Concealed Deadly Weapons
The Kentucky State Police was authorized by
KRS 237.110 and
KRS 237.115 to issue Concealed Carry Deadly Weapons permits beginning
October 1, 1996.
Qualifications for a CCDW License
Applicant must be a resident of Kentucky for at least six months prior to filing of the application.
Applicant must be 21 years of age or older.
Applicant must not be ineligible to carry a firearm pursuant
to 18 USC 922(g) or KRS 527.040.
Applicant can be revoked under 18 USG 922(d)(1). This means
under indictment for a felony.
Applicant must not have been committed to a state or federal
facility for abuse of a controlled substance or convicted of a
misdemeanor relating to a controlled substance within a 3 year
period preceding the date the application was submitted.
Applicant must not have chronically and habitually used
alcoholic beverages and must not have had two or more DUI
convictions within a three year period preceding the date the
application was submitted.
Applicant must demonstrate competence with a firearm.
Applicant must not have been adjudicated as incompetent or
must have waited three years from the date their competency was
restored by a court order and must not have been involuntarily
committed to a mental institution unless certified by a
psychiatrist not to have suffered from a disability for a period
of three years.
CCDW Application Process
An applicant for a CCDW license may obtain an application from
the sheriff’s office in their county of residence.
The completed application along with $60.00 is to be returned to
the sheriff’s office. (Retired police officers are exempt from the
payment for the CCDW license).
The application will be sent to the Kentucky State Police within
five working days.
The application form, completed under oath, must include the
Name, Address, Place and Date of Birth, Gender and Social
Statement of Compliance with Required Qualifications.
Statement of Receipt and Understanding of the Statute
concerning the use of force and self-defense in Kentucky.
Recent color photograph: full head shot no smaller than 3 ½ x
4 nor larger than 4x5 inches.
A photocopy of a certificate or an affidavit or document
certifying completion of a certified firearms training course.
CCDW Restrictions on Carrying by Qualified
A concealed firearm or other deadly weapon MAY
NOT be carried in the following places:
Police station or sheriff’s office.
Detention facility, prison or jail.
Courthouse (Court of Justice, courtroom or court
County, municipal, or special district governing
General Assembly session, including committee
Businesses which dispense beer or other alcoholic
beverages for consumption, excluding restaurants receiving 50%
of sales from food purchases.
Elementary or secondary school facilities (without
the consent of school authorities).
Child-caring facilities, day care centers, or any
certified family child care home.
Areas within airport where restricted access is
controlled by the inspection of persons or property.
Any place where the carrying of a firearm is
prohibited by federal law.
Judicial Special Status /
Certified Peace Officer Licenses
There are two special
categories of CCDW licenses: Judicial Special Status CCDW and
Certified Peace Officer CCDW. These special categories require
supplemental forms to be completed in addition to the application obtained at
local sheriff's offices.
The following positions as defined by
KRS 237.110 are eligible for "Special Status" Carry Concealed
Deadly Weapon (CCDW) License.
You can download the Supplemental Affidavit
for Judicial "Special Status" CCDW
by clicking here. You can download the
Judicial "Special Status" instruction form by clicking here.
Both documents provided in PDF format.
Certified Peace Officer CCDW
Pursuant to KRS 527.020 a full or part time peace officer who is
currently certified as a peace officer by the Kentucky Law
Enforcement Council who is authorized by his or her employer or
government authority to carry a concealed deadly weapon at all times
and locations within the Commonwealth shall be exempt from paying
the application or renewal fees and special training requirements.
You can download the Certified Peace
Officer CCDW Supplemental form by clicking here. You can
download the Certified Peace Officer
CCDW supplemental instruction form by clicking here.
Both documents provided in PDF
CCDW Frequently Asked
What is the effective date of the carry concealed weapon
October 1, 1996
- What is the license fee?
Sixty dollars (Retired police officers and active police
officers currently certified as a peace officer by the Kentucky
Law Enforcement Council are exempt from the
payment for the CCDW license following the date of their
- What is the renewal fee?
Sixty dollars for each five year renewal.
- How long is the license valid?
Five years from the date of issuance.
- Is there a fine if I do not have my carry concealed deadly
weapon license in my possession?
Yes, failure on the part of the license holder to have in his
possession the CCDW license when carrying a concealed firearm or
deadly weapon will result in a non-criminal violation punishable
by a $25.00 fine plus court costs.
- For what reasons would a license be denied, suspended or
An application may be denied, or a license revoked or suspended,
for any of the following:
Conviction of a felony.
Conviction of two DUIs within the past three years.
Conviction of fourth degree assault within the past three
Conviction of terroristic threatening within the past three
Conviction of a misdemeanor relating to a controlled substance
within the past three years.
Conviction of a crime of domestic violence.
Commitment for alcohol or drug abuse within the past three
Adjudication as an incompetent within the past three years.
An active emergency protective order or domestic violence
- What weapons are covered under the CCDW permit?
Any weapon from which a shot, readily capable of producing
death or serious physical injury, may be discharged.
Any knife other than an ordinary pocket knife or hunting
Billy, nightstick, or club.
Blackjack or slapjack.
Nunchaku karate sticks.
Shiriken or death star.
Artificial knuckles made from plastic, or other similar hard
- How can I legally carry a gun in my vehicle without a CCDW
KRS 527.020 - "A deadly weapon shall not be deemed concealed on
or about the person if it is located in a glove compartment,
regularly installed in a motor vehicle by its manufacturer
regardless of whether said compartment is locked, unlocked, or
does not have a locking mechanism."
- I am a Peace Officer from another state, can I carry my weapon
Only when necessary for your protection in the discharge of
official duties. You may carry the weapon in your glove
- I have recently moved, how do I notify the State Police of my
Within thirty days after the changing of a permanent address
you may fill out a form at your county Sheriff Office. The address
will be changed and a new CCDW permit will be generated.
- How will I be notified when it is time to renew my CCDW
Ninety days prior to the expiration date of the license, a
written notice of expiration and a renewal form shall be mailed to
each licensee. The renewal form then shall be taken to your county
Sheriff Office, along with a new photograph and fee.
- How can I find a certified instructor for the required
You can contact your local Sheriff Office and they will have a
listing of all instructors in your area.
Effective, July 15, 1998, Kentucky recognizes valid carry
concealed weapons licenses issued by other states and, subject to
the provisions of Kentucky law, a person holding a valid license
from another state may carry a concealed deadly weapon in Kentucky.
Written inquiries regarding recognition of Kentucky carry
concealed licenses have been made to all states and U.S.
territories. The map and
chart below detail those responses.
Map: State Responses on
Virgin Islands Temporary
Persons with a valid Kentucky carry concealed license may apply individually to the
Virgin Islands Police Department for temporary reciprocal
recognition of a CCDW license while in the Virgin Islands. This temporary
recognition is normally for ninety (90) days from the date of issue.
An application for temporary privileges may be requested from:
Office of the Commissioner
Criminal Justice Complex
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas, VI 00802
*This page is updated periodically as responses are received
from the states and territories. It was last updated on 8/12/03.
Call the Kentucky State
Police DUI Hotline toll free at 1-800-222-5555.