following year will lose all previously
credited preference points. Applicants
are selected based on individual prefer-
ence points. Up to five people can ap-
ply together with one call. If any one of
the group’s Social Security numbers is
drawn, the others in the group are auto-
matically drawn, too.

~
-

1

! Q: What happens to my
preference points if I don’t apply
one year?

: A: Hunters lose all previously
credited preference points if they
do not apply. You must apply each
year to continue building preference
points.

1
1
1
1
1
1
\

~

~
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1 Q,: If I am drawn for my
second hunt choice, do I keep my
preference points?

E A: No. When a hunter is drawn
1 for a quota hunt, he or she loses

: all previously credited preference
| points, even if drawn for their
1
\

second hunt choice.

~

CHECK-IN INSTRUCTIONS FOR

QUOTA DEER HUNTERS

1. All quota deer hunters must check
in before they hunt and out when
finished hunting, the bag limit is
reached, or when the hunt period
concludes, and check deer daily
at the designated check station,
except quota hunters on the Dale
Hollow Lake State Resort Park
Quota Hunt and Green River Lake
State Park Archery/Crossbow-
Only Quota Hunts.

2. At check-in, quota deer hunters
must show the following:

Watch the clock

Check-in and check-out times for
WMA quota hunts are:

* Day hefore hunt: Noon - 8 p.m.
local time

* Hunt days: 5:30 a.m. — 8 p.m.
Eastern, 4:30 a.m. — 7 p.m.
Central, depending on location of
the WMA. (Green River WMA is
considered in the Eastern Time
Zone)

a. Their Social Security number or
hunt confirmation number

b. A valid Kentucky hunting license
(except those on military furlough
of more than 3 days who shall pres-
ent their military identification and
furlough verification papers)

c. A statewide deer permit (a youth
may show a youth deer permit;
military personnel on leave of more
than 3 days must show identifica-
tion and papers as above)

d. A hunter education card or tempo-
rary hunter education exemption
permit if required under the Ken-
tucky Hunter Education Law.

. If a quota hunter has already taken

two deer with the statewide deer per-
mit, he or she must have either a valid
Bonus WMA Quota Hunt Deer Per-
mit or a Bonus Antlerless-only Deer
Permit in possession while hunting.

. Persons checking in for a mobil-

ity-impaired hunt must present a
KDFWR-issued WMA Mobility-
Impaired Access Permit, obtained
prior to the hunt.

. Landowner license exemptions do not

apply when on a quota hunt.

. Hunters who fail to check-out, when

required, or violate other hunt require-
ments will be blocked from applying
for any quota deer hunt next year.

Tao bucks?

Hunters who want to take an ant-
lered deer (where permitted) during
a quota hunt, and have already taken
an antlered deer previously during
the season, must possess a Bonus
WMA Quota Hunt Deer Permit.



SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS FOR QUOTA DEER HUNTS

Unless otherwise stated below,

hunters may take up to two (2) deer

(only one of which may be antlered)

during a quota hunt.

BALLARD, BEAVER CREEK,

FISHTRAP LAKE, GREEN RIVER

LAKE, GREEN RIVER LAKE MO-

BILITY-IMPAIRED, GREEN RIVER

LAKE STATE PARK, JENNY WILEY

STATE PARK, MILL CREEK,

PAINTSVILLE LAKE, PENNYRILE

STATE FOREST-TRADEWATER

AND WEST KY QUOTA HUNTS

* Hunters participating in the Ballard,
Beaver Creek, Green River Lake,
Green River Lake Mobility-Impaired,
Green River Lake State Park, Jenny
Wiley State Park, Paintsville Lake,
Pennyrile-Tradewater and West Ky
quota hunts CAN NOT TAKE an
antlered deer with an outside antler
spread of less than 15 inches.

* The Green River Lake WMA Mobil-
ity-Impaired Quota Hunt is limited to
persons who are mobility-impaired and
meet the eligibility requirements as pre-
viously outlined. (Mobility-Impaired
Access Permit required at check-in.)
Drawn hunters may be accompanied
by another person but that person will
NOT be permitted to hunt.

¢ The limit for hunts on Beaver Creek,
Fishtrap Lake and Mill Creek WMAs

is one deer of either sex per hunter.

BARREN RIVER LAKE, DALE HOL-

LOW LAKE, GREEN RIVER LAKE

(STATE PARK), GREENBO LAKE,

JENNY WILEY, LAKE BARKLEY,

AND TAYLORSVILLE LAKE STATE

PARK QUOTA HUNTS

* The Taylorsville Lake State Park
Quota Hunt on Dec. 1-2, and the
Jenny Wiley State Park Quota Hunt,
are limited to persons who are mobil-
ity-impaired and meet the eligibility
requirements as previously outlined.
(Mobility-Impaired Access Permit
required at check-in.) Drawn hunt-
ers may be accompanied by another
person, but that person will NOT be
permitted to hunt.

* To spread hunting pressure over these
parks, and to make getting harvested
deer out of the woods easier, hunters
are encouraged to use boats to access

15”7 ANTLER SPREAD

When judging size in the field,
remember the guideline that you
can't shoot a buck on a Quality Deer
Management (QDM) area UNLESS
it has an outside antler spread that
is wider than its ears (at least 15
inches). If the outside spread doesn't
extend beyond both ears, let it walk.

more remote portions of the hunt ar-
eas. State park boat ramps will be open
for use during quota hunts.

Areas within these parks that are off
limits to hunting (such as lodges,
campgrounds, employees’ residences,
maintenance compounds, ranger sta-
tions, water treatment plants, picnic
areas and marinas/boat ramps) are
marked with signs and/or flagging
tape or as indicated on hunt maps.
Additionally, there is to be no hunt-
ing within 100 yards of a maintained
road or building. Hunters must also
have their firearms unloaded and cased
when not in legal hunting areas.
Hunters drawn to hunt in the Dale
Hollow Lake State Park Quota Hunt
and Green River Lake State Park Ar-
chery/Crossbow Quota Hunts do not
have to check in or out, but shall tele-
check any harvested deer as required
by statewide regulations.

Portable stands and tree climbers may
be placed in trees no earlier than 24
hours before the start of the hunt, and
must be removed within 24 hours of its

conclusion. Tree stands must not be left
unattended for more than 24 hours.

GRAYSON LAKE WMA OPEN
YOUTH, WEST KENTUCKY WMA
QUOTA AND OPEN HUNTS, AND
ZILPO-TWIN KNOBS CAMP-
GROUNDS QUOTA DEER HUNTS

* The designated scouting day for the
Grayson Lake Open Youth Hunt is the
Friday preceding the hunt. On this day,
vehicles will be permitted within the
hunt area between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m.
for youths (and their accompanying
adults) registered for the hunt. Depart-
ment personnel will be available at the
check station 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. to an-
swer questions and provide additional
information. Scouting is permitted on
other days prior to the hunt, but access
will be by walk-in or boat only.

* On West Kentucky WMA, Tracts 1, 2,
3,4,5 and 6 are the only areas quota
and open gun hunters are allowed to
deer hunt. Shotguns used with slugs
or muzzleloaders are the only firearms
permitted for deer hunting anywhere
on this area.

* The Zilpo-Twin Knobs Campgrounds
quota huntislimited to persons thatare
mobility-impaired and who meet the
eligibility requirements as described
previously. (Mobility-Impaired Access
Permit required at check-in). Check-
in will be upon hunter arrival the day
of the hunt from 5:30 a.m. until close
of the legal hunting time. Each hunter
can be accompanied by one individual
who may not hunt, but may assist the
hunter with retrieval and field dress-
ing of downed deer, etc. Hunters will
be assigned randomly to one camp-
ground or the other. After October 8,
hunters can find out about their as-
signment by calling the KDFWR and
providing their confirmation number
to the operator. Assignments are final.
All hunters will be escorted to des-
ignated stand locations from which
they will be required to hunt. Hunting
can only be done from these locations
unless otherwise informed by hunt
management personnel. Hunter stand
locations will be assigned by random
drawing at check-in. Vehicular access
to the campgrounds for scouting prior
to the hunt is not permitted.
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2007-08 DEER QUOTA HUNT CHOICES

Mobility-Impaired*

. # of o tI!at Hunt Remarks
Hunt Choices Dates applied )
Slots | . (All Quota Hunts are for either sex deer)
in 2006
Bucks must have a minimum outside antler spread
1 | Ballard Nov. 3-4 150 989 of 15”. (Hunters may take either sex deer.)
2 | Barren River Lake State Park Dec. 26-27 50 233
Limit 1 during quota hunt.
3 | Beaver Creek Nov. 3-4 450 567 Bucks must have a minimum outside antler spread
of 15”.
4 | Clay Nov. 3-4 165 868
5 | Dale Hollow Lake State Park Dec. 25-28 75 305 No check in or out. Must telecheck deer taken.
6 | Fishtrap Lake Nov. 17-18 200 482 Limit 1 during quota hunt.
7 | Greenbo Lake State Park Jan. 8-9 120 241
8 | Green River Lake Nov. 3-4 400 1279 ?fuiléimUSt have a minimum outside antler spread
. Open only to persons who are mobility-impaired.
9 Gree.n.Rwer Le.“(e Nov. 3-4 15 N/A Bucks must have a miminum outside antler spread
Mobility-Impaired* P
of 15”.
Archery/Crossbhow only. No check in or out. Must
10 | Green River Lake State Park #1 | Dec. 13-16 55 236 telecheck deer taken. Bucks must have a minimum
outside antler spread of 15”.
Archery/Crosshow only. No check in or out. Must
11 | Green River Lake State Park #2 | Dec. 20-23 55 112 telecheck deer taken. Bucks must have a minimum
outside antler spread of 15”.
. Muzzleloader only. Open only to persons who are
12 "I{/TQEI}/“YVI}?;/ Sa??;g*Park Jan. 5-6 10 N/A mobility-impaired. Bucks must have a minimum
y-imp outside antler spread of 15”.
13 | Kleber & Rich #1 Nov. 3-4 175 860
14 | Kleber & Rich #2 Dec. 1-2 175 347
15 | Lake Barkley State Park Jan. 8-9 75 239
16 | Mill Creek Nov. 3-4 350 518 Limit 1 during quota hunt.
17 | Paintsville Lake Nov. 3-4 300 708 ?fu;l;imust have a minimum outside antler spread
18 | Pennyrile-Tradewater Nov. 3-4 300 916 (I?fu;:l;must have a minimum outside antler spread
19 | Taylorsville Lake WMA #1 Nov. 3-4 275 1535
20 | Taylorsville Lake WMA #2 Dec. 1-2 275 599
21 | Taylorsville Lake WMA #3 Jan. 5-6 275 333
22 | Taylorsville Lake State Park Nov. 3-4 25 353
Taylorsville Lake State Park e .
23 Mobility-Impaired* Dec. 1-2 25 49 Open only to persons who are mobility-impaired.
24 | West KY Nov. 17-18 300 188 Sho.tg'un and ML!zzIeIoader only. Bucksl[nust have
a minimum outside antler spread of 15”.
25 Zilpo-Twin Knobs Dec. 8 30 43 Open only to persons who are mobility-impaired.

*Only hunters who are mobility-impaired as described on page 40 can apply and be drawn for this hunt.

Note: There is no longer a Ballard Youth, Higginson-Henry or Yellowbank Mentor Quota Hunt. Ballard WMA is now open to
the October Youth Firearms Season. Higginson-Henry and Yellowbank WM As are now open to both the October Youth Firearms
Season and the December Free Youth Deer Hunting Weekend.




WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW TO CALL & APPLY
for Deer & Pheasant Quota Hunts

There are no mail-in applications. You
MUST APPLY BY PHONE from
September 1-30 only. The following

instructions and worksheets are a guide

to save you time when you call.

1. Have the Social Security number for

each hunter in your party. Up to five
may apply as a group.

2. Choose the hunt(s) you wish to
apply for (see the Deer Quota Hunt
Choices chart and Pheasant Quota
Hunts section for details).

1. Social Security numbers for my group:

3. Have one of the following payment
methods ready before you call: Visa,
Mastercard, Discover, debit card or
e-check. Only one e-check will be
accepted for group applications.

4. Call toll-free 1-877-598-2401 from
any touch-tone telephone.

5. Provide the information requested
by the operator. At the end of the
call you will be given a confirmation
number. Write this number down.
You will need it later to find out if
you were selected to hunt.

QUOTA HUNT APPLICATION WORKSHEET

DEER QUOTA HUNTS

6. After October 5, log on to fw.ky.gov
to find out if you were drawn for any
type of quota hunt. Hunters who
confirm being drawn on-line may
print that confirmation as proof of
applying successfully. Applicants
may also call the KDFWR week-
days 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Eastern at
1-800-858-1549 after October 8
and provide either their confirma-
tion number or Social Security
number.

1st Hunt #

2. Select up to two hunts ($3 total per hunter) from the Deer Quota Hunt Choices chart:

2nd Hunt #

3. My payment method:

Confirmation number:

1. Social Security numbers for my group:

PHEASANT QUOTA HUNTS

from the hunts below.

Green River #1 (Nov. 16)
Green River #2 (Nov. 17)
Green River #3 (Nov. 18)

3. My payment method:

2. Select a first, second and third choice ($3 total per hunter), or you may apply for any available date

Clay #1 (Dec. 7)
Clay #2 (Dec. 8)
Clay #3 (Dec. 9)

Confirmation number:

CALL 1-877-598-2401. DO NOT MAIL THIS WORKSHEET!
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PHEASANT, WATERFOWL & DOVE QUOTA HUNTS

PHEASANT

Quota pheasant hunts are offered at
Green River Lake WMA (100 hunters
per hunt) on Nov. 16, 17 and 18, 2007,
and at Clay WMA (70 hunters per hunt)
Dec. 7,8 and 9, 2007. Advance applica-
tion by phone is required.

Each day’s quota hunt will begin at
9 a.m. and conclude at 4 p.m. Eastern
time. Equipment legal for hunting other
small game species is permitted during
these hunts. Dogs are permitted. The
daily bag (hunt) limit is two birds of ei-
ther sex per hunter and wearing hunter
orange as defined in Kentucky’s hunter
orange clothing law is required.

Rabbit, quail and squirrel hunt-
ing is closed on Green River Lake
WMA Nov. 16-19,2007. Rabbit, quail,
squirrel and grouse hunting is closed
on Clay WMA Dec. 7-10, 2007. Only
hunters with a pheasant quota hunt per-
mit may take pheasants during the quota
hunt, or on the day following the last
quota hunt day.

APPLICATION DIRECTIONS

An individual can apply only one
time for a pheasant quota hunt. Hunt-
ers will only be drawn for one hunt day.
Up to five people may apply as a group
for a single hunt. Social Security num-
bers for each applicant are required. The
hunter who calls in the application will
be responsible for paying $3 per Social
Security number entered. Application
fees are nonrefundable. Applicants will
be given a first, second and third choice
of hunt dates, or any available.

Hunters under 16 years old who ap-
ply for a pheasant hunt must do so as part
of a party that includes at least one adult.

REQUIREMENTS FOR DRAWN
QUOTA PHEASANT HUNTERS
* All quota pheasant hunters must carry
while hunting:
1. A valid pheasant quota hunt permit
2. Proof of a valid Kentucky hunting
license
3. Form of identification
4. A hunter education card or tem-
porary hunter education exemp-
tion permit if required under the

Kentucky hunter education law.

* Hunters shall wear hunter orange cloth-
ing as defined in Kentucky’s hunter
orange clothing law on all hunts.

*'Those drawn for a quota pheasant hunt
will be required to:

1. Purchase a $25 pheasant permit

2. Send in a self-addressed stamped
envelope AND the pheasant hunt
permit fee payment by check or
money order to: KDFWR Pheasant
Hunt, #1 Sportsman’s Lane, Frank-
fort, KY 40601

3. Include his or her confirmation
number with the payment. (A pay-
ment for a party shall cover the full
amount of the party’s permit fees
in one check.)

4. Mail the permit payment post-
marked no later than midnight Oc-
tober 30, 2007.

Payment of permit fee(s) is re-
quired in advance from an individual,
or the person who applies for a party of
hunters, for ALL members of the party.
Payments received for less than the total
amount due will NOT BE REFUND-
ED and no permits will be issued for a
hunt. Please make sure you send in the
correct amount for the number of hunt-
ers in your party.

Failure to comply with any of the
permit payment directions given above
may result in being disqualified from
this year’s or future hunts.

BONUS HUNT DAYS

'The day following the final pheasant
quota hunt on each WMA is reserved as
a free, bonus hunt day for drawn pheas-
ant quota hunt permit holders. Therefore,
ONLY hunters who possess a permit
tor a Green River WMA quota pheas-
ant hunt may hunt pheasants on Green
River WMA on Monday, Nov. 19, 2007.
ONLY hunters who possess a permit
for a Clay WMA quota pheasant hunt
may hunt pheasants on Clay WMA on
Monday, Dec. 10, 2007. No additional
fee will be charged for the bonus hunt
day, but quota hunters must carry their
pheasant hunt permit, hunting license
and wear hunter orange clothing as re-
quired during their previous hunt. The
daily bag limit for bonus hunt days is

three birds per hunter.

(See the Green River and Clay
WMA listings in the Public Land
Hunting section for season dates and
limits for the open pheasant season fol-
lowing the bonus hunt day.)

WATERFOWL

Waterfowl hunters will be able
to apply for quota hunts by calling the
same phone number and following the
same payment process in place for deer
and pheasant hunts during the month of
September. There will be a minimum $3
charge to apply. A hunter can apply for a
maximum of one hunt per area.

However, dates for waterfowl hunts
on the Ballard, Sloughs and Boatwright
WMASs are not approved by the U.S.
Fish and Wildlife Service until late Au-
gust, which is too late to be included in
this guide. Therefore, waterfowl quota
hunt dates and other instructions WILL
BE POSTED SEPTEMBER 1 on
the KDFWR website at fw.ky.gov, and
will be available from the KDFWR In-
formation Center at 1-800-858-1549
weekdays 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Eastern.

DOVE

Special Hunter Note: The KDFWR
offers youth hunters and an accompany-
ing adult the opportunity to participate
in Mentor Dove Hunts on a limited
number of public fields on the first Sat-
urday in September of the dove season
(Sept. 1, 2007). Other than statewide
licensing requirements, no additional
hunt permits are required.

Participants must call the KDFWR
Information Center (1-800-858-1549)
weekdays 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m Eastern
from August 13 to August 22 to reserve
a spot for these hunts. Reservations will
not be taken outside these dates. Res-
ervations will be taken on a first-come,
first-served basis until the designated
spaces are filled. Locations of men-
tor hunts will be published in the 2007
Dove Hunting Guide, and will be avail-
able from the KDFWR website and In-

formation Center in mid-August.



GENERAL USER GUIDELINES FOR
WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREAS

The KDFWR has purchased, leased
or manages more than 80 wildlife man-
agement areas (WMAs) for public use.
On some areas, users must purchase a user
permit. Please refer to the specific area list-
ing for that information. The rest are open
to hunting free of additional charge.

Many public-use areas have spe-
cial laws in effect, and hunting season
dates that are different from statewide
seasons. That information is listed in-
dividually under the name of each area,
beginning on page 48.

The information here applies to
users of all wildlife management areas
owned or managed by the KDFWR. If
you intend to hunt (or otherwise visit)
public lands listed in “Wildlife Manage-
ment Areas,” you must comply with the
following guidelines.

Q: How do I know which seasons
are open on a particular WMA?

7£<: You must check the individual
area listing for it in “Wildlife
Management Areas.” Seasons are
only open as listed.

L S —

1. For game listed in this guide, hunting
seasons on the WMAs listed in this
section are open only as stated.

2. County zone deer bag limits apply to

all WMAs unless otherwise noted
under the area listing. If a WMA lies
in two or more different zones, limits
in effect for the most liberal county
(lowest zone number) shall apply to
the entire WMA.

3. Quota deer hunters may take up to two
(2) deer on a quota hunt, only one of
which may be antlered, unless other-
wise noted under the area listing.

4. Squirrel, rabbit, quail, grouse and fur-
bearer hunting or trapping is closed
Nov. 10-11, 2007 on WMAs, if gun
deer hunting is permitted.

5. Unless otherwise noted, persons shall
not allow unleashed dogs from March
1 through the opening of fall squirrel
season, except during KDFWR-au-
thorized field trials, the June squirrel
season, or when training a retriever or
other water dog if the activity is au-
thorized by a sign at the body of water.
The dog must remain leashed except
while training, or within 100 feet of
the water, or as stated under the area
listing or posted on the WMA.

6.Duringa deer quotahuntona WMA,
only persons participating in the
deer quota hunt are allowed to be on
that WMA, except waterfowl hunt-
ers hunting in some areas that may be
open, or if a part of the WMA is oth-
erwise open as noted in the following
area listings. (Persons assisting mobil-

Q: Can I still hunt deer or
small game on a WMA during a
quota elk hunt?

elk hunts are not closed to other
hunters during those hunts. (See
individual WMA listings for all
season dates.)

1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
7&: Yes. WMASs open to quota :
]
]
]
]
]
]
]

ity-impaired hunters are permitted ac-
cess during a quota hunt.)

7. Quota pheasant, deer, waterfowl and
elk hunts require advance application.
(Refer to Quota Hunt and Elk sec-
tions.) Advance application is not re-
quired for other listed deer hunts.

8. Camping is permitted only in desig-
nated areas. Parking must be confined
to designated parking areas if such
areas exist. If no parking area is desig-
nated, parking is generally permitted
alongside maintained roads in such
a manner that does not block traffic.
Unless otherwise authorized, vehicles
of any kind (including motorcycles
and bicycles) are permitted only on
maintained roads. Vehicles used on
public roads must be street-legal. It is
unlawful to cut trees or fences, dump
trash or litter, or damage any property
or habitat in any fashion.
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9. Trapping requires permission. Obtain

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

permission from the KDFWR by
calling 1-800-858-1549.
10.

Hunters shall not enter or hunt in ar-
eas that have been designated closed
by signs.

A person shall not discharge a fire-
arm within 100 yards of a residence
or occupied building located on or
off the area.

A person shall not distribute or place
bait, hunt over bait or otherwise par-
ticipate in baiting wildlife on a wild-
life management area.

A group of ten (10) or more people
who gather for any event or orga-
nized activity on a WMA shall ob-
tain a free permit from the KDFWR
at least thirty (30) days prior to the
event. Groups shall apply on a form
provided by the KDFWR. The KD-
FWR shall retain the authority to
deny permits, or otherwise restrict,
institute additional requirements
for, or direct the rescheduling of,
any event to avoid user conflicts or
for other plausible reasons. Permit
requests for events that do not meet
WMA user guidelines shall be de-
nied, and events may be canceled in
progress if participants fail to comply
with user guidelines or create haz-
ards or disruption for others.
Horseback riding is permitted on
some WMAs during certain times
of the year and under certain restric-
tions. Unless hunting, horses shall
only be ridden on designated horse
riding trails or a maintained public
road open to vehicular traffic. Horses
may not be ridden on WMAs during
firearms seasons for turkey, deer or
elk, unless participating or assisting in
a legal elk hunt. (Hunter orange re-
quired during firearms elk seasons)
Public shooting ranges are available
on Curtis Gates Lloyd, Higgin-
son-Henry, John A. Kleber, Miller
Welch-Central Kentucky, and Pea-
body WMAs. On these areas, target
shooting is restricted to the range.
These are tube-style ranges suitable
for shooting single projectile am-
munition only. All shooting must be
through the tubes. Ranges can be re-
served for special events by contact-
ing the WMA manager 30 days in
advance of the event. The ranges are
self-serve and all users must comply
with the rules posted by sign.

MOBILITY-IMPAIRED HUNTER
ACCESS TO WMAS

The KDFWR also offers special
exceptions to usual hunting and fishing
regulations for persons who are mobil-
ity-impaired and want to hunt and fish
on select KDFWR Wildlife Manage-
ment Areas. For those persons who
meet the qualifications below, and who
request an exception from the KD-
FWR, access by vehicle to portions of
some WMAs may be granted.

There are portions of 15 WMAs
where mobility-impaired access areas
have been designated. They are Bar-
ren River, Fishtrap Lake, Green River,
Kaler Bottoms, Kentucky River, Lake
Cumberland, Mill Creek, Miller Welch-
Central Kentucky, Mullins, Peabody,
Redbird, Taylorsville Lake, West Ken-
tucky, Yatesville Lake and Yellowbank
WMA:s.
1.In order to be eligible to requesta WMA

Mobility-Impaired Access Permit from

the KDFWR, the person must meet

one of the following criteria:

a. Has permanent paralysis of at least
one (1) leg;

b. Has at least one (1) foot amputated;

c.Is permanently confined to a wheel-

chair or must use crutches, or a

walker as a means of support to

pursue daily activities;

d. Isrestricted by a lung disease to such an
extent that the person’s forced respi-
ratory expiratory volume for one (1)
second, when measured by spirometry,
is less than one (1) liter, or the arterial
oxygen tension is less than sixty (60)
mm/Hg on room air at rest;

e. Requires portable oxygen;

f. Has a cardiac condition to the ex-
tent that the person’s functional
limitations are classified in sever-
ity as Class 3 or Class 4 according
to standards set by the American
Heart Association; or

g. Has a diagnosed disease which cre-
ates a severe mobility impairment.

2.’The Mobility-Impaired Access Permit
allows the following activities by a
mobility-impaired individual:

a. Discharge of a firearm or other legal
hunting device from a motor ve-
hicle when the vehicle is motion-
less and has its engine turned off.
The motor vehicle shall be used as a
place to wait or watch for game and
shall not be used to chase, pursue,
or drive game.

b. May operate electric wheelchairs,
ATYVs,and other passenger vehicles
on or off gated, ungated or open-
gated roads otherwise closed to
vehicular traffic, but only on desig-
nated tracts of designated WMAs.

3. The roads may be accessed March 1
through the third Friday in August.

4. Tracts designated as mobility-impaired
access areas shall be posted with signs.

5. Vehicular access shall not be permit-
ted on fields, openings, roads, paths,
or trails planted with annual grains or
agricultural crops.

6. It shall be permissible to access areas
which are not roads the third Saturday
of August until the end of February.

7. ATV users shall adhere to manufac-
turer recommendations including
wearing a helmet, wearing safety
glasses, and restricting riding to one
(1) person, while using ATVs on
WMAs.

A person with a Mobility-Impaired
Access Permit may designate one (1)
qualified assistant. The qualified assis-
tant may:

1. Track and dispatch a wounded animal;

2. Retrieve an animal; or

3. Render other assistance in accordance
with all other KDFWR and WMA
user laws.

A qualified assistant shall not:

1. Operate his or her own ATV; or

2. Hunt or shoot from an ATV.

Applicants for a Mobility-Impaired
Access Permit shall:

1. Fill out the required information on
the Mobility-Impaired Access Per-
mit application; and

2. Obtain the attestation and signature
from a licensed physician describing
the mobility impairment.

In order to participate in activities
noted above, a mobility-impaired indi-
vidual shall have a completed Mobility-
Impaired Access Permit application on
his or her person at all times while par-
ticipating in such activities, along with
the appropriate licenses and permits.

The above criteria for eligibility
for a Mobility-Impaired Access Per-
mit are the same criteria used to deter-
mine eligibility for mobility-impaired
hunter-only quota hunts offered by the
KDFWR.

Persons interested in applying for a
WMA Mobility-Impaired Access Per-
mit should contact the KDFWR for an
application or print one at fw.ky.gov.
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1. Obion Creek Wildlife Management 33. Dr. James R. Rich WMA 66. Begley WMA
Area (WMA) 34. Kentucky River WMA 67. Kentucky Ridge Forest WMA
2. Doug Travis WMA 35. Twin Eagle WMA 68. Kentucky Ridge State Forest
(formerly MeadWestvaco WMA) 36. Curtis Gates Lloyd WMA 69. Ashland WMA
3. Winford WMA 37. Mullins WMA 70. Mill Creek WMA
4. Boatwright WMA 38. Dr. Norman and Martha Adair WMA  71. Daniel Boone National Forest
5. Ballard WMA 39. Lewis County WMA 72. Cane Creek WMA
6. West Kentucky WMA 40. South Shore WMA 73. Beaver Creek WMA
7. Ohio River Islands WMA 41. Fleming WMA 74. Big South Fork National River
8. Livingston County WMA and 42. Clay WMA and Recreation Area
State Natural Area 43, Pioneer Weapons WMA 75. Lake Cumberland WMA
9. Kaler Bottoms WMA 44, Tygarts State Forest 76. Dale Hollow Lake WMA
10. Kentucky Lake WMA 45. Grayson Lake WMA 77. Mud Camp Creek WMA
11. Beechy Creek WMA 46. Yatesville Lake WMA 78. R. F. Tarter WMA
12. Lake Barkley WMA 47. Paintsville Lake WMA 79. Dennis-Gray WMA
13. Pennyrile State Forest 48. Dewey Lake WMA 80. Green River Lake WMA
14. Tradewater WMA 49. Fishtrap Lake WMA 81. Cedar Creek Lake WMA
15. Jones-Keeney WMA 50. Jefferson National Forest 82. Dix River WMA
16. Clear Creek WMA 51. Hensley-Pine Mountain WMA
17. Lee K. Nelson WMA 52. Carr Creek Lake WMA OTHER HUNTING AREAS
18. Higginson-Henry WMA 53. Paul Van Booven WMA On the following areas you must contact
19. Sloughs WMA 54. Robinson Forest the controlling agency for season dates,
20. Green River State Forest 55. Howard WMA regulations and hunter requirements.
21. L. B. Davison WMA 56. Buckhorn Lake WMA Contact information is listed on page 57.
22. Peabody WMA 57. Redbird WMA
23. Yellowbank WMA 58. Burchell-Beech Creek WMA A. Reelfoot Lake National Wildlife
24. Rough River Lake WMA 59. Ataya WMA Refuge (NWR)
25. Nolin River Lake WMA 60. Kentenia State Forest B. Clarks River NWR
26. Barren River Lake WMA 61. Stone Mountain WMA and C. Land Between the Lakes National
27. Knobs State Forest and WMA State Natural Area Recreation Area
28. John C. Williams WMA 62. Cranks Creek WMA D. Fort Campbell Military Reservation
29. Taylorsville Lake WMA 63. Martins Fork Lake WMA E. Wendell H. Ford RTC
30. Miller Welch-Central Kentucky WMA 64. Martins Fork WMA and State F. Fort Knox Military Reservation
31. T. N. Sullivan WMA Natural Area G. Blue Grass Army Depot
32. John A. Kleber WMA 65. Shillalah Creek WMA H

. Ohio River Islands NWR 47
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Lemember|

Small game and furbearer hunting/
trapping is closed Nov. 10-11, 2007
on WMAs, if gun deer hunting is
permitted.

’
HUNTER ORANGE LAW

Some WMAs are open to
Zone At-Large firearm quota elk
hunts. Other public areas open
to Zone At-Large firearm quota
elk hunts include: the Jefferson
National Forest, Kentucky Ridge
State Forest, Kentenia State
Forest, and portions of the Daniel
Boone National Forest not inside
the Begley WMA Limited Entry
Area in Bell, Clay, Harlan, Knox,
Leslie and Perry counties, as well
as McCreary and Whitley County
portions of Daniel Boone Na-
tional Forest. Anyone hunting
where and when an open fire-
arms quota elk hunt is going
on must comply with the state
hunter orange clothing law.
Check guota elk hunt dates in
the Elk section hefore hunt-
ing on WMA:s listed as open
to Zone At-Large or Limited
Entry Area quota elk hunts.

\

?afﬁbeabonbon%

Check the Spring Turkey & Squirrel
Hunting Guide for all spring hunting
seasons and regulations, including
spring hunting on WMAs.
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FALL HUNTING SEASONS

ASHLAND WMA
Lee County, (606) 878-9595

Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons.

ATAYA WMA
Bell, Knox & Leslie cos.
(606) 337-9317

Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons.

— Exceptions

Elk: Open to Zone At-Large quota
elk hunts. However, portions of this
WMA are closed to Zone At-Large
quota elk hunters. Those portions are
open for elk hunting only to limited
entry area quota elk hunters. (See the
Begley limited entry area description
'—in the Elk section)

BALLARD WMA
Ballard County, (270) 224-2244

=l

The 400-acre tract located south of
Sallie Crice/Terrell Landing Road
(formerly the Ballard Hunt Unit) is
open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons.”

Exceptions

The Main Unit is closed to unau-
thorized public access annually Oct.
15 - March 15. Hunting seasons on
the Main Unit are as follows:

Squirrel: Aug. 18 - Oct. 14.
Rabbit & Quail: Closed.

Deer*: Open for Archery/Crossbow
Seasons through Oct. 14.

Open for October Youth Firearms
Season (no Youth Quota Hunt).
Quota Hunt, any deer, Nov. 3-4.
Portions of the area are closed, as
marked by signs, during Quota
Hunt.

Turkey -- Fall Archery: Closed.
Turkey -- Fall Gun: Closed.

*A hunter shall not take an antlered
deer with an outside antler spread of
less than 15 inches at any time, on

L any part of this WMA.

BARREN RIVER LAKE WMA
Allen & Barren cos., (270) 646-5167

Open under statewide regulations for
all squirrel, furbearer, deer and fall
turkey seasons.

— Exceptions
Rabbit & Quail: Nov. 1 - Dec. 31.
Barren River WMA is considered
to lie completely within the Eastern

Rabbit/Quail Zone.

On the Peninsula Unit, including

Narrows, Goose and Grass islands,

hunters shall not hunt with modern

firearms at any time or carry a loaded

modern firearm. Hunters may use

muzzle-loading firearms, crossbows
‘—and archery equipment only.




BEAVER CREEK WMA
McCreary & Pulaski cos.
(606) 376-8083

EERME
Open under statewide regulations for
fall gun turkey seasons.

— Exceptions

Open under statewide regulations
for all squirrel and fall archery turkey
seasons, except these seasons are

closed during deer Quota Hunt.

Rabbit & Quail: Nov. 1 - Dec. 31,
except closed during deer Quota
Hunt.

Grouse: Oct. 1 - Dec. 31, except
closed during deer Quota Hunt.
Furbearers: Dec. 5-31.

Deer*: Quota Hunt, any deer, limit
one, Nov. 3-4.

Open under statewide regulations
for Archery Season, except closed
during deer Quota Hunt.

Elk: Portions in McCreary Co. are
open to Zone At-Large quota elk
hunts, except closed during deer

Quota Hunt.

*A hunter shall not take an antlered
deer with an outside antler spread of
‘—less than 15 inches at any time.

BEECHY CREEK WMA
Calloway County, (270) 753-6913

1<

Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons.

BEGLEY WMA
Bell, Harlan & Leslie cos.
(606) 337-9317

EEM

Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons.

Exceptions

Elk: Closed to Zone At-Large quota
elk hunters. Open to limited entry
area quota firearm elk hunters.

Open under statewide regulations for
all squirrel, furbearer, deer, and fall
turkey seasons. Also open to Zone At-
Large quota elk hunts.

— Exceptions

Rabbit & Quail: Nov. 1 - Dec. 31.
Grouse: Oct. 1 - Dec. 31.

Wild Hog: Hunting is open dur-
ing the statewide deer season and
extends through the end of February.
Hog hunters may not use dogs for
hog hunting, may not hunt at night,
and shall possess a mandatory hog
hunting permit from the National
Park Service. Hog hunters shall be
licensed and legal to hunt deer when
hunting wild hogs during a deer
firearms season. Contact Big South
Fork at the numbers above for ad-
ditional details.

Year-round seasons: Open under
statewide regulations for coyotes,
groundhog, English sparrows and
starlings. No other species may be

BIG SOUTH FORK NATIONAL
RIVER AND RECREATION AREA
McCreary County

Kentucky Ranger Station: (606) 376-5073
Park Headquarters: (423) 569-9778

EEAGA

— taken.

BURCHELL-BEECH CREEK WMA
Clay County, (606) 878-9595

EES

Open under statewide regulations for
all hunting and trapping seasons. Also
open to Zone At-Large quota elk hunts.

BOATWRIGHT WMA
Ballard County, (270) 224-2244

EEME

Olmstead and Peal Units: Open under
statewide regulations for all hunting
and trapping seasons, except some por-
tions may be closed to public access as
marked by signs.

Swan Lake Unit:

Squirrel: Aug. 18 - Oct. 14.

Rabbit & Quail: Closed.
Furbearers: Closed.

Deer: Open under statewide regula-
tions for archery hunting through
Oct. 14 only, and the October Youth
Firearms Season.

Turkey -- Fall Archery: Closed.
Turkey -- Fall Gun: Closed.

Unit closed to all public access
Oct. 15 - March 15.

BUCKHORN LAKE WMA
Perry & Leslie cos., (606) 337-9317

i]<)
Open under statewide regulations
for all hunting and trapping seasons.

Also open to Zone At-Large quota
elk hunts.

CANE CREEK WMA
Laurel County, (606) 376-8083

EE0A

Open under statewide regulations for
all squirrel, deer and fall turkey seasons.

Exceptions

Rabbit & Quail: Nov. 1 - Dec. 31.
Grouse: Oct. 1 - Dec. 31.
Furbearers: Dec. 5 - 31.

CARR CREEK LAKE WMA
Knott County, (606) 337-9317

EFEAD
Open under statewide regulations for all

hunting and trapping seasons. Also open
to Zone At-Large quota elk hunts.

CEDAR CREEK LAKE WMA
Lincoln County, (270) 465-5039

EES

Open under statewide regulations for all
squirrel and fall turkey seasons.

Exceptions

Rabbit: Nov. 1 — Dec. 31.

Quail: Closed.

Grouse: Closed.

Furbearers: Closed.

Deer: Open under statewide regula-
tions for archery/crossbow hunting only.

CLAY WMA MAIN UNIT, (Nicholas
County) BOOTH & BAILEY TRACTS
(Fleming County), (859) 289-8564

EEASE

Open under statewide regulations for
all squirrel, furbearer, crossbow deer and
fall turkey seasons, except these seasons
are closed during deer Quota Hunt and
Main Unit is closed during quota fox
hunts and Dec. 7-10.

Other Exceptions

This WMA (not including the Booth
and Bailey tracts) is closed to public
use Sept. 5-8 and Sept. 26-29, except
for those registered to participate in
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CLAY WMA MAIN UNIT, BOOTH &
BAILEY TRACTS (conz.)

the quota fox hunting field trials on
those days.

Rabbit & Quail: Nov. 1 - Dec. 31,
except closed during deer Quota
Hunt, and Main Unit is closed dur-
ing quota fox hunts & Dec. 7-10.
Grouse: Oct. 1 - Dec. 31, except
closed during deer Quota Hunt, and
Main Unit is closed during quota fox
hunts and Dec. 7-10.

Deer: Quota Hunt, any deer, Nov. 3-4.
Open under statewide regulations
for Archery and Youth Firearms
Seasons, except closed during deer
Quota Hunt, and Main Unit is
closed during quota fox hunts.
Pheasant™: Quota Hunt 1, limit
two, either sex, Dec. 7.

Quota Hunt 2, limit two, either sex,
Dec. 8.

Quota Hunt 3, limit two, either sex,
Dec. 9.

Open Dec. 10 only to drawn pheasant
quota hunters, limit three, either sex.
Open Dec. 11-31; daily limit three,
either sex.

**All pheasant hunters shall wear

hunter orange clothing as required

by the Kentucky hunter orange
—clothing law.

CLEAR CREEK WMA
Hopkins County, (270) 273-3568

EES

Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons.

CRANKS CREEK WMA

Harlan County, (606) 337-9317

Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons. Also open
to Zone At-Large quota elk hunts.

CURTIS GATES LLOYD WMA
Grant County, (859) 428-2262

=] £ 1)
Open under statewide regulations for all
squirrel, furbearer and fall turkey seasons.

— Exceptions
Rabbit & Quail: Nov. 1 - Dec. 31
Deer: Open under statewide regula-
tions, except no firearms permitted
tor deer hunting.

Unleashed dogs prohibited from

April 1 until the third Saturday in

August, except during department-

authorized field trials and the spring
L squirrel season.

DALE HOLLOW LAKE WMA
Cumberland & Clinton cos.
(270) 465-5039

EEAS

Open under statewide regulations for
all hunting and trapping seasons, except
the area between the lake edge and
the Corps/Dale Hollow Lake State
Resort Park boundary is closed to all
hunting, except during the state park
Quota Hunt.

DENNIS-GRAY WMA
Adair County, (270) 465-5039

Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons.

DEWEY LAKE WMA
Floyd County, (606) 424-2508

=
Open under statewide regulations for all
squirrel, rabbit, quail, grouse, furbearer

and fall turkey seasons. Also open to
Zone At-Large quota elk hunts.

Exceptions
Deer™: Open under statewide

regulations for Archery and Youth

firearms seasons for either sex deer.

*A deer hunter shall not take an ant-
lered deer with an outside antler spread
of less than 15 inches at any time.

DIX RIVER WMA
Lincoln County, (270) 465-5039

Open under statewide regulations for all
squirrel, furbearer and fall turkey seasons.

Exceptions

Rabbit & Quail: Nov. 1 — Dec. 31.
Grouse: Oct. 1 — Dec. 31.

Deer: Open under statewide regula-
tions for Archery/Crossbow, Youth
Firearms and Muzzleloader seasons.

DOUG TRAVIS WMA

(formerly MeadWestvaco WMA)
Carlisle & Hickman cos.

(270) 488-3233

EES

Open under statewide regulations for
all hunting and trapping seasons, except
some areas may be closed to public
access as marked by signs Nov. 1

- March 15.

DR. JAMES R. RICH WMA
Owen County, (502) 535-6335

Open under statewide regulations for
all squirrel, rabbit, quail, furbearer and
fall turkey seasons, except these seasons
are closed during deer Quota Hunts.

— Other Exceptions
Deer: Quota Hunts, any deer, Nov.
3-4; Dec. 1-2.
Open under statewide regulations
for Youth Firearms Seasons.
Open under statewide regulations for
Archery/Crossbow Seasons, except
— closed during Quota Hunts.




DR. NORMAN AND
MARTHA ADAIR WMA
Boone County, (859) 428-2262

i) 4]
Open under statewide regulations for all

hunting and trapping seasons, except no
firearms permitted for deer hunting.

FISHTRAP LAKE WMA
Pike County, (606) 424-2086

EEASEGA

Open under statewide regulations for
fall gun turkey seasons.

— Exceptions

Open under statewide regulations for
all squirrel, rabbit, quail, grouse, fur-
bearer and fall archery turkey seasons,
except these seasons are closed during
deer Quota Hunt. Also open to Zone
At-Large quota elk hunts, except
closed during deer Quota Hunt.

Deer: Quota Hunt, any deer, limit

one, Nov. 17-18.

Open under statewide regulations

for Youth firearms seasons.

Open under statewide regulations

for Archery Season, except closed
— during deer Quota Hunt.

FLEMING WMA
Fleming County, (859) 289-8564

EEAES
Open under statewide regulations for

all squirrel, furbearer, deer and fall
turkey seasons.

Exceptions
|:Rabbit & Quail: Nov. 1 - Dec. 31.
Grouse: Oct. 1 - Dec. 31.

GRAYSON LAKE WMA
Carter & Elliott cos., (606) 474-8535

EEASK

Open under statewide regulations for
fall gun turkey seasons.

— Exceptions
Open under statewide regulations
for all squirrel, rabbit, quail, grouse,
furbearer and fall archery turkey sea-
sons, except these seasons are closed

during Open Youth Deer Hunt.

Deer: Open Youth Hunt, any deer,

Nov. 3-4 (SEE BELOW FOR
DETAILS).
Open under statewide regulations
for Archery Season, except closed
during the Open Youth Hunt.
Crossbows legal during entire
archery season, except closed during
the Open Youth Hunt.
Open under statewide regulations

'— for Youth Firearms Seasons.

Open Youth Hunt Details: This hunt
is limited to youth 15 and under, who

check in between noon and 8 p.m.
Eastern on the day before the hunt
(Nov. 2), or between 5:30 a.m. and 8
p-m. on hunt days. The bag limit is two
deer, only one can be antlered and a
youth hunter may use a bonus WMA
deer permit for this hunt. All hunters
must check out when finished hunting,
when their bag limit is reached, or by 8
p-m. on the final day of the hunt.

GREEN RIVER LAKE WMA
Taylor & Adair cos., (270) 465-5039

EFEADNES

Open under statewide regulations for
fall gun turkey seasons.

— Exceptions

Open under statewide regulations
for all squirrel, furbearer and fall
archery turkey seasons, except these
seasons are closed during deer Quota
Hunts and Nov. 16-19.

Rabbit & Quail: Nov. 1 - Dec. 31,
except closed during deer Quota
Hunts and Nov. 16-19.

Grouse: Closed.

Deer*: Quota Hunt, any deer,

Nov. 3-4.

Mobility-Impaired Quota Hunt, any
deer, Nov. 3-4.

Open under statewide regulations
for Archery Season, except closed
during deer Quota Hunts.
Pheasant™: Quota Hunt 1, limit
two, either sex, Nov. 16.

Quota Hunt 2, limit two, either sex,
Nowv. 17.

Quota Hunt 3, limit two, either sex,
Nov. 18.

Open Nov. 19 only to drawn pheas-
ant quota hunters, limit three, either
sex.

Open Nov. 20 — Dec. 31, daily limit
three, either sex.

*A deer hunter shall not take an ant-
lered deer with an outside antler spread
of less than 15 inches at any time.

**All pheasant hunters shall wear
hunter orange clothing as required
by the Kentucky hunter orange

— clothing law.

HENSLEY-PINE MOUNTAIN WMA
Letcher County, (606) 337-9317

] £

Open under statewide regulations
for all hunting and trapping seasons.
Also open to Zone At-Large quota
elk hunts.

HIGGINSON-HENRY WMA
Union County, (270) 389-3580

EFEANESRAE
Open under statewide regulations for

all squirrel, furbearer and fall archery

turkey seasons.

— Exceptions

Rabbit & Quail: Nov. 12 - Dec. 31
Deer*: Open under statewide regula-
tions for Archery Season and Youth
Firearms Seasons (no Quota Hunt)

Turkey -- Fall Gun: Closed

*A deer hunter shall not take an ant-
lered deer with an outside antler spread
L of less than 15 inches at any time.

HOWARD WMA
Breathitt County, (606) 435-6225

s

Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons. Also open
to Zone At-Large quota elk hunts.

JOHN A. KLEBER WMA
Owen & Franklin cos.
(502) 535-6335

i olnc]—
Open under statewide regulations for
all squirrel, furbearer and fall turkey

seasons, except these seasons are closed

during deer Quota Hunts.

Other Exceptions

Rabbit & Quail: Nov. 1 - Dec. 31,
except closed during Quota Hunts.
Deer: Quota Hunts, any deer, Nov.
3-4; Dec. 1-2.

Open under statewide regulations for
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JOHN A. KLEBER WMA (conz.)

Archery/Crossbow Seasons, except
closed during Quota Hunts.

Open under statewide regulations
for Youth Firearms Seasons.

JOHN C. WILLIAMS WMA
Nelson County, (502) 477-9024

s

Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons, except no
firearms permitted for deer hunting.

JONES-KEENEY WMA
Caldwell County, (270) 753-6913

EAS
Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons.

KALER BOTTOMS WMA
Graves County, (270) 753-6913

EER

Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons.

KENTUCKY LAKE WMA
Calloway, Marshall & Lyon cos.
(270) 753-6913

EES

Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons.

KENTUCKY RIDGE FOREST WMA
Bell County, (606) 878-9595

s

Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons. Also open
to Zone At-Large quota elk hunts.

KENTUCKY RIVER WMA
Henry & Owen cos.,(502) 535-6335

EER

Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons, except no
firearms permitted for deer hunting.

KNOBS STATE FOREST & WMA
Bullitt County, (502) 477-9024

=0

Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons, except no
firearms permitted for deer hunting.

L.B. DAVISON WMA
Ohio County, (270) 273-3568

EE0A

Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons.

LAKE BARKLEY WMA
Trigg, Livingston & Lyon cos.
(270) 753-6913

EE0A

Open under statewide regulations for
all hunting and trapping seasons, except
North Refuge is closed Nov. 1 — Feb. 15
and Duck Island Refuge is closed Oct.
15 — March 15.

LAKE CUMBERLAND WMA
Clinton, Pulaski, Russell & Wayne cos.
(606) 376-8083

EFEANA
Open under statewide regulations for

all squirrel, furbearer, deer and fall
turkey seasons.

— Exceptions
Rabbit & Quail: Nov. 1 - Dec. 31.
Grouse: Oct. 1 - Dec. 31.

The area between the lake edge and

the Corps/Lake Cumberland State

Resort Park boundary is closed to

all hunting. Wesley Bend and Yel-

lowhole portions closed to public
—access Oct. 15 - March 15.

LEE K. NELSON WMA
Webster County, (270) 389-3580

EFEAN

Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons.

LEWIS COUNTY WMA
Lewis County, (606) 686-3312

&8

Open under statewide regulations for
all hunting and trapping seasons, except
centerfire rifles and handguns are
prohibited for deer hunting, and only
archery or crossbow equipment is per-
mitted during the December muzzle-
loading deer season.

LIVINGSTON COUNTY WMA &
STATE NATURAL AREA
Livingston County, (270) 753-6913

EEA

Open under statewide regulations for
all squirrel, rabbit, quail, furbearer and
fall turkey seasons.

Exceptions

Deer: Open under statewide regula-
tions, except modern firearms are
prohibited for deer hunting during

the modern firearm deer season.

MARTINS FORK LAKE WMA
Harlan County, (606) 337-9317

EE0A

Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons. Also open
to Zone At-Large quota elk hunts.

MARTINS FORK WMA &
STATE NATURAL AREA
Harlan County, (606) 337-9317

EEA

Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons. Also open
to Zone At-Large quota elk hunts.

MILL CREEK WMA
Jackson County, (606) 287-7836

] £ Il &



Open under statewide regulations for
fall gun turkey seasons.

— Exceptions

Open under statewide regulations
for all squirrel, grouse and fall turkey
seasons, except these seasons are
closed during deer Quota Hunt.

Rabbit & Quail: Nov. 1 - Dec. 31,

except closed during Quota Hunt.

Furbearers: Dec. 5-31.

Deer: Quota Hunt, any deer, limit

one, Nov. 3-4.

Open under statewide regulations

for Archery Season, except closed
— during Quota Hunt.

MILLER WELCH-CENTRAL
KENTUCKY WMA
Madison County, (859) 986-4130

EERQS

Open under statewide regulations for
all squirrel, furbearer trapping and fall
turkey seasons.

— Exceptions

Rabbit & Quail: Closed.

Furbearer Hunting: Closed.

Deer: Open Archery Hunt, any deer,
Wednesdays only (except closed dur-
ing scheduled field trials as posted
on bulletin board at WMA office),
Sept. 5 - Dec. 17.

Open Archery Hunt, any deer, Dec.
18 - Jan. 21.

Unleashed dogs are prohibited April
1 until the third Saturday in August,
except during department-autho-
rized field trials and the spring squir-
rel season. At other times of the year,
unleashed dogs are permitted only
on Tuesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays
'— and Sundays.

MUD CAMP CREEK WMA
Cumberland County, (270) 465-5039

@8

Open under statewide regulations for
all hunting and trapping seasons, except
no firearms permitted for deer hunting
during the modern gun deer season.

MULLINS WMA
Kenton County, (859) 428-2262

R

Open under statewide regulations for all
squirrel, furbearer and fall turkey seasons.

— Exceptions
Rabbit & Quail: Nov. 1 - Dec. 31.
Deer: Open under statewide regula-
tions, except no firearms are permitted
for deer hunting.

Unleashed dogs are prohibited

April 1 until the third Saturday in

August, except during department-

authorized field trials and the spring
L squirrel season.

NOLIN RIVER LAKE WMA
Edmonson, Grayson & Hart cos.
(270) 646-5167

EES

Open under statewide regulations for
all squirrel, furbearer, deer and fall
turkey seasons.

I:Exceptiom
Rabbit & Quail: Nov. 1 - Dec. 31

Best access to WMA is by boat or by
permission of private landowners to
cross their property to the adjacent

e N
| 1
. REPORT A POACHER! |
: e Call 1-800-25ALERT (1-800-252-5378) to report wildlife law :
1 violators. 1
1 * This number is for reporting wildlife and boating violations or similar |
1 emergencies only. Operators are not equipped to handle routine 1
1 requests for information or to transfer calls. I
: * For general information, call toll-free 1-800-858-1549 weekdays :
I 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Eastern. Check your deer, elk, turkey, bobcat or
1 otter at 1-877-CHKGAME (1-877-245-4263) 1
\ /’

O0BION CREEK WMA
Hickman, Carlisle & Fulton cos.
(270) 488-3233

]|
Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons.

OHIO RIVER ISLANDS WMA
Livingston County, (270) 753-6913

i]<)

Stewart Island (also known as
Birdsville Island) Unit:

Squirrel: Aug. 18 - Oct. 14.

Rabbit & Quail: Closed.

Deer: Open under statewide regula-
tions for Oct. Muzzleloader Season and
Oct. Youth Firearms Season.

Open under statewide regulations for
Archery Season through Oct. 14.
Turkey -- Fall Archery: Open under

statewide regulations through Oct. 14.
Turkey -- Fall Gun: Closed.

The Stewart Island Unit is closed

to public access Oct. 15 - March 15,
except during October Muzzleloader
Deer Season.

The remainder of this WMA (Pryor,
Rondeau, and Twin Sisters Islands) is
open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons.

PAINTSVILLE LAKE WMA
Johnson & Morgan cos.
(606) 424-2508

EERADEE

Open under statewide regulations for
fall gun turkey seasons.

— Exceptions

Open under statewide regulations
for all squirrel, rabbit, quail, grouse,
furbearer and fall archery turkey sea-
sons, except these seasons are closed
during deer Quota Hunt.

Deer*: Quota Hunt, any deer,
Nov. 3-4.

Open under statewide regulations
for Youth Firearms Seasons.
Open under statewide regulations
for Archery Season, except closed
during deer Quota Hunt.

Elk: Portions in Johnson Co. are
open to Zone At-Large quota elk
hunts, except closed during deer
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: SYMBOL KEY WMA OFFICE HOURS ARE 8 AM - 4:30 PM MON. - FRI. :
. [ ] y/ \ N 1
1 - _ 1
i || & [ [—F
1 1
1 Hunting Fishing Hiking Wildlife Interpretive Boat Horseback Accessible Picnic Site  Shooting 1
|\ Trail Viewing Site Launch Trails Range ,l

PAINTSVILLE LAKE WMA (conz.)
Quota Hunt.

* A deer hunter shall not take an
antlered deer with an outside antler
spread of less than 15 inches at any
time.

PAUL VAN BOOVEN WMA
Breathitt County, (606) 337-9317

s

Area open only to limited entry area
quota elk hunters.

PEABODY WMA
Ohio, Hopkins & Muhlenberg cos.
(270) 273-3568

EEANSEGASE

Open under statewide regulations for
all squirrel, rabbit, quail, furbearer and
fall turkey seasons.

— Exceptions
Deer: Open under statewide regula-
tions, except modern gun season
open Nov. 10-19 only.

Portions marked by signs are closed
to public access Oct. 15 - March 15.
No parking or camping within 100
feet of gas well heads on the Vogue
and River Queen tracts.
Any person ages 16 and older enter-
ing the area for any recreational
purpose must obtain and carry a
Peabody WMA user permit ($15.00).
Individual user permits may be
obtained through any license vendor.
Group user permits are available from
the Peabody WMA office and must
be obtained 30 days prior to use of

— the WMA for any activity or event.

PENNYRILE STATE FOREST

& TRADEWATER WMA
Christian, Caldwell & Hopkins cos.
(270) 753-6913

EEAE

Open under statewide regulations for
all rabbit, quail, furbearer and fall gun
turkey seasons.

— Exceptions
Open under statewide regulations
for squirrel and fall archery turkey
seasons, except these seasons are
closed during deer Quota Hunt.

Grouse: Dec. 1-31, daily limit 2.
Otter: Open under statewide
regulations along the main stem of
the Tradewater River only, and the
Caldwell County portion of Pen-
nyrile State Forest WMA is open
under statewide regulations.
Deer*: Quota Hunt, any deer,
Nov. 3-4.

Open under statewide regulations
tor Archery Season, except closed

during Quota Hunt.

* A deer hunter shall not take an ant-
lered deer with an outside antler spread
L of less than 15 inches at any time.

PIONEER WEAPONS WMA
Bath & Menifee cos., (606) 784-6428

EEAGLE

Open under statewide regulations for
all hunting and trapping seasons fol-
lowing these equipment restrictions:
Hunters shall not hunt with any type
of breech-loading or modern firearm
on this area. Hunters shall not carry

a breech-loading firearm with am-
munition in the magazine or cham-
ber without authorization from the
KDFWR. Hunters shall not use in-line
muzzle-loading firearms, scopes or
optical enhancements (sighting devices
other than open or “iron” sights) while
hunting on this area. (Binoculars and
spotting scopes are not prohibited.)
Other types of muzzle-loading firearms,
compound bows, long bows, recurve
bows and crossbows are permitted.
Crossbows legal for entire archery deer
season and fall archery turkey season.

R.F. TARTER WMA
Adair & Russell cos., (270) 465-5039

i

Open under statewide regulations

for all hunting and trapping seasons,
except no firearms permitted for
deer hunting during the modern gun
deer season.

REDBIRD WMA
Clay & Leslie cos., (606) 337-9317

) £ Jecl &

Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons. Also open
to Zone At-Large quota elk hunts.

ROBINSON FOREST WMA
Breathitt, Knott & Perry cos.
(606) 337-9317

i £
The main block of this area is closed to

all hunting.

Outlying areas ONLY:
Open under statewide regulations for
all squirrel, rabbit, quail, grouse, fur-

bearer and fall turkey seasons.

— Exceptions
Deer: Open under statewide regula-
tions for all deer seasons, except no
deer hunting with modern guns or
crossbows is permitted.
Elk: Open to Zone At-Large quota
elk hunts. However, portions are
closed to Zone At-Large quota elk
hunters. Those portions are open
for elk hunting only to limited entry
area quota elk hunters. (See the
Starfire limited entry area descrip-
tion in the Elk section)
Deer hunters may use portable stands
L only, and must remove stands daily.

ROUGH RIVER LAKE WMA
Breckinridge & Grayson cos.
(270) 646-5167



EES

Open under statewide regulations for
all hunting and trapping seasons.

Best access to WMA is by boat or by
permission of private landowners to
cross their property to the adjacent

SHILLALAH CREEK WMA
Bell & Harlan cos., (606) 337-9317

EE0A

Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons. Also open
to Zone At-Large quota elk hunts.

SLOUGHS WMA
Henderson & Union cos.
(270) 827-2673

EFERADS

"This WMA consists of six separate land
units: Ash Flats, Grassy Pond Powells
Lake, Jenny Hole, Highland Creek, Cape
Hills and Sauerheber. All except Sauerhe-
ber are open under statewide regulations
for all hunting and trapping seasons.

— Exceptions

Sauerheber Unit:

Squirrel: Open Aug. 18 - Oct. 31.
Rabbit & Quail: Closed.
Furbearers: Closed.

Deer *: Open under statewide regu-
lations through Oct. 31.

Turkey -- Fall Archery: Open under

Turkey -- Fall Gun: Closed.

*The Crenshaw and Duncan II
tracts of the Sauerheber Unit are
open only for waterfowl hunting
Nov. 1 — March 15, and deer hunting
under statewide regulations through
the end of modern gun deer season.
‘The remainder of the Sauerheber
Unit is closed to ALL PUBLIC
ACCESS Nov. 1 —-March 15 annu-
‘— ally as designated by signs.

statewide regulations through Oct. 31.

SOUTH SHORE WMA
Greenup County, (606) 686-3312

s

Closed to public access Nov. 15 —Jan.
15, except quota waterfowl and dove
hunting by advance application and
selection. Open under statewide regula-
tions for all hunting and trapping sea-

sons at other times, except no centerfire
rifles/handguns or crossbows permitted
for deer hunting.

STONE MOUNTAIN WMA
& STATE NATURAL AREA
Harlan County, (606) 337-9317

) £

Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons. Also open
to Zone At-Large quota elk hunts.

T.N. SULLIVAN WMA
Franklin County, (502) 535-6335

&8

Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons, except no
firearms permitted for deer hunting.

TAYLORSVILLE LAKE WMA
Spencer, Anderson & Nelson cos.

(502) 477-9024

EFENES

Open under statewide regulations for
all squirrel, furbearer and fall turkey
seasons, except these seasons are closed
during deer Quota Hunts.

— Other Exceptions
Rabbit & Quail: Nov. 1 - Dec. 31,
except closed during Quota Hunts.
Deer: Quota Hunts, any deer, Nov.
3-4; Dec. 1-2; Jan. 5-6.
Open under statewide regulations
for Youth Firearms Seasons and
Archery/Crossbow Seasons, except
closed during Quota Hunts.

The area east of Van Buren Boat

Ramp is closed to all public access,

except during quota hunts, from

Nov. 1 through the end of February
L as designated by signs.

TRADEWATER WMA
Christian & Hopkins cos.
(Same as Pennyrile State Forest)

TWIN EAGLE WMA
Owen County, (502) 535-6335

]2

Open under statewide regulations for all
hunting and trapping seasons, except no
firearms permitted for deer hunting.

WEST KENTUCKY WMA
McCracken County, (270) 488-3233

EFERADNEEAE

Open under statewide regulations for all
squirrel, furbearer and fall turkey seasons,
except these seasons are closed during

Quota and Open Gun Deer Hunts.

— Other Exceptions:

Rabbit & Quail: Nov. 12 - Dec.
31, (Tracts 2, 3, 6, 7), except closed
during Quota and Open Gun Deer
Hunts. Jan. 1 - 10* on Tracts 1, 4,

5 (see below for additional require-
ments).

Deer™: Quota Hunt, any deer, Now.
17-18, Tracts 1-6 only.

Open Gun Hunt, any deer, two-deer
limit, one-antlered deer limit, Dec.
1-2: Hunting permitted on Tracts
1-6 only. Limited to first 300 hunters
who must personally check in at the
hunter check station from 4 to 8
p-m. (Central) on the Friday preced-
ing the hunt, or from 4:30 a.m. to

7 p.m. on hunt days. After the first
300 have registered, no more hunters
will be admitted. Registered hunt-
ers must check out when finished
hunting, when the hunter’s bag limit
is reached, or by 7 p.m. on Sunday
night. Hunters may use a Bonus
WMA Quota Hunt Deer Permit.
Open under statewide regulations
for Archery/Crossbow Seasons on all
tracts except Tract 8A, except closed
during Quota and Open Gun Deer
Hunts.

Hunters shall not enter or hunt

in any area posted closed by signs.
On Dec. 1-2, only deer hunters par-
ticipating in the Open Gun Hunt
are permitted on the WMA.

*Hunting on Tracts 1,4 and 5 is sub-
ject to early closure based on hunting
pressure. Shooting hours are % hour
before sunrise to 1 p.m. Central daily
on these tracts. Those hunting on
Tracts 1,4 and 5 from Jan. 1-10 must
report hunt data daily to the area
supervisor. Reporting can be done in
person at the hunter check station, or
by completing and submitting a hunt
data card each day. If a tract is closed
prior to January 10, notice will be
posted at the hunter check station 24
hours in advance.
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WEST KENTUCKY WMA (conz.) any “A” tract. YELLOWBANK WMA

“Hunting deer with modern rifles
or handguns is prohibited on this
WMA. Only shotguns with slugs
or muzzleloaders are allowed.
Archery/Crossbow hunters who
want to hunt any “A” tract must first

check in with USEC Security.

A deer hunter shall not take an ant-
lered deer with an outside antler spread
of less than 15 inches at any time.

Small game or furbearer hunters
must not use rifles, or ball or slug
ammunition. Unleashed dogs are
prohibited April 1 until the third
Saturday in August, except during
department-authorized field trials
and the spring squirrel season. No

small game hunting is permitted on

Kentucky,
Y

Join Tim Farmer for a
new season of hunting,

fishing and everything else
the Kentucky outdoors has
to offer. We'll see you in the

woods, or on the water!

KET 1

Saturday, 8:30 p.m. ET or

7:30 p.m. CT

Sunday, 4 p.m. ET or 3 p.m. CT

WYMT Hazard
Wednesday, 7 p.m. ET

All vehicular traffic is prohibited on
Tract 6 Feb. 1 - April 16. No fire-
arms are permitted on any posted
zones at any time.

WINFORD WMA
Carlisle County, (270) 224-2244

=
Open under statewide regulations for
all hunting and trapping seasons.

YATESVILLE LAKE WMA
Lawrence County, (606) 686-3312

EEASGO

Open under statewide regulations for
all hunting and trapping seasons, except
a deer hunter may not take antlerless
deer with a firearm during modern gun
deer season.

Breckinridge County, (270) 547-6856

EE0A

Open under statevwde regulations for all
squirrel, furbearer and fall turkey seasons.

— Exceptions
Rabbit & Quail: Nov. 1 - Dec. 31
Deer*: Open under statewide
regulations for Archery/Crossbow
and Youth Firearms Seasons (no

Mentor Quota Hunt).

*A deer hunter shall not take an
antlered deer with an outside antler
spread of less than 15 inches at any
time.

Areas designated by signs are
closed to all public access Oct. 15
— - March 15.




OTHER PUBLIC AREAS

OPEN STATE PARK
DEER HUNTS

An open deer hunt will be offered
on the following area as specified below.
All statewide bag limits, hunter licens-
ing and other deer hunting requirements
and zone restrictions apply, in addition
to those given below. Discharging a
firearm within 100 yards of a main-
tained road or any building is strictly
prohibited. Baiting is prohibited on
state parks.

Note: There is no longer an open
hunt at Lake Cumberland State Resort
Park or Taylorsville Lake State Park.

YATESVILLE LAKE STATE PARK
& LAWRENCE COUNTY
RECREATIONAL AREA

(606) 686-2362 or 3312

Open under statewide regulations
(Zone 2) for archery, crossbow and
muzzle-loading deer hunting December
10-12.

All hunters must check in at the
state park campground booth between
12 - 8 p.m. Eastern Dec. 9. Checking in
is not permitted on hunt days or at any
other time. Check out is not required,
but deer taken must be telechecked as
required under statewide regulations.
Hunters will receive a map at check-in
showing the area open to hunting and
containing any other special instruc-
tions. No other hunting is permitted on
Yatesville Lake State Park property.

OPEN UNDER
STATEWIDE SEASONS

The following areas are open for
public hunting under statewide regu-
lations. Season dates, limits and zone
restrictions apply based on the county
zone where the area is located.

DANIEL BOONE NATIONAL FOREST
Bath, Bell, Clay, Estill, Harlan, Jackson,
Knox, Laurel, Lee, Leslie, McCreary,
Menifee, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Pow-
ell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Rowan, Wayne,
Whitley & Wolfe cos., except Beaver
Creek WMA, Cane Creek WMA, Mill
Creek WMA, Pioneer Weapons WMA

and Redbird WMA.
ZAam
Baiting prohibited.

GREEN RIVER STATE FOREST
Henderson County

EEA

JEFFERSON NATIONAL FOREST
Letcher & Pike cos.

Baiting prohibited.

CLARKS RIVER NATIONAL
WILDLIFE REFUGE

Graves, Marshall and McCracken cos.
(270) 527-5770

P.O.Box 89, Benton, KY 42025

FORT CAMPBELL
MILITARY RESERVATION
Christian & Trigg cos., (270) 798-2175
Outdoor Recreation Branch, Bldg. 6645,
101st Airborne Div. Rd., Fort Campbell,
KY 42223-5000

All ages must have hunter educa-
tion card.

KENTENIA STATE FOREST
Harlan County

KENTUCKY RIDGE STATE FOREST
Bell County

TYGARTS STATE FOREST
Carter County

AREAS OPEN WITH
SPECIAL REGULATIONS

The following public lands are open
to some types of hunting, but these areas
are NOT owned or managed by the KD-
FWR. These areas have special seasons,
regulations and hunter requirements.
For complete information, please contact
the individual areas at the addresses and
telephone numbers listed below. Quota
hunts require advance registration. Bait-
ing is prohibited on all of these areas.

BLUE GRASS ARMY DEPOT
Madison County
Attn: Alan Colwell, (859) 779-6528
Richmond, KY 40475-5010
Application deadline Aug. 31.
Background check required if selected.
Hunters may not take antlered deer with
an outside antler spread of less than 15
inches at any time. All ages must have
hunter education card.

FORT KNOX MILITARY RESERVATION
Bullitt, Meade & Hardin cos.
(502) 624-7311
Department of the Army, Env. Mgm.
Div. IMSE-KNX-PWE-N), Dir. of
Public Works, Bldg. 112 (Hunt Con-
trol), 125 6th Ave Ste 325, Fort Knox,
KY 40121-5719
www.knox.army.mil/fw

Hunters may not take antlered deer
with an outside antler spread of less than
12 inches at any time. Ages 60 and un-
der must have hunter education card.

1
| e
v e
F
—
(qp )
r
>
=
(-
-
e
=
|
—
4
P

LAND BETWEEN THE LAKES (LBL)
NATIONAL RECREATION AREA
Trigg & Lyon cos., (270) 924-2065

100 Van Morgan Drive

Golden Pond, KY 42211-9001

OHIO RIVER ISLANDS
NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE
Lewis County, (304) 375-2923
3982 Waverly Rd.

Williamstown, WV 26187

REELFOOT NATIONAL

WILDLIFE REFUGE

Fulton County, (731) 538-2481

4343 Hwy. 157, Union City, TN 38261

WENDELL H. FORD REGIONAL
TRAINING CENTER
Muhlenberg County
(270) 338-8939
4675 KY Hwy. 181-North
Greenville, KY 42345

Hunters may not take antlered
deer with an outside antler spread of
less than 15 inches at any time.
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Adult: an individual at least 18 years

of age.

Antlered deer: a deer with visible, pol-
ished or velvet-covered bone showing
above the hairline, excluding button
bucks.

Antlerless deer: a deer with NO visible
polished or velvet-covered bone show-
ing above the hairline, or a male fawn
(button buck).

Antlered elk: an elk with one (1) ant-
ler possessing four (4) or more antler
points that are each at least one (1)
inch long when measured from the
main beam. (The main beam counts as
one (1) point.)

Antlerless elk: an elk without visible
polished antler protruding above the
hairline.

Any deer: antlered or antlerless deer; ei-
ther sex deer.

Archery equipment: a long bow, recurve
bow or compound bow incapable of
holding an arrow at full or partial draw
without aid from the archer.

Arrow: the projectile fired from a bow
or crossbow.
Authorization number:
given to a person that serves as proof
of having purchased a license or permit
over the phone or internet. Must be re-
tained by hunter while afield.

Bait: a substance composed of grains,
minerals, salt, fruits, vegetables, hay or
any other food materials, whether natu-
ral or manufactured, which may lure, en-
tice or attract wildlife.

Baiting: to place, deposit, tend, distrib-
ute or scatter bait.

Barbed broadhead: a broadhead with
a point or portion of a blade projecting
backward and designed to hold an arrow
within an animal.

Body-gripping trap: a commercially
manufactured spring-loaded trap de-
signed to kill the animal upon capture.
Centerfire rifle/handgun: any rifle or
handgun that fires a cartridge by the fir-
ing pin striking a primer in the middle
of the end of the cartridge casing.
Confirmation number: the number
given to a caller as proof of having ap-
plied for a quota hunt or complying with
Telecheck requirements.

Crossbow: a bow designed or fitted to

the number

DEFINITIONS

hold an arrow (or bolt) at full or partial
draw without aid from the archer.
Curtilage: the area encompassing the
grounds immediately surrounding any
home or group of homes used in the
daily activities of domestic life, which
may or may not be enclosed by a fence
or other barrier.

Daylight hours: the period from one-
half hour before sunrise to one-half hour
after sunset.

Deer: a white-tailed deer (Odocoileus
virginianus).

Dry-land set: a trap not set to drown an
animal upon capture.

Electronic decoy: a motorized decoy
powered by electricity, regardless of
source.

Firearm: a breech or muzzle-loading
rifle, shotgun or handgun.

Foothold trap: a commercially manu-
factured spring-loaded trap with smooth,
metallic jaws designed to close upon an
animal’s foot.

Furbearers: mink, muskrat, beaver, rac-
coon, opossum, gray fox, red fox, weasel,
striped skunk, coyote, bobcat and otter.
Hunter Harvest Log: the record of the
species, date taken, county where taken,
sex of animal taken and Telecheck con-
firmation number.

Hunting: to take or attempt to take
game in any manner, whether the hunter
has game in possession or not.

In-line muzzleloading gun: a firearm
capable of being loaded only from the
discharging end of the barrel or cylinder,
that is also equipped with an enclosed
ignition system located directly behind
the powder charge.

Modern gun (breech-loading firearm):
any rifle, handgun or shotgun in which
the cartridge or shotshell is placed into
the gun from the rear or stock end of
the barrel.

Muzzle-loading gun: any rifle, shot-
gun or handgun in which the bullet or
projectile is placed in the gun from the
discharging (muzzle) end of the barrel
or cylinder.

Non-locking snare: a trap consisting of
a wire, cable or string loop without a de-
vice to keep the loop from loosening.
Polished: having no velvet or skin
covering.

Possession limit: the maximum number
of a game species a person may hold in the
field after two or more days of hunting.
Resident: for licensing purposes, a resi-
dent is: any person who has established
permanent domicile and legal residence
and has resided in Kentucky for 30 days
immediately prior to application for a
license; full-time students enrolled in
an educational institution for at least
a six-month term; and military service
personnel on permanent assignment in
Kentucky.

Rimfire: a cartridge that fires when the
firing pin strikes the outer edge of the
cartridge casing.

Shotshell: multiple-projectile or pel-
leted ammunition.

Slug: single-projectile ammunition.
Small game: squirrels, rabbits, quail or
grouse.

Squirrels: gray squirrel or fox squirrel.
Take: includes pursue, shoot, hunt,
wound, catch, kill, trap, snare or capture
wildlife in any way and any lesser act de-
signed to lure, attract or entice for these
purposes; and to place, set, aim or use
any device, animal, substance or agency
which may reasonably be expected to ac-
complish these acts; or to attempt to do
such acts or to assist any other person in
the doing of or the attempt of such acts.
Tenant: any resident sharecropper, les-
see, or any other person actually engaged
in work upon a farm or lands AND re-
siding in a dwelling on the farm or lands.
Does not include any other employee or
tenant unless actually residing on the
property and engaged or employed as
described.

Water set: a trap set to drown an animal
upon capture.

Wildlife Management Area: a tract of
land: (a) controlled by the department
through ownership, lease, license or co-
operative agreement, and (b) containing
the words “wildlife management area” or
“WMA as part of its name.

Youth: any hunter or trapper ages 15
and younger.

Zone: a group of counties regulated un-
der the same guidelines and restrictions.
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FEES e 8
Requirements for
Residents.....ceeeeeeieieiiinnnnnnn. 6-7, 10

Mink / Muskrat / Weasel / Striped

Skunk Hunting & Trapping ......... 34, 36
New This Year ....ccccoevveeeeiiiiieeciiieeee, 4
Otter Season «.ccevveveeeeieeeeeeieenennnen 34, 36
Pheasant Quota Hunts ................. 43-44
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Possession of Wildlife.........uuveeeeenens 17
Prohibited Hunting Methods ............. 16
Rabbit & Quail Seasons ............... 34-35
Raccoon & Opossum

Hunting & Trapping.....ccceceeeeeenen. 34, 36
Red Fox / Gray Fox

Hunting & Trapping.....ccccceeeeeenen. 34, 36
Shooting HOUFS wevvvvveeiieeeeeeeeeiiiiiin, 15
Squirrel SEasons ......ccceeveeeeeenenn.. 34-35
Spotlighting Law.......ceeeeeeeeennene. 16-17
Telecheck Process.......cevvvueueeeeeenns 12-14
Trapping Equipment ........oouveeeieeeeiiies 36
Tree Stand UsSe..cceeeeeeeeeeeiiiiiiiiieeeeees 17
Turkey S€asoNS.......ccevvvvveurnaneenenns 32-33

Statewide Permit Requirements..... 32
Recording, Tagging, Checking

& Transporting ........eeeeveveveeeeees 12-14
Waterfowl Quota Hunts.................... 44
Wildlife Management Areas

User GuidelingS.....ceeeveeevvvvennnnnn 45-46

Hunting Seasons ..........ccevvuenene. 48-56

Other Public Hunting Areas........... 57

Year-Round Season for Some Species
(exotic deer & other non-native

SPECIES) ceeeeeeiiiiiiiiiiee e eeeeeerenen 37
Youth Hunting Information ............... 15

Get out of the house and
spend a day at the Salato
Wildlife Education Center!

It's free fun for the
whole family! Enjoy
the indoor and outdoor
animal exhibits, attend
an educational program,
explore the hiking trails or
catch fish in the two lakes!

The Center is located at Fish
& wildlife headquarters in
Frankfort, on US 60 two
miles west of US 127.
Please visit fw.ky.gov or call
1-800-858-1549 for more
information.
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AENEL YOUR LICENSE PLATE.
LET HUNGER EHPIRE.

Kentucky's hunters help feed the Donate $2 when renewing

your car or truck’s registration,

hungry by donating their game.

and you can help pay the

Now you can help, too.

It's very much needed and costs of turning venison

takes just seconds. into a nutritious meal.



